Topic Title: Upgrading CPU
Topic Summary: Sempron to Athlon II
Created On: 03/19/2013 02:22 PM
Status: Post and Reply
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 03/19/2013 02:22 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Clayman1000x
Peon

Posts: 5
Joined: 03/19/2013

System specs:

MB: Biostar MCP6PB M2+

CPU: AMD Sempron AM2 LE-1250 2.2GHz

Ram: 4g Corsair PC2-6400 800 mhz (most it can handle)

Video: Nvidia GT 430 OC Edition, running HDMI to 32" Vizio tv

HDD: 1 500g (Primary) and 1 640g WD Blacks

I just added the ram and installed Win7 Ultimate the other day, had the video card installed for a couple months now, Win7 gives me a score of 4.1 because of the CPU, I went to the Biostar page for my MB,  http://www.biostar-usa.com/app/en-us/mb/introduction.php?S_ID=423#cpu

I have found this CPU at ebay, AMD Athlon II X3, 3.1 ghz, ADX445WFK32GM, AM2+/AM3, 95 watt,

Now, according to the Biostar page, this product number will work, but the product says AM2+/AM3, while my motherboard specs say AM2/AM2+ but the sSpec/OPN# number matches the Biostar list. Is it compatible?

This pc will play my games, just not at the level I wish, after I get my new pc built, (buying the parts a little at a time) this one will be for streaming video and playing lan games anyway.

I actually built this pc in the first place to keep the wife and kids off of mine, now mine took a crap, the wife and kids have moved on so I'm using it now, lol, and I want better specs.

Can anyone give me some insight as to if this will do me any good?

 03/19/2013 06:26 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
go_for
Nerfed

Posts: 56
Joined: 10/21/2011

I would say going from a single core AM2 Sempron processor to a tri-core AM2 processor will show a noticeable difference. The LE-1250 is bottlenecking your vid card.



-------------------------

an Alpha Geek @ AMD Processors Forums | 01/21/2006 | post count 3217

 05/08/2013 10:13 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Clayman1000x
Peon

Posts: 5
Joined: 03/19/2013

I ended up using an AMD Athlon 5600+ Dual core CPU (2.9ghz) to upgrade from the Sempron, I had to reinstall Win 7 and Mint 14 but it screams along now, I can play games that I couldn't play before.

 05/08/2013 11:07 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Slayerx
Button Masher

Posts: 225
Joined: 09/16/2012

Thats a nice cpu just make sure you have a good cooler on it.

It tends to run a little on the hot side



-------------------------

FX 8320// Asus Sabertooth R2.0 // HIS R9 280x //8Gb of 1866Mhz ram, H50 cooling, HX850W psu all stuffed into a NZXT Phantom case.


Was a member of AMD Processer forum since 2008. Last post count 1818.

 05/09/2013 07:21 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Clayman1000x
Peon

Posts: 5
Joined: 03/19/2013

Actually, I'm using the same cooler that came with my Sempron, seems to be running really good, no issues at all, not sure what program to use to check temps but my bios is set to shut down at 85c if that helps any.

 05/09/2013 08:54 AM
User is online View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
black_zion
Nanotechnology Guru

Posts: 11617
Joined: 04/17/2008

85°C is about 25°C to high. Coretemp seems to be a popular program, as well as ADIA.

-------------------------
ASUS Sabertooth 990FX/Gen3 R2, FX-8350 w/ Corsair H60, 8 GiB G.SKILL RipjawsX DDR3-2133, XFX HD 7970 Ghz, 512GB Vertex 4, 256GB Vector, 240GB Agility 3, Creative X-Fi Titanium w/ Creative Gigaworks S750, SeaSonic X750, HP ZR2440w, Win 7 Ultimate x64
 05/09/2013 01:24 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Vegan
Elite

Posts: 1003
Joined: 01/31/2010

I strongly recommend getting a better CPU cooler as the Sempron fan is not well suited to the thermal load from the Athlon64 X2 CPU

This is one of the reasons I buy CPU in a box as the supplied fan is adequate for stock clock speeds.

You can also get a 3rd party cooler, but inquire for thermal load capacity as most do not disclose that kind of information properly.

When I bought a replacement fan for my server the 65W CPU has a 95W rated cooler from Artic. I do not overclock the server CPU.

Search eBay for AM3 fan and you will see ones with several copper heat pipes, those are good enough for your Athlon fine.

 

 



-------------------------

 05/10/2013 07:54 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Clayman1000x
Peon

Posts: 5
Joined: 03/19/2013

I am looking around for a better cooler, according to Core Temp 1.0 rc5 I am running about 42c on one core and 47c on the other, but I only have FF open with 4 or 5 tabs and winamp playing music. As far as the 85c in my bios, that was originally off by default, I wasn't sure where to set it at but didn't think going higher than that would be beneficial.

 05/10/2013 08:11 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Vegan
Elite

Posts: 1003
Joined: 01/31/2010

I would strongly recommend not delaying on acquiring a better CPU cooler.

 



-------------------------

 05/11/2013 07:29 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
zipsi
Case Modder

Posts: 922
Joined: 11/22/2010

Get a cheap Coolermaster Hyper 212, fits on most sockets and is good enough to keep an overclocked i7 cool.



-------------------------
Intel I7 3770K @ 4.5ghz, Cooler Master Hyper 212 Evo, Gigabyte Z77X-UD3H, Gigabyte HD7970 ghz edition, 4x4gb Kingston HyperX Beast 2133mhz, Seasonic Platinum 860, OCZ Vertex 4 128gb, WD Black 1TB, WD Green 3TB+1.5TB, ASUS Xonar Essence ST, ASUS VE278Q, Windows 3.11
 05/11/2013 07:50 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Clayman1000x
Peon

Posts: 5
Joined: 03/19/2013

I found one (Hyper 212) at Tiger Direct for $29.99, gonna try Newegg & Ebay n see if I can get it cheaper.

Statistics
81144 users are registered to the AMD Support and Game forum.
There are currently 4 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.