Topic Title: FX 8320 OVERHEATING!!!!
Topic Summary:
Created On: 05/18/2013 09:14 AM
Status: Post and Reply
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
1 2 Next Last unread
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 05/18/2013 09:14 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
cliveneo
Grinding Levels

Posts: 126
Joined: 03/09/2008

I need some help with this issue. to keep it short my cpu ran fine for a month idle about room temp about 23c load was about 45c with a h100i P/P specs r in sig. after a month temps through the roof. was playing a game alt tabbed out. cpu was 60c idle 45c. ive tried two psus ULTRA 550watt, XFX 850watt, two motherboards GIGBYTE 990fx UD3, Asus SABERTOOTH 990fx, removing my extention cables for the 12v CPU n 24pin mobo thinking that was the issue as the problem randomly disapeared. then i started to see if i can get my OC back up. idle 20c package 35c CPU. right back up again. load temps with intel burn and prime were unbearable about 62c!!!! now its beyond thinking ive posted on gigabytes forums, corsairs forums, nothing...i have spent over 200 dollars between motherboards. ONE QUESTION if the cpu is going bad i.e. a core or the whole thing itself, will just overheating be the result. Other thought durning this heat madness, ive benched the cpu with prime95 although temps were high load at stocK 55C RAN FOR 8 HOURS. The common hardware in all these test was that dam H100i, I am leaning towards that because today after i tried to get my oc up again, temps were high i started sqweezing the h100i tubes and gently tapping the RAD temps rocketed sensors showes the package in the 70s b4 i shut it down



-------------------------

FX 8320 @ 4.9_H100i_Xfire Sapphire HD7970/R9 280x1100/1500_ 8gb G.Skill Ripjaw DDR3_Asus Sabertooth 990FX_120GB Corsair Force SSD_64 GB Samsung SSD_1TB WD Black_150GB WD VelociRaptor_150GB WD Raptor_CM HAFX_XFX Pro 850 Watt PSU_Bluray Drive_Asus 25in 144htz_Sidwinder X6_G9x_Z5300 speakers Rig 2: PII X4 925@3.4_GB990FXA_ Gigabyte 560ti 970/1800_4GB DDR3 Corsair Dominator_150GB WD Raptor_Ultra 550 Watt PSU_acrylic tech station_logitech G15_G500_Samsung 32in

 05/18/2013 09:51 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
cliveneo
Grinding Levels

Posts: 126
Joined: 03/09/2008

update. the h100i has two pipes, corsair emblem facing you when the pump is connected. one tube on the top one on the bottom. with rubber gloves i touched and moved the top tube no change in temps. i touched and moved the bottom one (this one is always hotter) after i moved it a bit temps shot from idle 38c CPU 21 package to 48c and 36c and staying there. no change to the pumps rpms, 2300. I obviously dont go about touching things when the pc is on but is this normal with a closed loop system? moving the tube drasticly changes the temps like that? please N E 1 input I have been at this for weeks trying to find the culprit



-------------------------

FX 8320 @ 4.9_H100i_Xfire Sapphire HD7970/R9 280x1100/1500_ 8gb G.Skill Ripjaw DDR3_Asus Sabertooth 990FX_120GB Corsair Force SSD_64 GB Samsung SSD_1TB WD Black_150GB WD VelociRaptor_150GB WD Raptor_CM HAFX_XFX Pro 850 Watt PSU_Bluray Drive_Asus 25in 144htz_Sidwinder X6_G9x_Z5300 speakers Rig 2: PII X4 925@3.4_GB990FXA_ Gigabyte 560ti 970/1800_4GB DDR3 Corsair Dominator_150GB WD Raptor_Ultra 550 Watt PSU_acrylic tech station_logitech G15_G500_Samsung 32in

 05/18/2013 09:55 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
black_zion
80 Column Mind

Posts: 12198
Joined: 04/17/2008

So it's a faulty cooler, talk to Corsair.

-------------------------
ASUS Sabertooth 990FX/Gen3 R2, FX-8350 w/ Corsair H60, 8 GiB G.SKILL RipjawsX DDR3-2133, XFX HD 7970 Ghz, 512GB Vertex 4, 256GB Vector, 240GB Agility 3, Creative X-Fi Titanium w/ Creative Gigaworks S750, SeaSonic X750, HP ZR2440w, Win 7 Ultimate x64
 05/18/2013 09:59 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
cliveneo
Grinding Levels

Posts: 126
Joined: 03/09/2008

so i know i am prolly answering my own question here from all the years of PC building. but it deff cant be the CPU right? I only have a stock cooler for a PII 1090T laying around I did try that temps at load were a mere 3c cooler than the H100i, 52c stock settings. which yes raised a FLAG but i still was on the XFX psu or the extension cables being the issue.  but also will moving the tubes cause a increase in temps? i thought no bc it is a closed loop system right?



-------------------------

FX 8320 @ 4.9_H100i_Xfire Sapphire HD7970/R9 280x1100/1500_ 8gb G.Skill Ripjaw DDR3_Asus Sabertooth 990FX_120GB Corsair Force SSD_64 GB Samsung SSD_1TB WD Black_150GB WD VelociRaptor_150GB WD Raptor_CM HAFX_XFX Pro 850 Watt PSU_Bluray Drive_Asus 25in 144htz_Sidwinder X6_G9x_Z5300 speakers Rig 2: PII X4 925@3.4_GB990FXA_ Gigabyte 560ti 970/1800_4GB DDR3 Corsair Dominator_150GB WD Raptor_Ultra 550 Watt PSU_acrylic tech station_logitech G15_G500_Samsung 32in

 05/18/2013 10:00 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
cliveneo
Grinding Levels

Posts: 126
Joined: 03/09/2008

restarted the PC and went into the BIOS 54c I just shut it down. What ill do is RMA the H100i and take the XFX PSU out and use it in the Second PC in my SIG. still so dam confused havent had this many issues since the first AMD phenoms and the 3870x2.



-------------------------

FX 8320 @ 4.9_H100i_Xfire Sapphire HD7970/R9 280x1100/1500_ 8gb G.Skill Ripjaw DDR3_Asus Sabertooth 990FX_120GB Corsair Force SSD_64 GB Samsung SSD_1TB WD Black_150GB WD VelociRaptor_150GB WD Raptor_CM HAFX_XFX Pro 850 Watt PSU_Bluray Drive_Asus 25in 144htz_Sidwinder X6_G9x_Z5300 speakers Rig 2: PII X4 925@3.4_GB990FXA_ Gigabyte 560ti 970/1800_4GB DDR3 Corsair Dominator_150GB WD Raptor_Ultra 550 Watt PSU_acrylic tech station_logitech G15_G500_Samsung 32in



Edited: 05/18/2013 at 10:26 AM by cliveneo
 05/18/2013 11:14 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
black_zion
80 Column Mind

Posts: 12198
Joined: 04/17/2008

It's not the CPU. If a core goes bad it just causes blue screens because it is unstable.

-------------------------
ASUS Sabertooth 990FX/Gen3 R2, FX-8350 w/ Corsair H60, 8 GiB G.SKILL RipjawsX DDR3-2133, XFX HD 7970 Ghz, 512GB Vertex 4, 256GB Vector, 240GB Agility 3, Creative X-Fi Titanium w/ Creative Gigaworks S750, SeaSonic X750, HP ZR2440w, Win 7 Ultimate x64
 05/18/2013 12:00 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
cliveneo
Grinding Levels

Posts: 126
Joined: 03/09/2008

yea the more i bend or cautiously move the tubing the more hotter or cooler the temps get. Is that normal? first time user of a high end closed loop. I had a H50 but the tubing was rock hard on mine u could barely move it. and if you did it had no impact on cooling. I can move the tubes on the h100i and literally watch the temp go up n up n up u got my point. the pump is screwed on secure. ive tried to lossen it tighten then power on, same issue. If the temps arent suppose to fluctate upon a slight or moderate move of the tubing then the h100i is deff the culprit either its gummed up or has some other kind of flow reduction.



-------------------------

FX 8320 @ 4.9_H100i_Xfire Sapphire HD7970/R9 280x1100/1500_ 8gb G.Skill Ripjaw DDR3_Asus Sabertooth 990FX_120GB Corsair Force SSD_64 GB Samsung SSD_1TB WD Black_150GB WD VelociRaptor_150GB WD Raptor_CM HAFX_XFX Pro 850 Watt PSU_Bluray Drive_Asus 25in 144htz_Sidwinder X6_G9x_Z5300 speakers Rig 2: PII X4 925@3.4_GB990FXA_ Gigabyte 560ti 970/1800_4GB DDR3 Corsair Dominator_150GB WD Raptor_Ultra 550 Watt PSU_acrylic tech station_logitech G15_G500_Samsung 32in



Edited: 05/18/2013 at 12:08 PM by cliveneo
 05/18/2013 12:14 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
cliveneo
Grinding Levels

Posts: 126
Joined: 03/09/2008

here are some temps as i am typing this post on my lappy. this is B.S. for the coin i paid for the cooler (if it is defective n it aint the PSU). stock 8320 3.5 voltage 1.3 12v is at 11.631 CPU temp 54c package temp 47c. We area talking about a a H100i max power in PUSH/PULL with the two stock fans max rpms 2400 and two corsair SP 120 fans @2400 rpm arctic silver thermal paste. literally up to 55c CPU 48c package that is out right insane for STOCK with a h100i even in just push or just pull. a darn month ago i was at 4.5 1.475 volts with lower temps. AND MY CASE DOOR IS OFF!!!!!!!



-------------------------

FX 8320 @ 4.9_H100i_Xfire Sapphire HD7970/R9 280x1100/1500_ 8gb G.Skill Ripjaw DDR3_Asus Sabertooth 990FX_120GB Corsair Force SSD_64 GB Samsung SSD_1TB WD Black_150GB WD VelociRaptor_150GB WD Raptor_CM HAFX_XFX Pro 850 Watt PSU_Bluray Drive_Asus 25in 144htz_Sidwinder X6_G9x_Z5300 speakers Rig 2: PII X4 925@3.4_GB990FXA_ Gigabyte 560ti 970/1800_4GB DDR3 Corsair Dominator_150GB WD Raptor_Ultra 550 Watt PSU_acrylic tech station_logitech G15_G500_Samsung 32in



Edited: 05/18/2013 at 12:23 PM by cliveneo
 05/18/2013 12:25 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
cliveneo
Grinding Levels

Posts: 126
Joined: 03/09/2008

ima try this PSU in my second PC in the sig after i run a hour of prime on it so i know what the temps n power r of that PC. then ill switch out the PSUs n repeat. But so far BLACK you thinks its the h100i?



-------------------------

FX 8320 @ 4.9_H100i_Xfire Sapphire HD7970/R9 280x1100/1500_ 8gb G.Skill Ripjaw DDR3_Asus Sabertooth 990FX_120GB Corsair Force SSD_64 GB Samsung SSD_1TB WD Black_150GB WD VelociRaptor_150GB WD Raptor_CM HAFX_XFX Pro 850 Watt PSU_Bluray Drive_Asus 25in 144htz_Sidwinder X6_G9x_Z5300 speakers Rig 2: PII X4 925@3.4_GB990FXA_ Gigabyte 560ti 970/1800_4GB DDR3 Corsair Dominator_150GB WD Raptor_Ultra 550 Watt PSU_acrylic tech station_logitech G15_G500_Samsung 32in

 05/18/2013 12:44 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
cliveneo
Grinding Levels

Posts: 126
Joined: 03/09/2008

I will add some pics of my computer, idle temps and load temps with my current setup at stock AMD FX



-------------------------

FX 8320 @ 4.9_H100i_Xfire Sapphire HD7970/R9 280x1100/1500_ 8gb G.Skill Ripjaw DDR3_Asus Sabertooth 990FX_120GB Corsair Force SSD_64 GB Samsung SSD_1TB WD Black_150GB WD VelociRaptor_150GB WD Raptor_CM HAFX_XFX Pro 850 Watt PSU_Bluray Drive_Asus 25in 144htz_Sidwinder X6_G9x_Z5300 speakers Rig 2: PII X4 925@3.4_GB990FXA_ Gigabyte 560ti 970/1800_4GB DDR3 Corsair Dominator_150GB WD Raptor_Ultra 550 Watt PSU_acrylic tech station_logitech G15_G500_Samsung 32in



Edited: 05/18/2013 at 01:17 PM by cliveneo
 05/18/2013 12:54 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
cliveneo
Grinding Levels

Posts: 126
Joined: 03/09/2008

thats what my rig looks like everything is nead and clean.  no air flow obstruction



-------------------------

FX 8320 @ 4.9_H100i_Xfire Sapphire HD7970/R9 280x1100/1500_ 8gb G.Skill Ripjaw DDR3_Asus Sabertooth 990FX_120GB Corsair Force SSD_64 GB Samsung SSD_1TB WD Black_150GB WD VelociRaptor_150GB WD Raptor_CM HAFX_XFX Pro 850 Watt PSU_Bluray Drive_Asus 25in 144htz_Sidwinder X6_G9x_Z5300 speakers Rig 2: PII X4 925@3.4_GB990FXA_ Gigabyte 560ti 970/1800_4GB DDR3 Corsair Dominator_150GB WD Raptor_Ultra 550 Watt PSU_acrylic tech station_logitech G15_G500_Samsung 32in

 05/18/2013 12:59 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
cliveneo
Grinding Levels

Posts: 126
Joined: 03/09/2008

 



-------------------------

FX 8320 @ 4.9_H100i_Xfire Sapphire HD7970/R9 280x1100/1500_ 8gb G.Skill Ripjaw DDR3_Asus Sabertooth 990FX_120GB Corsair Force SSD_64 GB Samsung SSD_1TB WD Black_150GB WD VelociRaptor_150GB WD Raptor_CM HAFX_XFX Pro 850 Watt PSU_Bluray Drive_Asus 25in 144htz_Sidwinder X6_G9x_Z5300 speakers Rig 2: PII X4 925@3.4_GB990FXA_ Gigabyte 560ti 970/1800_4GB DDR3 Corsair Dominator_150GB WD Raptor_Ultra 550 Watt PSU_acrylic tech station_logitech G15_G500_Samsung 32in

 05/18/2013 01:04 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
cliveneo
Grinding Levels

Posts: 126
Joined: 03/09/2008

load temps



-------------------------

FX 8320 @ 4.9_H100i_Xfire Sapphire HD7970/R9 280x1100/1500_ 8gb G.Skill Ripjaw DDR3_Asus Sabertooth 990FX_120GB Corsair Force SSD_64 GB Samsung SSD_1TB WD Black_150GB WD VelociRaptor_150GB WD Raptor_CM HAFX_XFX Pro 850 Watt PSU_Bluray Drive_Asus 25in 144htz_Sidwinder X6_G9x_Z5300 speakers Rig 2: PII X4 925@3.4_GB990FXA_ Gigabyte 560ti 970/1800_4GB DDR3 Corsair Dominator_150GB WD Raptor_Ultra 550 Watt PSU_acrylic tech station_logitech G15_G500_Samsung 32in

 05/19/2013 08:20 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
cliveneo
Grinding Levels

Posts: 126
Joined: 03/09/2008

the XFX runs perfect in the other system. So that leaves the h100i. Does this cooler just sux or wouls all who view this thread agree that it is defective? N  E other input...???



-------------------------

FX 8320 @ 4.9_H100i_Xfire Sapphire HD7970/R9 280x1100/1500_ 8gb G.Skill Ripjaw DDR3_Asus Sabertooth 990FX_120GB Corsair Force SSD_64 GB Samsung SSD_1TB WD Black_150GB WD VelociRaptor_150GB WD Raptor_CM HAFX_XFX Pro 850 Watt PSU_Bluray Drive_Asus 25in 144htz_Sidwinder X6_G9x_Z5300 speakers Rig 2: PII X4 925@3.4_GB990FXA_ Gigabyte 560ti 970/1800_4GB DDR3 Corsair Dominator_150GB WD Raptor_Ultra 550 Watt PSU_acrylic tech station_logitech G15_G500_Samsung 32in

 05/19/2013 08:34 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
QB the Slayer
Master Looter

Posts: 321
Joined: 11/27/2012

If touching it affects temps I would guess it is not seated properly.  You didn't remove the AMD bracket from your motherboard did you?  And if you did in the past and put it back (like I did when I went from the ChillTec to an H80i) are you sure the bracket is fully attached?

 

QB



-------------------------

The MONSTER HTPC:

CPU: AMD FX-8350.||.Cooler: Corsair H80i
MB: Gigabyte 990FXA-UD7.||.RAM: 8 GB Mushkin Blackline DDR3 2000MHz (7-10-8-27-1T)
Case: CoolerMaster HAF 932.||.PSU: Corsair HX750
GPU:Asus R9 270X DirectCU II TOP.||.Audio: Creative X-Fi Titanium Fatal1ty Pro w/ Logitech Z-5300e (5.1, 280W-RMS)
System Drive: 2xSamsung 840 Pro 128GB RAID0.||.Working Drive: 2xMushkin Chronos 60GB RAID0

 05/19/2013 08:36 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
zipsi
Case Modder

Posts: 984
Joined: 11/22/2010

On those screenshots you get around 30C idle and 55C under full load - I don't see a problem? These temps seem perfectly fine.



-------------------------
Intel I7 3770K @ 4.5ghz, Cooler Master Hyper 212 Evo, Gigabyte Z77X-UD3H, Gigabyte HD7970 ghz edition, 4x4gb Kingston HyperX Beast 2133mhz, Seasonic Platinum 860, Samsung 840 Pro 256gb, OCZ Vertex 4 128gb, WD Black 1TB, WD Green 3TB+1.5TB, ASUS Xonar Essence ST, ASUS VE278Q, Windows 3.11
 05/19/2013 09:43 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Vegan
Elite

Posts: 1149
Joined: 01/31/2010

I use high-end thermal grease and it does make a difference

factory pads on the CPU cooler are OK but Artic MX-4 can do better.

I had to RMA my M5A99FX due to the network adapter dying

I will have to regrease the CPU cooler and I will be using MX-4.

I regreased an old Celeron and it went down several degrees on my old Acer T320 that I use as a spare machine.

MX-4 is not that expensive, fried gear is....

 



-------------------------

 05/19/2013 10:18 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
cliveneo
Grinding Levels

Posts: 126
Joined: 03/09/2008

yea i double and triple checked the seating. as this has been removed about 12 times since i ran into this issue. It all started on the gigabyte board. @ 4.5 1.475 volts stable. load in prime and intel burn were lower than thos pics i posted. one day im chilling, gaming, fo ***** n giggles i alt tabbed out the game nazi zombie army, and temps were 55c to 60c whe they used to be 30. I went through a tube of arctic silver. when i move the TUBES the block or pump does not move at all.



-------------------------

FX 8320 @ 4.9_H100i_Xfire Sapphire HD7970/R9 280x1100/1500_ 8gb G.Skill Ripjaw DDR3_Asus Sabertooth 990FX_120GB Corsair Force SSD_64 GB Samsung SSD_1TB WD Black_150GB WD VelociRaptor_150GB WD Raptor_CM HAFX_XFX Pro 850 Watt PSU_Bluray Drive_Asus 25in 144htz_Sidwinder X6_G9x_Z5300 speakers Rig 2: PII X4 925@3.4_GB990FXA_ Gigabyte 560ti 970/1800_4GB DDR3 Corsair Dominator_150GB WD Raptor_Ultra 550 Watt PSU_acrylic tech station_logitech G15_G500_Samsung 32in

 05/19/2013 10:22 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
cliveneo
Grinding Levels

Posts: 126
Joined: 03/09/2008

Thats all i do man. Is crimp the tubes. BOOM i can literally watch the temps fall in front of my eyes



-------------------------

FX 8320 @ 4.9_H100i_Xfire Sapphire HD7970/R9 280x1100/1500_ 8gb G.Skill Ripjaw DDR3_Asus Sabertooth 990FX_120GB Corsair Force SSD_64 GB Samsung SSD_1TB WD Black_150GB WD VelociRaptor_150GB WD Raptor_CM HAFX_XFX Pro 850 Watt PSU_Bluray Drive_Asus 25in 144htz_Sidwinder X6_G9x_Z5300 speakers Rig 2: PII X4 925@3.4_GB990FXA_ Gigabyte 560ti 970/1800_4GB DDR3 Corsair Dominator_150GB WD Raptor_Ultra 550 Watt PSU_acrylic tech station_logitech G15_G500_Samsung 32in

 05/19/2013 10:25 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
cliveneo
Grinding Levels

Posts: 126
Joined: 03/09/2008

Originally posted by: QB the Slayer If touching it affects temps I would guess it is not seated properly.  You didn't remove the AMD bracket from your motherboard did you?  And if you did in the past and put it back (like I did when I went from the ChillTec to an H80i) are you sure the bracket is fully attached?

 

 

 

QB

 

 

 

  the bracket was not installed on this board, I bought one from asus parts on ebay new. its identical to the one thats suppose to be on there. Yes it is secure and tight. and as far as the gigabyte board, no i never removed the retension clip and temps were worse on that board than the sabertooth

 



-------------------------

FX 8320 @ 4.9_H100i_Xfire Sapphire HD7970/R9 280x1100/1500_ 8gb G.Skill Ripjaw DDR3_Asus Sabertooth 990FX_120GB Corsair Force SSD_64 GB Samsung SSD_1TB WD Black_150GB WD VelociRaptor_150GB WD Raptor_CM HAFX_XFX Pro 850 Watt PSU_Bluray Drive_Asus 25in 144htz_Sidwinder X6_G9x_Z5300 speakers Rig 2: PII X4 925@3.4_GB990FXA_ Gigabyte 560ti 970/1800_4GB DDR3 Corsair Dominator_150GB WD Raptor_Ultra 550 Watt PSU_acrylic tech station_logitech G15_G500_Samsung 32in

AMD Support and Game » AMD Processors (CPU) » FX 8320 OVERHEATING!!!!

1 2 Next Last unread
Topic Tools Topic Tools
Statistics
84141 users are registered to the AMD Support and Game forum.
There are currently 1 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.