Topic Title: Help Please
Topic Summary: processor
Created On: 02/08/2013 11:16 AM
Status: Post and Reply
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 02/08/2013 11:16 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
upnorthfellaz
Peon

Posts: 5
Joined: 02/08/2013

Hi, i installed an amd athlon 64x2 6000+ 3.1GHz processor and i did the base score test, everythink was fine and today iv just notoiced that the GHz has gone down to 1.00Ghz why has it done this? Any help would be great. Thanks

 02/08/2013 12:29 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Slayerx
Button Masher

Posts: 265
Joined: 09/16/2012

There could be a few reasons why its dropping like that but first what motherboard did you install it on?



-------------------------

FX 8320// Asus Sabertooth R2.0 // HIS R9 280x //8Gb of 1866Mhz ram, H50 cooling, HX850W psu all stuffed into a NZXT Phantom case.


Was a member of AMD Processer forum since 2008. Last post count 1818.

 02/08/2013 05:39 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
black_zion
80 Column Mind

Posts: 12241
Joined: 04/17/2008

6000+ Brisbane (must be Brisbane as the superior Windsor is stock clocked at 3.0ghz), but it sounds to me like your motherboard doesn't support it or needs a BIOS update as Slayerx implied, or you have Cool N Quiet enabled and it is downclocking when not under load.

-------------------------
ASUS Sabertooth 990FX/Gen3 R2, FX-8350 w/ Corsair H60, 8 GiB G.SKILL RipjawsX DDR3-2133, XFX HD 7970 Ghz, 512GB Vertex 4, 256GB Vector, 240GB Agility 3, Creative X-Fi Titanium w/ Creative Gigaworks S750, SeaSonic X750, HP ZR2440w, Win 7 Ultimate x64
 02/08/2013 07:03 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
upnorthfellaz
Peon

Posts: 5
Joined: 02/08/2013

Msi site says my board takes it, the board is msi k9n neo v2. Cool and quiet is turned off, my AMD athlon 64 x 2 4000+ 2.2GHz seems to work alot faster but i wanted to upgrade from that and Msi site says AMD athlon 64 x2 6000+ 3.1GHZ is the highest my board can go so i got That, could it be that my fan isn't great and its over heating?

 02/08/2013 07:03 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
upnorthfellaz
Peon

Posts: 5
Joined: 02/08/2013

Yes its Brisbane.

 02/08/2013 07:10 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
upnorthfellaz
Peon

Posts: 5
Joined: 02/08/2013

My full spec is

Msi k9n neo v2 motherboard/ 

500w psu

AMD athlon 64 x2 6000+ 3.1 GHz

geforce 8800 GT

80gig sata HHD

200gig ide HHD (SLAVE)

4 gig of ram

Windows 7 Ultimate x64

 

 02/09/2013 12:42 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
black_zion
80 Column Mind

Posts: 12241
Joined: 04/17/2008

Could it be you need a BIOS update?

-------------------------
ASUS Sabertooth 990FX/Gen3 R2, FX-8350 w/ Corsair H60, 8 GiB G.SKILL RipjawsX DDR3-2133, XFX HD 7970 Ghz, 512GB Vertex 4, 256GB Vector, 240GB Agility 3, Creative X-Fi Titanium w/ Creative Gigaworks S750, SeaSonic X750, HP ZR2440w, Win 7 Ultimate x64
 02/09/2013 05:20 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
upnorthfellaz
Peon

Posts: 5
Joined: 02/08/2013

I thought that my self and iv been checking how to do it but it seems rather complicated, do i just put the bios update on a usb stick and boot from that are do i need to put windows on the stick aswell as the bios update?

 02/09/2013 06:13 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Fishman
Button Masher

Posts: 293
Joined: 10/14/2011

Originally posted by: upnorthfellaz I thought that my self and iv been checking how to do it but it seems rather complicated, do i just put the bios update on a usb stick and boot from that are do i need to put windows on the stick aswell as the bios update?

These are the instructions from MSI.

http://www.msi.com/service/biosupdate/

Just read everything carefully. Its not a big deal to flash bios.

 



-------------------------

GA-MA-790FXT-UD5P/ AMD Phenom II X4 965 Black/2 x XFX HD5870 /RipjawsX 2x4gb DDR3 1333/ Corsair TX750M/ Antec 900 case/ Windows 7x64 Ult.


Statistics
84268 users are registered to the AMD Support and Game forum.
There are currently 1 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.