Topic Title: FX8350 no core temp readings
Topic Summary: Tried dozens of programs, non of them shows core temp..
Created On: 05/05/2013 06:19 PM
Status: Post and Reply
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 05/05/2013 06:19 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Garwinski
Peon

Posts: 3
Joined: 05/05/2013

Hello people of the AMD forums,

I recently bought an AMDfx8350BE. Iam really happy with it so far!

However, I can't read any core temps! I have tried CPUID, speedfan, ASrock Extreme Tuning Utility, but those just don't show the core temps . Does anyone has any experience with this? What could be the reason? Could it be my Mobo? My mobo is an AsRock970 Extreme3 with the newest BIOS version (1.70). Is there some option that you need to turn on or something somewhere in BIOS, or am I doing something wrong? 

Thanks for the help in advance.  

 05/06/2013 03:05 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
-rascal-
Farming Materials

Posts: 539
Joined: 01/15/2011

CPUID CPU-Z? That only shows CPU / Memory / Motherboard information.

You need to look into programs like

1) HWMonitor

2) AIDA64 Extreme Edition

3) Speccy

ASrock Extreme Tuning Utility should display CPU temperatures...I cant see they have that under "Temperature" section.

BTW, you should be looking at the CPU Temperatures NOT individual Core Temperatures.



-------------------------

Phenom II X6 1090T @ 4.1GHz FX-8350 @ 4.8GHz // ASUS Crosshair V Formula 990FX // Sapphire Radeon HD Dual-X 7970 @ 1150/1500 // Thermaltake Frio w/ push-pull (using Antec Formula 7 Nano-Diamond + Cooler Master JetFlo fans) // 8GB (2 X 4GB) G.Skill RipJawsX 2133MHz  // Corsair TX850 850W // Corsair Force GT 120GB SSD (OS) // Kingston V200+ 120GB SSD // WD Caviar Black 1TB // Windows 7 Ult x64

 05/06/2013 03:34 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Garwinski
Peon

Posts: 3
Joined: 05/05/2013

Thank you for your reply -rascal-,

With CPUID I meant the HWmonitor. I can read out the CPU temp, but not the individual cores. I will try the other programms you recommended though.

 05/07/2013 02:06 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
MisterEd
Nerfed

Posts: 60
Joined: 10/10/2012

I just upgraded to an AMD FX8350BE myself a week ago.

I use Core Temp. It loads with Windows and minimizes itself to the tray. I can call it up anytime from the tray.

Since I prefer to see the temperatures all the time I also downloaded the optional Core Temp gadget. Once Core Temp loads and minimizes itself to the tray the Core Temp gadget starts getting its updates from Core Temp.

Core Temp next to the Core Temp gadget.

 

 

 



-------------------------

Gigabyte GA-990FXA-UD3 | AMD FX-8350 | Corsair H60 Cooler | GSkill RipjawsX (2x4GB) | ASUS GeForce GTX 560 | WD Caviar Blue 1TB | Seagate 750GB | ASUS 24X DVD/RW| Windows 7 Ultimate 64-bit
ASUS M4N82 Deluxe | AMD Phenom II X4 960T | Corsair XMS2(2x2GB) | PNY GeForce GTS 250 (1GB) | Seagate 300GB | Maxtor 200GB/250GB | Memorex 20X DVD/RW | Windows 7 Home Premium 32-bit

 05/07/2013 04:27 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Garwinski
Peon

Posts: 3
Joined: 05/05/2013

Thank you for your reply MisterEd!

I just figured out that I can indeed see the temps with AIDA64, thanks to -rascal- his recommendation, but this was a trial version, so not preferable. I also see that with just Coretemp, you get the same result as me: only cpu temp. But with the gadget however, I get to see the temperature for al individual cores as wel! Is is it normal though for al the cores to have the exact same temperature, or is this another problem on itself?

 05/07/2013 01:58 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
MisterEd
Nerfed

Posts: 60
Joined: 10/10/2012

AMD CPUs only have one temperature sensor for all cores.



-------------------------

Gigabyte GA-990FXA-UD3 | AMD FX-8350 | Corsair H60 Cooler | GSkill RipjawsX (2x4GB) | ASUS GeForce GTX 560 | WD Caviar Blue 1TB | Seagate 750GB | ASUS 24X DVD/RW| Windows 7 Ultimate 64-bit
ASUS M4N82 Deluxe | AMD Phenom II X4 960T | Corsair XMS2(2x2GB) | PNY GeForce GTS 250 (1GB) | Seagate 300GB | Maxtor 200GB/250GB | Memorex 20X DVD/RW | Windows 7 Home Premium 32-bit

 05/07/2013 03:18 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
-rascal-
Farming Materials

Posts: 539
Joined: 01/15/2011

Wait, you can't see the individual Core temperatures with HWMonitor? That isn't right...it should so...

Correct, the free version of AIDA64 is a trial version. You can activate your trial version into a full version very easily...but I will not go into detail about it here. You'll have to look in to it yourself .

Another program you can also try: HWiNFO. http://www.hwinfo.com/

I don't see the reason to monitor each individual Cores. the max operating temperature indicated by AMD is the CPU temperature anyways.

MisterEd is also correct. There is just a temperture sensor for the CPU. Eaxctly where it is, it's been a mystery since socket AM3 came out in 2009.

Some say it is under the CPU socket on the motherboard, some say it is within the CPU chip itself...

 

ALSO if you are seeing temperatures below room / ambient temperature...it is NOT accurate. A few temperature monitoring programs shows this issue.



-------------------------

Phenom II X6 1090T @ 4.1GHz FX-8350 @ 4.8GHz // ASUS Crosshair V Formula 990FX // Sapphire Radeon HD Dual-X 7970 @ 1150/1500 // Thermaltake Frio w/ push-pull (using Antec Formula 7 Nano-Diamond + Cooler Master JetFlo fans) // 8GB (2 X 4GB) G.Skill RipJawsX 2133MHz  // Corsair TX850 850W // Corsair Force GT 120GB SSD (OS) // Kingston V200+ 120GB SSD // WD Caviar Black 1TB // Windows 7 Ult x64



Edited: 05/07/2013 at 03:27 PM by -rascal-
 05/08/2013 11:00 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Slayerx
Button Masher

Posts: 280
Joined: 09/16/2012

The CPU temp comes from a sencer on the mobo.

Core temps come from the cpu it self.

If you don't beleave me read this http://forums.amd.com/game/messageview.cfm?catid=446&threadid=160921&enterthread=y

So if you want a accurate reading its the core temp but like what rascal said there's really no reason to monitor each core all the time. If your cpu temp is well below 61c your core temp will be 7-10 degrees cooler than that.



-------------------------

FX 8320// Asus Sabertooth R2.0 // HIS R9 280x //8Gb of 1866Mhz ram, H50 cooling, HX850W psu all stuffed into a NZXT Phantom case.


Was a member of AMD Processer forum since 2008. Last post count 1818.

Statistics
85450 users are registered to the AMD Support and Game forum.
There are currently 1 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.