Topic Title: Phenom II x4 965BE at high temp?
Topic Summary: Too high temperature with good cooling
Created On: 04/15/2013 06:41 PM
Status: Post and Reply
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 04/15/2013 06:41 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Lillegum
Peon

Posts: 5
Joined: 04/15/2013

Hello.

I wanted to try and overclock my 965BE, but when I tried to stresstest it at normal speed (3,4ghz), the temperature got up to 70 degrees, so overclocking seems out of the question. I have this cooler on it: http://www.zalman.com/eng/product/Product_Read.php?Idx=378

Does anyone know why it gets so hot? Is it normal with that big cooler? Thanks in advance! :-)

 04/15/2013 06:52 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Mkissner
Farming Materials

Posts: 597
Joined: 07/01/2010

You should check:

- Air flow/cooling inside your case + ambient temps.

- Replacement of thermal paste.

- Cooler properly seated.

- If you have a push/pull config with 2 fans, the speeds of both of them. If only one, then the speeds AND the direction of air blowing. Maybe setting them/it at max speeds would improve something.

It's not normal with an aftermarket cooler to get those temps, even at stock speeds, so something's wrong..

 

Best regards...

EDIT: Oh, and I forgott: your PSU/motherboard makers and models. A deficient PSU can cause that too..

 



-------------------------

8320 @ 4,7 / 990FXA UD5 / 7950 @ 1100-6000 / Switch 810 / H110 p-p / 16 GB RAM / 23" 5760x1080 / SSD 64GB RAID0 / HX750 / SB Recon3D Fatal1ty Champion / z506

 04/16/2013 07:14 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Lillegum
Peon

Posts: 5
Joined: 04/15/2013

Thanks alot for your response, Mkissner!

I'm not very familiar with cooling, so I have some followup questions. Hope you got time to give some more clearence

I don't think it's air flow. I have 2 extra fans in the cabinet, and the temp on my gfx card is ood.

I only have one fan on the Zalman cooler, so that might not be it.

The only logical explanation I guess is left, is either the thermal paste or the cooler properly seated. Before I start yanking out the cooler to change the thermal paste and figure out if it's correctly seated; Is there any specific thermal paste I should buy?

And my second question: What's PSU/motherboard got to do with it? My motherboard is a ASUS m4a785td-m evo, and my PSU is a 650Watt Corsair TX. Could those be the problem?

 04/16/2013 09:03 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
black_zion
80 Column Mind

Posts: 12342
Joined: 04/17/2008

IC Diamond is the best, but expensive. Arctic Silver 5 is old, cheap, popular, and effective. I would suggest getting some Articlean as well, it is cheap and makes removing old TIM extremely quick and easy, and removes more than 90% alcohol and hard scrubbing, and it's only $7 and you only use a few drops each time.

Underpowering a component can cause overheating, which usually happens with some backstreet communist Chinese off brand power supply that any second year American electrical engineering student could make. But with that PSU it's not a problem.

What are your ambient temps? Anything above about 75°F/24°C and you should look at a closed liquid cooler.

-------------------------
ASUS Sabertooth 990FX/Gen3 R2, FX-8350 w/ Corsair H60, 8 GiB G.SKILL RipjawsX DDR3-2133, XFX HD 7970 Ghz, 512GB Vertex 4, 256GB Vector, 240GB Agility 3, Creative X-Fi Titanium w/ Creative Gigaworks S750, SeaSonic X750, HP ZR2440w, Win 7 Ultimate x64
 04/16/2013 05:18 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Mkissner
Farming Materials

Posts: 597
Joined: 07/01/2010

Your motherboard seems to not have cooling in the VRMs and phases, which leads me to recommend you to not OC your CPU unless you find a way to cool them..

Maybe that's the reason for you to read those high temps..

Like b_z said, your PSU is really fine. No problems in there. And those brands/models for TIM are great too.

 

Best regards...



-------------------------

8320 @ 4,7 / 990FXA UD5 / 7950 @ 1100-6000 / Switch 810 / H110 p-p / 16 GB RAM / 23" 5760x1080 / SSD 64GB RAID0 / HX750 / SB Recon3D Fatal1ty Champion / z506

Statistics
84735 users are registered to the AMD Support and Game forum.
There are currently 1 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.