Topic Title: 8350 vs 8320
Topic Summary:
Created On: 02/09/2013 03:53 PM
Status: Post and Reply
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 02/09/2013 03:53 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Taint3dBulge
Peon

Posts: 3
Joined: 02/09/2013

Is there at all any diffrence between the two besides the 8320 has a lower multiplier?   I just cant make up my mind as to what one to order... Iv asked around afew forums and it seems no one knows if there really  is a diffrence..  My main concern is overclockablity...  I have a H100i and its in push pull config. and want to be able to hit 5ghz would like to get to 5.2 but thats where it come to how good the chip is that i get...   Hence why I think i should just get a 8350 but for 20 bucks cheaper the other one might be the way to go. . .

One other question... Anyone using high Mhz ram with this chip. like 2400mhz or higher?

Iv read that I should just go with 2133 and cl9 over 2400mhz cl10...  I guess i just dont know what to believe....  Some people say you wont even notice a diffrence at all over 1866 cl8...

Thanks for any info..



-------------------------


 

 02/10/2013 02:18 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Ed6698
Buffed

Posts: 76
Joined: 09/03/2012

From what I have read in another forum and results I have seen in that forum the 8320 clocks up just about as good as the 8350, however the 8320 takes more voltage to reach the same clocks of a 8350. Mileage will vary though, every chip is different some.



-------------------------

AMD 8350FX 4.5ghz//Asus Sabertooth 990FX R2//Zalman 9900Max//4x8gb Corsair Vengeance 1866//Corsair Force GT 90GB OS+240GB games ssd //WD 250gb Scorpio Black//PNY GTX680 sli//HP w2408h//Corsair hx1000//Antec 1200//Windows 8.1 x64

 02/10/2013 11:00 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
black_zion
80 Column Mind

Posts: 12205
Joined: 04/17/2008

Mm hmm, since chips are binned you could be lucky and get a stellar chip or, like me, unlucky and get a chip that just made the cut, but sometimes you get lucky and the lower end chip is just a lower clocked higher end part made to fill a shortage. If it were me, I would go with the 8350, but your motherboard can make a big difference as well, sometimes a couple hundred mhz. As for the RAM, you're not really going to see a difference past DDR3 1600. If you want to improve loading times and responsiveness, get you a couple of SSDs.

-------------------------
ASUS Sabertooth 990FX/Gen3 R2, FX-8350 w/ Corsair H60, 8 GiB G.SKILL RipjawsX DDR3-2133, XFX HD 7970 Ghz, 512GB Vertex 4, 256GB Vector, 240GB Agility 3, Creative X-Fi Titanium w/ Creative Gigaworks S750, SeaSonic X750, HP ZR2440w, Win 7 Ultimate x64
 02/10/2013 02:44 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Taint3dBulge
Peon

Posts: 3
Joined: 02/09/2013

Originally posted by: black_zion Mm hmm, since chips are binned you could be lucky and get a stellar chip or, like me, unlucky and get a chip that just made the cut, but sometimes you get lucky and the lower end chip is just a lower clocked higher end part made to fill a shortage. If it were me, I would go with the 8350, but your motherboard can make a big difference as well, sometimes a couple hundred mhz. As for the RAM, you're not really going to see a difference past DDR3 1600. If you want to improve loading times and responsiveness, get you a couple of SSDs.

 

Have a OCZ Vector, So thats super fast. Crosshair IV Extreme is the motherboard... I just like to overclock and see what the max is on anything I can get my hands on..  I have got my 1055T bootable at 4.5ghz and stable at 4.35ghz  Just kinda a hobby  for when im bored..  I do play alot of games and have been told that the higher clocked ram brings your min framerates up by as much as 10fps+ from a 1600 to 2600mhz

 

Im going to just go with the 8350 and some gskill trident x 2400mhz cl10.. 

The ram if anything ill bring down to 2200mhz or lower and maybe bring the timings down to 9's or 8's.

 

Also wish i could figure out how to get a good binned cpu lol. id pay extra for that.  Oh is there away to tell if the processor is a newer stepping?



-------------------------


 

 02/11/2013 03:08 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
crabman1080pgames
Peon

Posts: 2
Joined: 02/11/2013

i have buy the 8350 but im having trouble with the temps my bios says 32c but when my pc is on and idle is 10-11c and when full load up to 44 that temps i get on amd overdrive coretemp and aida64what can i trust and how can i fix this anyone can help???



-------------------------

crabman1080pgames

 02/12/2013 03:10 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Taint3dBulge
Peon

Posts: 3
Joined: 02/09/2013

Originally posted by: crabman1080pgames i have buy the 8350 but im having trouble with the temps my bios says 32c but when my pc is on and idle is 10-11c and when full load up to 44 that temps i get on amd overdrive coretemp and aida64what can i trust and how can i fix this anyone can help???

 

 

That happens. use this and it will show you the right temps for your cpu.  Its a known defect in some motherboards.

 

http://www.cpuid.com/softwares/hwmonitor.html



-------------------------


 

 02/12/2013 12:50 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
crabman1080pgames
Peon

Posts: 2
Joined: 02/11/2013

thanks man now im relief worried to damage the cpu now i can see how warm it gets to monitor it thanx again



-------------------------

crabman1080pgames

Statistics
84163 users are registered to the AMD Support and Game forum.
There are currently 4 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.