Topic Title: FX 8320 rapid temp spikes
Topic Summary:
Created On: 04/13/2013 09:12 AM
Status: Post and Reply
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 04/13/2013 09:12 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
cliveneo
Grinding Levels

Posts: 126
Joined: 03/09/2008

Hey guys,

 I just recently upgraded my CPU (1090t) to a FX 8320. Despite what most say, its a clear win for me. Min FPS in games like tomb raider for example have increased by as much as 20. (see my recent post in graphics). Anyway to the topic.

 

I have a H50 P/P/ W 2xSP120 statics kept my 1090t at 18c idle, 45c prime, intel burn and 32c gaming. I reapplied thermal paste and re-used this cooler with my new FX 8320 and OCed it 4.5. All was great appeared and still appears to be stable. However the temps randomly spike from idle 17c to at the touch of the mouse 25c then back down to 17 again.... then at the load of a app up to 36c then in an instant back to 17c.

I deff dont think a CPU can cool down that fast!! Is this normal?? specs r in my sig. bios r f9



-------------------------

FX 8320 @ 4.9_H100i_Xfire Sapphire HD7970/R9 280x1100/1500_ 8gb G.Skill Ripjaw DDR3_Asus Sabertooth 990FX_120GB Corsair Force SSD_64 GB Samsung SSD_1TB WD Black_150GB WD VelociRaptor_150GB WD Raptor_CM HAFX_XFX Pro 850 Watt PSU_Bluray Drive_Asus 25in 144htz_Sidwinder X6_G9x_Z5300 speakers Rig 2: PII X4 925@3.4_GB990FXA_ Gigabyte 560ti 970/1800_4GB DDR3 Corsair Dominator_150GB WD Raptor_Ultra 550 Watt PSU_acrylic tech station_logitech G15_G500_Samsung 32in

 04/13/2013 09:26 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Vegan
Elite

Posts: 1175
Joined: 01/31/2010

Its notmal for a CPU load to varry.

You might want to backup and install windows clean, make sure the drivers are tidy and that no fluff is slowing you down

 



-------------------------

 04/13/2013 09:26 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
cliveneo
Grinding Levels

Posts: 126
Joined: 03/09/2008

BTW everything that has to do with power save, protections, throttling, turbo core,  ETC, is disabled in the bios.  Ran tomb raider fine n a few runs of 3d mrk 11. I didnt want to get to into stressing this cpu if the temps r deff jacked up. there is a F10a bios for my gigabyte 990fx ud3 available but its a beta.



-------------------------

FX 8320 @ 4.9_H100i_Xfire Sapphire HD7970/R9 280x1100/1500_ 8gb G.Skill Ripjaw DDR3_Asus Sabertooth 990FX_120GB Corsair Force SSD_64 GB Samsung SSD_1TB WD Black_150GB WD VelociRaptor_150GB WD Raptor_CM HAFX_XFX Pro 850 Watt PSU_Bluray Drive_Asus 25in 144htz_Sidwinder X6_G9x_Z5300 speakers Rig 2: PII X4 925@3.4_GB990FXA_ Gigabyte 560ti 970/1800_4GB DDR3 Corsair Dominator_150GB WD Raptor_Ultra 550 Watt PSU_acrylic tech station_logitech G15_G500_Samsung 32in

 04/13/2013 09:32 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
cliveneo
Grinding Levels

Posts: 126
Joined: 03/09/2008

i did a re-install of windows not to long ago. However when i did upgrade the CPU i upgraded the MOBO too. different chipsets. amd 890fx to a 990fx. I had a gigabyte 890fx UD5. just swapped um out booted and windows did its thing in less than 2 mins, restarted n my new cpu/mobo was up n running. That shouldnt mess with thermal readouts should it? Its just I had a plethora of CPUs in my 15 yrs of building, I have sees isssues like temps reading to high/low etc.. but nvr just jump  10 to 15c from the touch of a mouse and then back down again. ODD



-------------------------

FX 8320 @ 4.9_H100i_Xfire Sapphire HD7970/R9 280x1100/1500_ 8gb G.Skill Ripjaw DDR3_Asus Sabertooth 990FX_120GB Corsair Force SSD_64 GB Samsung SSD_1TB WD Black_150GB WD VelociRaptor_150GB WD Raptor_CM HAFX_XFX Pro 850 Watt PSU_Bluray Drive_Asus 25in 144htz_Sidwinder X6_G9x_Z5300 speakers Rig 2: PII X4 925@3.4_GB990FXA_ Gigabyte 560ti 970/1800_4GB DDR3 Corsair Dominator_150GB WD Raptor_Ultra 550 Watt PSU_acrylic tech station_logitech G15_G500_Samsung 32in

 04/13/2013 09:39 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Mkissner
Farming Materials

Posts: 597
Joined: 07/01/2010

From what I've searched in the net, some FX chips can't read temps accurately.

Mine is an example, and it's reported by many people in so many places, that it's not a lie.

I get different temp readings from like 5 different softwares.. And yes, mine spikes like you explain. Even worst, mine report temps like 10°C below ambient at idle, which breaks all the thermodynamics rules. I mean, the H80 isn't THAT good...

Or doing some test for OC stability using OCCT, the software's chart shows the cores hitting 70-73°C at test.. Moment, of course, when I end it. Not because that's the real temp, but to prevent any further damage/safe shutdown... No FX chip can handle that kind of temp for an extended time..

I just gave up trying to read mine.. If you find a way to do it accurately, I'll be around..

 

Best regards..

 



-------------------------

8320 @ 4,7 / 990FXA UD5 / 7950 @ 1100-6000 / Switch 810 / H110 p-p / 16 GB RAM / 23" 5760x1080 / SSD 64GB RAID0 / HX750 / SB Recon3D Fatal1ty Champion / z506

 04/13/2013 09:45 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
cliveneo
Grinding Levels

Posts: 126
Joined: 03/09/2008

wow really... thought I was going mad. mine also did the 10c then spike as well. when i first booted after the OC to 4.5 it read 10c then stayed there until i moved the mouse a bit then BAMM 25c then stopped at 15c n stayed there. So weird. I thought the veshiras were the FIX of the 81xx's..... n e way if it is a read issue then i can care less bc the CPU is redic i have seen nothing but gains in all my games thus far



-------------------------

FX 8320 @ 4.9_H100i_Xfire Sapphire HD7970/R9 280x1100/1500_ 8gb G.Skill Ripjaw DDR3_Asus Sabertooth 990FX_120GB Corsair Force SSD_64 GB Samsung SSD_1TB WD Black_150GB WD VelociRaptor_150GB WD Raptor_CM HAFX_XFX Pro 850 Watt PSU_Bluray Drive_Asus 25in 144htz_Sidwinder X6_G9x_Z5300 speakers Rig 2: PII X4 925@3.4_GB990FXA_ Gigabyte 560ti 970/1800_4GB DDR3 Corsair Dominator_150GB WD Raptor_Ultra 550 Watt PSU_acrylic tech station_logitech G15_G500_Samsung 32in

 04/13/2013 10:10 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Mkissner
Farming Materials

Posts: 597
Joined: 07/01/2010

Well, I'm sorry if I can't post things like this in here.. If not, please mods, edit it..

From ALCPU (CoreTemp's maker) FAQs:

Why is the temperature of my FX, Phenom, Athlon based processor lower than the ambient temperature?
Starting with the Phenoms, AMD's digital sensor no longer reports an absolute temperature value anymore, but a reading with a certain offset, which is unknown. It is estimated that this offset is between 10 - 20c.

 

And so on around the net..

 

Best regards..

 



-------------------------

8320 @ 4,7 / 990FXA UD5 / 7950 @ 1100-6000 / Switch 810 / H110 p-p / 16 GB RAM / 23" 5760x1080 / SSD 64GB RAID0 / HX750 / SB Recon3D Fatal1ty Champion / z506

 04/13/2013 10:51 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
cliveneo
Grinding Levels

Posts: 126
Joined: 03/09/2008

i just meant if thats the only issue then i guess we shouldnt be concerned with it long as we r stable in our OC. my Phenom II x6 didnt have these probs tho. ran at a solid 17c idle 32c max load



-------------------------

FX 8320 @ 4.9_H100i_Xfire Sapphire HD7970/R9 280x1100/1500_ 8gb G.Skill Ripjaw DDR3_Asus Sabertooth 990FX_120GB Corsair Force SSD_64 GB Samsung SSD_1TB WD Black_150GB WD VelociRaptor_150GB WD Raptor_CM HAFX_XFX Pro 850 Watt PSU_Bluray Drive_Asus 25in 144htz_Sidwinder X6_G9x_Z5300 speakers Rig 2: PII X4 925@3.4_GB990FXA_ Gigabyte 560ti 970/1800_4GB DDR3 Corsair Dominator_150GB WD Raptor_Ultra 550 Watt PSU_acrylic tech station_logitech G15_G500_Samsung 32in

 04/13/2013 10:52 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
cliveneo
Grinding Levels

Posts: 126
Joined: 03/09/2008

we both do have gigabyte 990fx boards... maybe thats the cause? bios? bad sensor

 



-------------------------

FX 8320 @ 4.9_H100i_Xfire Sapphire HD7970/R9 280x1100/1500_ 8gb G.Skill Ripjaw DDR3_Asus Sabertooth 990FX_120GB Corsair Force SSD_64 GB Samsung SSD_1TB WD Black_150GB WD VelociRaptor_150GB WD Raptor_CM HAFX_XFX Pro 850 Watt PSU_Bluray Drive_Asus 25in 144htz_Sidwinder X6_G9x_Z5300 speakers Rig 2: PII X4 925@3.4_GB990FXA_ Gigabyte 560ti 970/1800_4GB DDR3 Corsair Dominator_150GB WD Raptor_Ultra 550 Watt PSU_acrylic tech station_logitech G15_G500_Samsung 32in

 04/13/2013 11:54 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Mkissner
Farming Materials

Posts: 597
Joined: 07/01/2010

Originally posted by: cliveneo...then i guess we shouldnt be concerned with it long as we r stable in our OC. ...

 

Depends on the point of view.. I think my CPU can do more than my actual 4,5, but unknowing the real/actual temps during a test, holds me back.. I was able to boot into Windows, for example, at 4,7.. But at the second I fire up a test, temps rises like a rocket, and I can't be confident to continue.. Maybe it won't do at/more-than 4,7. I don't know. But I can't prove it neither...

I've been reading about "package" or "socket" temps, being different than Core temps.. For the first one, the motherboard quality is important.. For most users/softwares, the second one matters.. So I don't think it's a motherboard's related issue. Not if we (like almost everybody in the planet ) cares and watches more about core temps, including for OC..

Like I said, if there's a cure for this particular disease, I'll be watching closely..

 

Best regards...

 



-------------------------

8320 @ 4,7 / 990FXA UD5 / 7950 @ 1100-6000 / Switch 810 / H110 p-p / 16 GB RAM / 23" 5760x1080 / SSD 64GB RAID0 / HX750 / SB Recon3D Fatal1ty Champion / z506

 04/13/2013 11:59 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
cliveneo
Grinding Levels

Posts: 126
Joined: 03/09/2008

hmmm i agree as i to stopped the testing asap when i watched it pass 65c



-------------------------

FX 8320 @ 4.9_H100i_Xfire Sapphire HD7970/R9 280x1100/1500_ 8gb G.Skill Ripjaw DDR3_Asus Sabertooth 990FX_120GB Corsair Force SSD_64 GB Samsung SSD_1TB WD Black_150GB WD VelociRaptor_150GB WD Raptor_CM HAFX_XFX Pro 850 Watt PSU_Bluray Drive_Asus 25in 144htz_Sidwinder X6_G9x_Z5300 speakers Rig 2: PII X4 925@3.4_GB990FXA_ Gigabyte 560ti 970/1800_4GB DDR3 Corsair Dominator_150GB WD Raptor_Ultra 550 Watt PSU_acrylic tech station_logitech G15_G500_Samsung 32in

Statistics
84676 users are registered to the AMD Support and Game forum.
There are currently 1 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.