Topic Title: Athlon X2 4550e cooling fan issue
Topic Summary: Athlon X2 4550e cooling fan issue
Created On: 07/24/2013 01:09 AM
Status: Post and Reply
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 07/24/2013 01:09 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
banjo buddy
Peon

Posts: 4
Joined: 07/23/2013

I have a low-end stock Compaq Presario desktop running Windows Vista operating system (ugh!). This PC was purchased in maybe 2008 or 2009. Of late, the CPU cooling fan will randomly switch from normal to high speed. When it does the PC hangs/freezes (stops accepting mouse and/or keyboard input at least). Additional system details are as follows:

Compaq Presario Desktop SR5710F

Windows Vista Home Premium (32-bit) SP2 DirectX 10.0

Phoenix Technologies version 5.31 BIOS 512 KB ROM

ECS Iris8 motherboard / nVidia MCP61 chipset

Nvidia GeForce 6150SE NForce 430 video card w/ 120 MB memory

3GB DDR2-SDRAM (PC2-6400/800 MHz) memory

230 GB SCSI Hard Disk

AMD Athlon X2 4550e 2.31 GHz

HP w1907 lcd monitor

I have run diagnostics, antivirus, disk check, etc., etc. to no avail. CoreTemp and HWMonitor software for monitoring CPU core temps suggest that they are not getting very hot. Temps tend to stabilize around 30°C give or take at idle. Other than Google Chrome, AVG 2013 Free Anti-Virus and the temperature sensing programs mentioned above, just about every other piece of software was standard issue that came with the machine. I've been jumping through hoops for an individual that responded to my plea for help on an HP Forum. Supposedly, they work for HP.
The only other piece of information I can share is that the PC power supply did get fried in association with a power outage event maybe 1½ years ago. Luckily, I was able to find an identical replacement power supply and everything has worked just fine up until maybe a month ago.
If the the CPU core temps are not getting all that hot, what else would cause the CPU cooling fan to kick into high speed? Just because the CPU cooling fan switches to high speed, is this a reason for Windows Vista to lock/freeze?
I would greatly appreciate any help and/or advice. Any ideas?


-------------------------

Compaq Presario SR5710F, Vista Home Premium (32) SP2, Phoenix v5.31 BIOS 512KB ROM, ECS Iris8 / nVidia MCP61 chipset, Nvidia GeForce 6150SE NForce 430 video w/ 120 MB, 3GB DDR2-SDRAM (PC2-6400/800 MHz), 230 GB SCSI Hard Disk, AMD Athlon X2 4550e 2.31 GHz, HP w1907 lcd monitor

 07/24/2013 08:53 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
black_zion
80 Column Mind

Posts: 12501
Joined: 04/17/2008

Have you opened the case and actually cleaned it out?

And there's nothing wrong with Vista, it's pretty much the exact same OS as Windows 7 and 8.

-------------------------
ASUS Sabertooth 990FX/Gen3 R2, FX-8350 w/ Corsair H60, 8 GiB G.SKILL RipjawsX DDR3-2133, XFX HD 7970 Ghz, 512GB Vertex 4, 256GB Vector, 240GB Agility 3, Creative X-Fi Titanium w/ Creative Gigaworks S750, SeaSonic X750, HP ZR2440w, Win 7 Ultimate x64
 07/24/2013 05:32 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
banjo buddy
Peon

Posts: 4
Joined: 07/23/2013

black_zion:

Great question. Yes, one of the first things I did was open the case to inspect what was going on inside. This is how I confirmed that it was the CPU cooling fan that was kicking into high speed. There was very little dust build-up inisde the case and I could not see any evidence of build-up around the cpu heat sink.



-------------------------

Compaq Presario SR5710F, Vista Home Premium (32) SP2, Phoenix v5.31 BIOS 512KB ROM, ECS Iris8 / nVidia MCP61 chipset, Nvidia GeForce 6150SE NForce 430 video w/ 120 MB, 3GB DDR2-SDRAM (PC2-6400/800 MHz), 230 GB SCSI Hard Disk, AMD Athlon X2 4550e 2.31 GHz, HP w1907 lcd monitor

 07/24/2013 06:03 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
black_zion
80 Column Mind

Posts: 12501
Joined: 04/17/2008

Could be a faulty thermal sensor or dried up TIM. You could take the chance to do a whole system update to an AMD A10 APU.

-------------------------
ASUS Sabertooth 990FX/Gen3 R2, FX-8350 w/ Corsair H60, 8 GiB G.SKILL RipjawsX DDR3-2133, XFX HD 7970 Ghz, 512GB Vertex 4, 256GB Vector, 240GB Agility 3, Creative X-Fi Titanium w/ Creative Gigaworks S750, SeaSonic X750, HP ZR2440w, Win 7 Ultimate x64
 07/24/2013 07:09 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
banjo buddy
Peon

Posts: 4
Joined: 07/23/2013

black_zion,

Thanks for your feedback. I'm more of a novice when it comes to PC's (note the peon designation). If both temperature monitoring programs are able to detect and report the two core temps, is that not evidence that they are working or is there another temperature sensor to which you refer? Can you expand upon what you mean by dried up TIM? Are you referring to a heat transfer material applied between the CPU and heat sink?



-------------------------

Compaq Presario SR5710F, Vista Home Premium (32) SP2, Phoenix v5.31 BIOS 512KB ROM, ECS Iris8 / nVidia MCP61 chipset, Nvidia GeForce 6150SE NForce 430 video w/ 120 MB, 3GB DDR2-SDRAM (PC2-6400/800 MHz), 230 GB SCSI Hard Disk, AMD Athlon X2 4550e 2.31 GHz, HP w1907 lcd monitor

 07/24/2013 08:19 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
black_zion
80 Column Mind

Posts: 12501
Joined: 04/17/2008

There are the individual core temps and there is a CPU socket temp. Many motherboards go on the CPU socket temp which is often incorrect. As for the TIM, yes the Thermal Interface Material.

-------------------------
ASUS Sabertooth 990FX/Gen3 R2, FX-8350 w/ Corsair H60, 8 GiB G.SKILL RipjawsX DDR3-2133, XFX HD 7970 Ghz, 512GB Vertex 4, 256GB Vector, 240GB Agility 3, Creative X-Fi Titanium w/ Creative Gigaworks S750, SeaSonic X750, HP ZR2440w, Win 7 Ultimate x64
 07/26/2013 12:56 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
banjo buddy
Peon

Posts: 4
Joined: 07/23/2013

So does anyone know exactly how an AMD Athlon X2 4550e cpu cooling fan is triggered to increase its speed? Is this an over-heating protection circuit built into the cpu or is it built into the motherboard?



-------------------------

Compaq Presario SR5710F, Vista Home Premium (32) SP2, Phoenix v5.31 BIOS 512KB ROM, ECS Iris8 / nVidia MCP61 chipset, Nvidia GeForce 6150SE NForce 430 video w/ 120 MB, 3GB DDR2-SDRAM (PC2-6400/800 MHz), 230 GB SCSI Hard Disk, AMD Athlon X2 4550e 2.31 GHz, HP w1907 lcd monitor

 07/26/2013 11:05 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Slayerx
Button Masher

Posts: 280
Joined: 09/16/2012

The fan is controled by the motherboard and I don't think its a overheating issue. Going by your first post it looks like your cpu is getting overloaded wich will couse your system to lock up for a second or two and couse the fan to it full speed.

Vista was a ram hog from what I remember and would use up 3Gb in a heartbeat if you let it. Check to see what all you have running in the background and try to stream line it by turnning off the gadets (if your using any) and anything else in the background thats not needed.

 



-------------------------

FX 8320// Asus Sabertooth R2.0 // HIS R9 280x //8Gb of 1866Mhz ram, H50 cooling, HX850W psu all stuffed into a NZXT Phantom case.


Was a member of AMD Processer forum since 2008. Last post count 1818.

Statistics
85510 users are registered to the AMD Support and Game forum.
There are currently 1 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.