Topic Title: Dropping Cores
Topic Summary:
Created On: 02/11/2013 10:28 PM
Status: Post and Reply
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 02/11/2013 10:28 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Mdgtman91
Peon

Posts: 2
Joined: 02/11/2013

when i run prime ill drop cores, some times 1 other times 4

occt gives error with in 1 min

im running stock config 

 

I have a fx-8350 cooled with an h100i

crosshair v formula z

kingston (4x4) 2400mhz

gtx 680

rosewill hive 750

 

 

 

 02/11/2013 11:54 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Ed6698
Buffed

Posts: 76
Joined: 09/03/2012

Gotta be the voltage settings in bios. What voltage are you running the cpu at? Do you have turbo enabled? Are you using the stock cooler?

 

Here are my voltage settings for 4.5ghz. There are only a couple of voltages you want to leave on auto. Remember also my voltage settings do not mean they will work for your cpu, you may have to tweak some up or down some.

 

 



-------------------------

AMD 8350FX 4.5ghz//Asus Sabertooth 990FX R2//Zalman 9900Max//4x8gb Corsair Vengeance 1866//Corsair Force GT 90GB OS+240GB games ssd //WD 250gb Scorpio Black//PNY GTX680 sli//HP w2408h//Corsair hx1000//Antec 1200//Windows 8.1 x64



Edited: 02/12/2013 at 12:10 AM by Ed6698
 02/12/2013 12:24 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Mdgtman91
Peon

Posts: 2
Joined: 02/11/2013

turbo is enabled

for cooling i have an h100i

and the cpu voltage was at 1.38



Edited: 02/12/2013 at 12:34 AM by Mdgtman91
 12/06/2013 03:13 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
VWM
Peon

Posts: 29
Joined: 12/05/2013

Are you trying this? http://forums.amd.com/game/messageview.cfm?catid=444&threadid=166968&enterthread=y



-------------------------

CPU: AMD FX-8350 (black edition FD8350FRHKBOOX) + Cooler Master Hyper 212 X Army (push/pull config. fans Enermax T.B.Silence UCTB12P) / MOBO: Asus M5A99FX Pro2.0 / GPU: Gigabyte Amd Radeon R9 279x ( GV-R927XOC-2GD ) / RAM: Kingston HyperX 2x4GB DDR3 1600Mhz / SSD: Samsung Evo 840 250Gb / Case: Coolermaster K280 / PSU: Chieftec Smart Series GPS-600A8

 12/06/2013 09:48 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
AMDforMe
Farming Materials

Posts: 600
Joined: 09/08/2013

There are many reasons why P95 will show errors within a minute. The first thing I recommend is running Memtest86+ V4.2 or V5.x overnight to see if the RAM is good. If you're running the RAM at a frequency above 1866 MHz. try dropping it back to 1866 Mhz. or even 1600 MHz. to see if this fixes the issue. You can also try one DIMM to see if this helps until you sort our the possible multiple issues.

You need to look at the CPU core temp under P95. If it exceeds 65C then you're likely to start getting errors. You also need to observe the CPU frequency and vcore voltage. If the vcore drops to .875V and the frequency to 1400 MHz. then the mobo VRM circuit is probably overheating and throttling the CPU. This can cause a drop in active core count until the VRM cools a bit and then it will cycle up and down constantly.



-------------------------

Building a reliable PC involves more than just assembling the parts. You need to be able to configure all of the BIOS settings appropriately. This can be quite involved and frustrating as it can require a lot of trial and error with stress testing. It is however often the only means to get a 100% reliable PC.

Statistics
84958 users are registered to the AMD Support and Game forum.
There are currently 3 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.