Topic Title: Upgrade Athlon II x2 250 to Phenom 965 BE
Topic Summary: Seeking advice, help and knowlege
Created On: 03/02/2013 03:50 AM
Status: Post and Reply
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 03/02/2013 03:50 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Zen78
Peon

Posts: 1
Joined: 03/02/2013

Hi there!

Im a total novice when it comes to processors (and most hardware) but Im concidering upgrading my CPU. The reason being that I upgraded my GFX+RAM last week, but noticed that instead of graphicslag my processor were bottlenecking my gaming experience. So here I am with a few questions.

First off, here's my specs:

MB: GF615M-P33 (MS 7597)

GFX: EVGA GTX650Ti

RAM: 8GB Kingston @ 1333

CPU: AMD Athlon II x2 250 

PSU: 500W

OS: Win  7 Pro 64

Keyboard: An old crappy one with a cord so short it gets in the way of my mousemovements and a spacebar so unsensitive I have to bash it to work. Not relevant at all, just whining a bit...

I use the computer for gaming (mostly, if not only, Diablo 3 atm), watching streams, listening to music and watching movies, often many of these at the same time.

Now to my questions. If I were to upgrade to a AMD Phenom II X4 965 Black Edition will I notice a big difference? The only coparison review I found on the web involving Diablo 3 were: http://www.tomshardware.com/reviews/diablo-iii-performance-benchmark,3195-6.html. Now Im running at lowest settings both ingame and in Nvidia control panel and get a whooping 60fps MAX (while idle in town etc) but ~30 fps in combat. The review set the Phenom at an avarege of 112 fps, which must mean that it will be a GREAT upgrade, but please confirm.

As long as Im talking about comparisons, I also found this: http://www.legitreviews.com/article/1037/1/. For a ignorant ***** like myself it all looks like greek to me. What Im curious about is this:

The Phenom is running .4GHz faster. Is that much in the world of processors?

It has twice the cores. Is that relevant in my case (as in what I usually use the comp for)? I have NO idea of how the system/games/applications uses multicore processors, but when I searched for it all I could find was that it was great when rendering videos or something, but the general concensus were that for "normal" use it was overkill. Please clarify.

It has 2+6MB L2/L3 cache compared to my current 2MB. Again, no clue of what that means...

 

Im on a tight budget atm so I can only afford a CPU-upgrade for now, so while recommendations of possible upgrades for new state-of-the-art MB+CPU is appretiated it's not possible. For now I'd settle for enlightenment regarding my questions and confusion

All the best

//Zen

 03/02/2013 08:48 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Vegan
Alpha Geek

Posts: 1419
Joined: 01/31/2010

I have a 965 BE and I noticed them down to $85 so its definitely a good value

I have not had problem with it bottlenecking at all

 



-------------------------

 03/02/2013 10:29 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Slayerx
Button Masher

Posts: 289
Joined: 09/16/2012

Before you run off and buy that cpu you better check and see if your motherboard can support it because I just looked up your mobo and what I'm getting is that your mobo dose not support the 125W PhenomII 965 or any cpu's over 95W

But if you can get your hands on a 95W PII 955, 960 or the 960T you'll be rock'n. There a little slower than the 965 but still leaps and bounds faster than your athlon.



-------------------------

FX 8320// Asus Sabertooth R2.0 // HIS R9 280x //8Gb of 1866Mhz ram, H50 cooling, HX850W psu all stuffed into a NZXT Phantom case.


Was a member of AMD Processer forum since 2008. Last post count 1818.

 03/08/2013 09:08 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Vegan
Alpha Geek

Posts: 1419
Joined: 01/31/2010

There are slim pickins for 95W processors. Most are expensive compared to the 965 I have.

Might be best to get a better motherboard first, I like the M5A97 which is a budget model with lots going for it.

 



-------------------------

 03/08/2013 10:41 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
black_zion
80 Column Mind

Posts: 12916
Joined: 04/17/2008

I wouldn't expect miracles, your graphics card isn't exactly on the upper end and your RAM is slightly on the slow side....You could use it as an excuse to do a complete rebuild But if you're lacking funds, I d say the 955 if you can find one.

-------------------------
AMD FX-8350 w/ Corsair H105, ASUS Sabertooth 990FX Gen3/R2, 8GiB G.SKILL DDR3-2133, XFX HD 7970, 512GB Vertex 4, 256GB Vector, 240GB Agility 3, Creative X-Fi Titanium w/ Creative Gigaworks S750, SeaSonic X750, Corsair C70, HP ZR2440w, Win 7 Ultimate x64
 03/09/2013 01:10 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Vegan
Alpha Geek

Posts: 1419
Joined: 01/31/2010

The OP's video card is not that bad, its the rest of his box that is a problem.

His MB is a lower end model and a better MB would do wonders for his rig.

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

I am looking at video cards and a more recent motherboard myself. I noticed the M5A97 as I mentioned is inexpensive and has a lot going for it.

The goal is to reposition my own rig to be able to play games looking forward.

 



-------------------------

 03/16/2013 12:39 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
WhiteSnake76
Peon

Posts: 9
Joined: 12/22/2009

Like others already said: Your motherboard does not suport it: http://www.msi.com/product/mb/GF615M-P33.html#/?div=CPUSupportI had a Athlon II X2 250 and went from that to a Phenom II 965 BE and its a big difrence, but i suspect a Phenom II X4 x960, 960T or a X6 1065T will be a good upgrade for you also.

-------------------------

Notebook specs: AMD Athlon X2 QL-64 2.1Ghz, AMD 780G Chipset, ATI Mobility Radeon HD4570 512MB, OCZ 2x2GB DDR2-800, WD Scorpio Black 320GB, 15.6" 1366x768 Screen.

Statistics
87660 users are registered to the AMD Support and Game forum.
There are currently 4 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.