Topic Title: cpu stock fan on 6400 rpm!!!
Topic Summary:
Created On: 05/07/2013 06:22 PM
Status: Post and Reply
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 05/07/2013 06:22 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
d1versify
Peon

Posts: 9
Joined: 05/07/2013

hello! im new here! 

My cpu stock fan runs on 6400 rpm when i play videogames ONLY ! 
My cpu temperature is max 57Celsius, room temperature 28 celsius, in mid tower, amd FX 6300 !

It all started after i removed it one day so as to blow the dust! When i reinstalled it it started going like that! I changed paste 2 mores times but same thing!

 05/08/2013 05:39 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
-rascal-
Farming Materials

Posts: 538
Joined: 01/15/2011

So you removed the CPU heatsink + fan from the CPU to clean?

Did you clean off the OLD paste before applying the new layer? You NEED to do this everytime you change the heatsink / remove it.

You need to clean off all the paste from both surfaces...heatsink bottom and CPU top.

 

You don't need to apply too much paste; size of a grain of rice / pea in the ceter is enough. Too much paste or too little is not good.

 

What type of thermal paste are you using?



-------------------------

Phenom II X6 1090T @ 4.1GHz FX-8350 @ 4.8GHz // ASUS Crosshair V Formula 990FX // Sapphire Radeon HD Dual-X 7970 @ 1150/1500 // Thermaltake Frio w/ push-pull (using Antec Formula 7 Nano-Diamond + Cooler Master JetFlo fans) // 8GB (2 X 4GB) G.Skill RipJawsX 2133MHz  // Corsair TX850 850W // Corsair Force GT 120GB SSD (OS) // Kingston V200+ 120GB SSD // WD Caviar Black 1TB // Windows 7 Ult x64

 05/08/2013 05:44 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
d1versify
Peon

Posts: 9
Joined: 05/07/2013

yes i did it is supposed to be done! 
cleaned off the old paste, with 70% alcohol and cotton, and wiped with coffee filters! then i applied some arctic silver at the size of a pea 

 05/10/2013 11:24 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Vantharas
Polygon Pusher

Posts: 3506
Joined: 03/01/2009

lol thats an AMD stock heatsink for you. 



-------------------------

I5 3570K@4~5.0ghz: Gigabyte GA-Z77X-UD3H:Corsair Hydro H110 :16GB Corsair Vengeance DDR-3 1600: XFX Radeon 7950 @ 1100/1575 : Corsair AX 860 PSU: x1 WD Black 1TB HDD's: 90GB Agility 3: 960GB SSD : Creative Labs X-FI:Corsair 500R Arctic White Edition:3 22inch Monitors Eyefinity @ 5294x 1050 : Alienware Tact-X Keyboard: Razer Naga :Corsair Vengence 1500 Headset: Corsair SP2500 Speakers

 05/11/2013 12:25 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
black_zion
80 Column Mind

Posts: 12364
Joined: 04/17/2008

Next time you're on Newegg look up "Arcticlean", it makes removal of old TIM much easier than with alcohol. But there are several programs out there that let you define a custom fan speed curve. The major motherboard manufacturers will have their own software (such as AI Suite for ASUS motherboards), and there are free programs such as SpeedFan. AS5 is great stuff but it does need a few days to fully set in. Temps seem normal, but you might want to look at getting a good aftermarket cooler such as the Corsair H60. I say that one because it clips right to the stock AMx/FMx bracket, can handle two 120mm fans (I recommend two Cougar CF-V12HBP), easily handles overclocked and slightly overvolted 125w chips, and a closed loop liquid cooler is perfect if you have high ambient temps and a "small" mid tower case. The stock heatsink AMD puts in with their 95w and below chips is pretty garbage (Intel does it too), it's just enough to "get by", but it's not acoustically pleasant.

-------------------------
ASUS Sabertooth 990FX/Gen3 R2, FX-8350 w/ Corsair H60, 8 GiB G.SKILL RipjawsX DDR3-2133, XFX HD 7970 Ghz, 512GB Vertex 4, 256GB Vector, 240GB Agility 3, Creative X-Fi Titanium w/ Creative Gigaworks S750, SeaSonic X750, HP ZR2440w, Win 7 Ultimate x64
 05/11/2013 07:06 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
d1versify
Peon

Posts: 9
Joined: 05/07/2013

i just ordered the coolermaster hyper 212 evo..!

 05/11/2013 07:07 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
d1versify
Peon

Posts: 9
Joined: 05/07/2013

Originally posted by: Vantharas lol thats an AMD stock heatsink for you. 

 



What do u mean ??? 

 05/11/2013 10:24 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Slayerx
Button Masher

Posts: 273
Joined: 09/16/2012

He means they'er cheap garbage!

Your new hyper 212 is going to do a far far better job



-------------------------

FX 8320// Asus Sabertooth R2.0 // HIS R9 280x //8Gb of 1866Mhz ram, H50 cooling, HX850W psu all stuffed into a NZXT Phantom case.


Was a member of AMD Processer forum since 2008. Last post count 1818.

 05/11/2013 11:08 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
d1versify
Peon

Posts: 9
Joined: 05/07/2013

do u think it runs like that cuz i put a lot of pastE?

 05/11/2013 11:21 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
black_zion
80 Column Mind

Posts: 12364
Joined: 04/17/2008

Don't obsess about the amount of TIM. As firmly as AMD heatsinks clip down unless it really oozes out around it you didn't use to much.

-------------------------
ASUS Sabertooth 990FX/Gen3 R2, FX-8350 w/ Corsair H60, 8 GiB G.SKILL RipjawsX DDR3-2133, XFX HD 7970 Ghz, 512GB Vertex 4, 256GB Vector, 240GB Agility 3, Creative X-Fi Titanium w/ Creative Gigaworks S750, SeaSonic X750, HP ZR2440w, Win 7 Ultimate x64
 05/11/2013 01:34 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
d1versify
Peon

Posts: 9
Joined: 05/07/2013

if i remove the heatsink to check, i have to apply new paste?

 05/11/2013 03:25 PM
User is online View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Fishman
Master Looter

Posts: 312
Joined: 10/14/2011

Originally posted by: d1versify then i applied some arctic silver at the size of a pea 

 

If you did this dont worry about the amount of paste.



-------------------------

GA-MA-790FXT-UD5P/ AMD Phenom II X4 965 Black/2 x XFX HD5870 /RipjawsX 2x4gb DDR3 1333/ Corsair TX750M/ Antec 900 case/ Windows 7x64 Ult.


 

 05/11/2013 06:07 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
black_zion
80 Column Mind

Posts: 12364
Joined: 04/17/2008

No, as I've said it takes AS5 a week or two to really cure in, so you can monkey around with it for the first couple of days.

-------------------------
ASUS Sabertooth 990FX/Gen3 R2, FX-8350 w/ Corsair H60, 8 GiB G.SKILL RipjawsX DDR3-2133, XFX HD 7970 Ghz, 512GB Vertex 4, 256GB Vector, 240GB Agility 3, Creative X-Fi Titanium w/ Creative Gigaworks S750, SeaSonic X750, HP ZR2440w, Win 7 Ultimate x64
 05/11/2013 06:47 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
d1versify
Peon

Posts: 9
Joined: 05/07/2013

two weeks have passed... well anyway ill have an aftermarket cooler in 10 days so...

i just hope the problem will not persist after i install the new cooler...
if it does, what can be wrong? 

 05/11/2013 07:25 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
black_zion
80 Column Mind

Posts: 12364
Joined: 04/17/2008

A good aftermarket cooler and aftermarket fan can run silently at 100%.

-------------------------
ASUS Sabertooth 990FX/Gen3 R2, FX-8350 w/ Corsair H60, 8 GiB G.SKILL RipjawsX DDR3-2133, XFX HD 7970 Ghz, 512GB Vertex 4, 256GB Vector, 240GB Agility 3, Creative X-Fi Titanium w/ Creative Gigaworks S750, SeaSonic X750, HP ZR2440w, Win 7 Ultimate x64
 05/12/2013 09:29 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Vantharas
Polygon Pusher

Posts: 3506
Joined: 03/01/2009

Originally posted by: d1versify
Originally posted by: Vantharas lol thats an AMD stock heatsink for you. 

 

 

 

What do u mean ??? 

 

The fans on them are junk. The one on my 965BE spun at close to 7k RPM and was so loud and obnoxious I removed the fan and replaced it with a 92mm case fan. It was.. insanely rediculous. The ones on the new FX CPU's are much the same.. Loud.. and obnoxious. 



-------------------------

I5 3570K@4~5.0ghz: Gigabyte GA-Z77X-UD3H:Corsair Hydro H110 :16GB Corsair Vengeance DDR-3 1600: XFX Radeon 7950 @ 1100/1575 : Corsair AX 860 PSU: x1 WD Black 1TB HDD's: 90GB Agility 3: 960GB SSD : Creative Labs X-FI:Corsair 500R Arctic White Edition:3 22inch Monitors Eyefinity @ 5294x 1050 : Alienware Tact-X Keyboard: Razer Naga :Corsair Vengence 1500 Headset: Corsair SP2500 Speakers

 05/12/2013 11:59 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
black_zion
80 Column Mind

Posts: 12364
Joined: 04/17/2008

Loud and obnoxious describes those Delta fans you have Vantharas. After I replaced my Xigmatek HDT-S1283 with this Corsair H60 I used some epoxy and put a funnel on the outflow side of mine and some electrical tape to put together an extension cord from some spare adapters, makes one heck of a duster. A spare fan grill attached to the inflow side prevents any accidental...amputation.

But I remember how bad the fan noise was when I was using the stock cooler on my Athlon64 X2 6000+ Windsor (the last great CPU series AMD made for a long time was the Windsor series IMO)...Oy...

-------------------------
ASUS Sabertooth 990FX/Gen3 R2, FX-8350 w/ Corsair H60, 8 GiB G.SKILL RipjawsX DDR3-2133, XFX HD 7970 Ghz, 512GB Vertex 4, 256GB Vector, 240GB Agility 3, Creative X-Fi Titanium w/ Creative Gigaworks S750, SeaSonic X750, HP ZR2440w, Win 7 Ultimate x64
Statistics
84837 users are registered to the AMD Support and Game forum.
There are currently 4 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.