Topic Title: AMD advice over Intel
Topic Summary:
Created On: 02/16/2013 07:40 PM
Status: Post and Reply
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 02/16/2013 07:40 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Street
Peon

Posts: 9
Joined: 02/16/2013

Hey all...

 

 

I plan on upgrading my system within a couple of weeks...  my rig will mostly be used for gaming now, I prefer to use AMD over Intel just dont wanna feed the monopoly man prefer the underdogs..  but in my country the i5 3570k is exactly the same price as the FX-8350 :/

 

I was looking at the Asus Sabertooth 990fx but which ram would u recommend? looking for 1833mhz willing to compromise to 1600 if it performs better for Vishera. will be getting the ATI 7970 gpu...

 

 

AMD is launching new APU's mid year would that mean I would have to upgrade my Sabertooth 990FX or would it be compatible for the upcoming steamroller apu's?

 

 

apologies been out of the pc genre for a long time now so i am slowly getting back into it and i am just no jacked up... i have read alot but there is always some1 who knows more then you do..  any info would be greatly appreciated..

 02/16/2013 07:55 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Immortal Lobster
Forum Moderator

Posts: 226
Joined: 08/28/2012

Originally posted by: Street Hey all...

 

 

I plan on upgrading my system within a couple of weeks...  my rig will mostly be used for gaming now, I prefer to use AMD over Intel just dont wanna feed the monopoly man prefer the underdogs..  but in my country the i5 3570k is exactly the same price as the FX-8350 :/

 

I was looking at the Asus Sabertooth 990fx but which ram would u recommend? looking for 1833mhz willing to compromise to 1600 if it performs better for Vishera. will be getting the ATI 7970 gpu...

 

 

AMD is launching new APU's mid year would that mean I would have to upgrade my Sabertooth 990FX or would it be compatible for the upcoming steamroller apu's?

 

 

apologies been out of the pc genre for a long time now so i am slowly getting back into it and i am just no jacked up... i have read alot but there is always some1 who knows more then you do..  any info would be greatly appreciated..

 

I know exactly what you mean, I just upgraded a few weeks ago, let myself out of the loop pretty good.

 

I went with the system you just stated, the 8350 Vishera and Sabertooth R2.0. I coupled it with some G.Skill DDR3 2133mhz. so far so good.

 

The CPU is about the same price here as a comparable intel as well, but the motherboard prices are ridiculous!



-------------------------

 02/16/2013 10:20 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
black_zion
80 Column Mind

Posts: 12725
Joined: 04/17/2008

Judging by the fact you are getting a 7970 I am guessing you will be playing in the more GPU limited areas (1920x1080 and above), so I would also recommend the 8350. No matter the RAM you get make sure you look at the timings, there's still quite a bit of older stock high latency RAM out there.

-------------------------
ASUS Sabertooth 990FX/Gen3 R2, FX-8350 w/ Corsair H60, 8 GiB G.SKILL RipjawsX DDR3-2133, XFX HD 7970 Ghz, 512GB Vertex 4, 256GB Vector, 240GB Agility 3, Creative X-Fi Titanium w/ Creative Gigaworks S750, SeaSonic X750, HP ZR2440w, Win 7 Ultimate x64
 02/17/2013 12:31 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Street
Peon

Posts: 9
Joined: 02/16/2013

I am gonna be playing ARMA 3 and currently playing arma 2...  so that game requires quite a hefty cpu as its an extremely cpu intensive game aswell as gpu...

 

If i go for Vishera.... will it be simple enough to upgrade to the newer APU's mid year with the same board AM3+? would any1 know?

 

@Immortal Lobster....  Where i live the i5 3570 and FX-8350 is the same price but the mobo's are the price differences here, eg an Asus Sabertooth Z77 is a $150 more then the Asus Sabertooth AM3+ the high end mobos for AMD half the price and some cases 1/3 the price for intel.

 02/17/2013 01:10 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Immortal Lobster
Forum Moderator

Posts: 226
Joined: 08/28/2012

Originally posted by: Street....  Where i live the i5 3570 and FX-8350 is the same price but the mobo's are the price differences here, eg an Asus Sabertooth Z77 is a $150 more then the Asus Sabertooth AM3+ the high end mobos for AMD half the price and some cases 1/3 the price for intel.

 

That's what I meant, lol, my bad.

 

Why would you want to go from Vishera to an APU? Next logical step would be Steamroller, which would be another CPU, and from what I'm hearing, that will be the same socket. AMD doesn't change sockets that much, intel does it everytime they blink. lol.



-------------------------

 02/17/2013 06:59 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Street
Peon

Posts: 9
Joined: 02/16/2013

haha!!!!! i know right disapprove of intel yay new gen cpu... oh no wait sandy bridge now new upgrade in all aspects... oh look ivry bridge a new upgrade in all aspects again! its disgusting i hate intel thats why i call them the monopoly man..  I really dont wanna feed them imo..

 

 

Awesome! so what would be the new CPU thats coming out for AMD? whats its name would you happen to know i did some research they bringing out a few cpu's but i am not sure as to what platform its used for.

 02/17/2013 12:46 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Immortal Lobster
Forum Moderator

Posts: 226
Joined: 08/28/2012

Originally posted by: Street haha!!!!! i know right disapprove of intel yay new gen cpu... oh no wait sandy bridge now new upgrade in all aspects... oh look ivry bridge a new upgrade in all aspects again! its disgusting i hate intel thats why i call them the monopoly man..  I really dont wanna feed them imo..

 

 

Awesome! so what would be the new CPU thats coming out for AMD? whats its name would you happen to know i did some research they bringing out a few cpu's but i am not sure as to what platform its used for.

 

Right now, the latest is Piledriver aka Vishera, and that's the FX 8350. Steamroller should follow late this year, or early next, followed by Excavator.



-------------------------

 02/17/2013 03:44 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Vegan
Alpha Geek

Posts: 1337
Joined: 01/31/2010

I am unorthodox

I use an AMD CPU to drive a NVIDIA video card

works fine and the 965 has proved itself to be more than enough to run my GTX 260 to the wall

Using something like a HD 7970 would not be a problem with my 965 so any newer processor is going to be fine.

For the record I am in the midst of getting yet another NVIDIA video card, a friend has a GTX 580 available.

AMD is more flexible than Intel, I have 3 processors that work on my M4A77D motherboard. Sempron, Athlon and finally Phenom.



-------------------------

 02/17/2013 06:47 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Hammey
Grinding Levels

Posts: 180
Joined: 05/09/2012

Hi I was a amd fan for a long time like no p4 could touch a amd athlon 64 chip I had a amd athlon 500, 750 ,1400 + 2200 + and this system is still running a amd athlon 64 3400 + socket 754 running win 7 64 bit and runs it well. but once it went to dual cores amd lost and I have no idea why it is a shame the way they went from the top to the bottom. For me today it is a intel cpu running amd dual 7870 cards and it runs great. Example is there 8 core a q9650 out runs there new 8 core sad. And this 3400 + beats out some of the dual core ones.



-------------------------
MSI Mpower Max, I7-4770K, MSI GTX 780 Lightning, G.SKILL Trident X Series 16GB DDR3-2400, 2X Kingston HyperX 3K 480GB , 1Tb Raptor, Creative ZXR Sound, 1000 watt Coolermaster Single 80 amp Rail, G700s Mouse, Z5500 Speakers
 02/17/2013 06:47 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Immortal Lobster
Forum Moderator

Posts: 226
Joined: 08/28/2012

Originally posted by: Vegan I am unorthodox

I use an AMD CPU to drive a NVIDIA video card

works fine and the 965 has proved itself to be more than enough to run my GTX 260 to the wall

Using something like a HD 7970 would not be a problem with my 965 so any newer processor is going to be fine.

For the record I am in the midst of getting yet another NVIDIA video card, a friend has a GTX 580 available.

AMD is more flexible than Intel, I have 3 processors that work on my M4A77D motherboard. Sempron, Athlon and finally Phenom.

 

Yeah, now thatAMD has decided to be flexible, and my board supports SLi, I findyself scowering the for sale pages on the web for another GTX 570, lol. X-Plane demands a lot!



-------------------------

 02/19/2013 02:19 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Street
Peon

Posts: 9
Joined: 02/16/2013

so i finally got my pc build in developement should be getting it in a few weeks.. just waiting on stock.


CPU: AMD Vishera / socket AM3+ AM3+ , FX-8350 - 8x cores 4.0gh

MOBO: Asus Sabertooth 990FX

RAM: Corsair Dominator GT 4Gb x 2 kit 1866mhz 9-9-9-24

GPU: Asus HD7970-DC2T-3GD5 DirectCu ii Top core/memory1000/5600mhz

SDD: Adata XPG SX900 128Gb 2.5" SATA6G SSD read/write 550/520mb/sec

PSU: Corsair CP-9020061 CX750M , with 6x Modular cable management Eps12V , ATX 12V V2.3 - 750w

Cooler: Zalman LQ315 cpu water cooling



Edited: 02/19/2013 at 03:28 PM by Street
 02/19/2013 04:26 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Ed6698
Buffed

Posts: 76
Joined: 09/03/2012

I suggest you get the Asus Sabertooth R2, if its not to late.

-------------------------

AMD 8350FX 4.5ghz//Asus Sabertooth 990FX R2//Zalman 9900Max//4x8gb Corsair Vengeance 1866//Corsair Force GT 90GB OS+240GB games ssd //WD 250gb Scorpio Black//PNY GTX680 sli//HP w2408h//Corsair hx1000//Antec 1200//Windows 8.1 x64

 02/19/2013 04:41 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Mime
Forum Moderator

Posts: 578
Joined: 08/28/2012

Originally posted by: Immortal Lobster

Yeah, now thatAMD has decided to be flexible, and my board supports SLi, I findyself scowering the for sale pages on the web for another GTX 570, lol. X-Plane demands a lot!

 

You might be surprised what the current gen GPUs can do.  My GTX 670 runs three 1920x1080 displays, and I haven't found a way to slow it down yet.



-------------------------

Do not meddle in the affairs of archers, for they are subtle and quick to anger.
Post Count: +8510
Troll Hunter

The opinions expressed above do not represent those of Advanced Micro Devices or any of their affiliates.

 02/19/2013 07:37 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Immortal Lobster
Forum Moderator

Posts: 226
Joined: 08/28/2012

Originally posted by: Mime
Originally posted by: Immortal Lobster

Yeah, now thatAMD has decided to be flexible, and my board supports SLi, I findyself scowering the for sale pages on the web for another GTX 570, lol. X-Plane demands a lot!

 

You might be surprised what the current gen GPUs can do.  My GTX 670 runs three 1920x1080 displays, and I haven't found a way to slow it down yet.

 

Moot point now.



-------------------------

 02/20/2013 12:54 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Street
Peon

Posts: 9
Joined: 02/16/2013

Originally posted by: Ed6698 I suggest you get the Asus Sabertooth R2, if its not to late.

 

 

I cant the supplier doesnt have any at all!! and wont be... the next best thing i can go for is the Crosshair V Formula Z, just that i really love that military scheme haha...

http://www.asus.com/ROG/CROSSHAIR_V_FORMULAZ/

 02/20/2013 08:07 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Immortal Lobster
Forum Moderator

Posts: 226
Joined: 08/28/2012

Originally posted by: Street
Originally posted by: Ed6698 I suggest you get the Asus Sabertooth R2, if its not to late.

 

 

I cant the supplier doesnt have any at all!! and wont be... the next best thing i can go for is the Crosshair V Formula Z, just that i really love that military scheme haha...

http://www.asus.com/ROG/CROSSHAIR_V_FORMULAZ/

 

Trade ya for the Crosshair?



-------------------------

 02/20/2013 10:16 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Street
Peon

Posts: 9
Joined: 02/16/2013

haha!!! i'll keep the crosshair

 02/20/2013 06:24 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Vegan
Alpha Geek

Posts: 1337
Joined: 01/31/2010

Originally posted by: Street so i finally got my pc build in developement should be getting it in a few weeks.. just waiting on stock.

 

 

CPU: AMD Vishera / socket AM3+ AM3+ , FX-8350 - 8x cores 4.0gh

 

MOBO: Asus Sabertooth 990FX

 

RAM: Corsair Dominator GT 4Gb x 2 kit 1866mhz 9-9-9-24

 

GPU: Asus HD7970-DC2T-3GD5 DirectCu ii Top core/memory1000/5600mhz

 

SDD: Adata XPG SX900 128Gb 2.5" SATA6G SSD read/write 550/520mb/sec

 

PSU: Corsair CP-9020061 CX750M , with 6x Modular cable management Eps12V , ATX 12V V2.3 - 750w

 

Cooler: Zalman LQ315 cpu water cooling

 

 

Should be fine.



-------------------------

Statistics
86633 users are registered to the AMD Support and Game forum.
There are currently 2 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.