Topic Title: Horrid FX-8350 Performance in Games
Topic Summary:
Created On: 08/02/2013 05:37 PM
Status: Post and Reply
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 08/02/2013 05:37 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
CapnSniffies
Peon

Posts: 4
Joined: 01/27/2012

Ok, so I bought a new FX-8350 from Newegg during a sale a couple of months ago in preparation for a major computer upgrade from an old Phenom II x4 970 BE and 2x Radeon HD 6970s in CF to a new build with the new processor and 1x MSI GeForce 780 Twin Frozr. And since installing the new upgrades, my performance in games has tanked considerably.

Initially I assumed it was the card, but I put one of my old 6970s back in and fired up the Witcher 2 (the main game I've been using for benchmarks ATM) and my performance is almost the same. I also replaced my faulty MSI motherboard after testing this and nothing has changed.

For those who have played it, on my old rig I got about 40 - 50 fps on the intro with Geralt running through the forest on max settings minus Ubersampling. Upon firing up the game on the same settings since the upgrade, I'm getting anywhere from 11 to 20 fps during this sequence. After this sequence my fps shoots up to around 50 -60, but that's much lower then I've seen on other rigs during this part of the game.

I've monitored my temps and clock speed while playing, and both seem perfectly fine (I'm getting max 30 C on stock speeds with my cooler). I OC'd my CPU to 4.5 ghz and it's tested stable, but the FPS didn't seem to be affected in the slightest.

Performance in other games (Bioshock Infinite, Tomb Raider, etc.) has seen a noticable drop in FPS as well, but its currently most obvious in the Witcher.

Any ideas on any tests I should perform or anything else I can try?

Full system specs:

NZXT Phantom Full Tower Case
1100 watt ABS Majesty PSU
ASUS Crosshair V Formula Z ROG Motherboard
MSI GeForce 780 Twin Frozr Gaming Edition Graphics Card
AMD FX-8350 8 core 4.0 ghz CPU
8 GB (2x4gb) G.SKILL Ripjaws DDR3 1600 RAM
Crucial 128GB SATA III SSD
2TB Caviar Black 5400rpm HDD

 08/03/2013 05:12 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
RQuallsJR
Nerfed

Posts: 55
Joined: 05/19/2012

Did you clean out your old drivers for your 6970 before installing the drivers for your 780? Any time I add new hardware I all ways do a clean install of windows. Also make sure you are up to date with .net framework.



-------------------------

Gigabyte MA790FXT-UD5P
AMD Phnome 2x4 955 Black 3.6GHz (O.C)
G.Skill 16Gig (4x4Gig)DDR3 1333 Dual ch.F3-10666CL7Q RIPJAWS-X
Asus 7770 2GIG 128Bit DDR5
CORSAIR 850tx 850Watt Power Supply
Cooler Master HAF932 ATX Case
Cooler Master V8 CPU cooler
Samsung DVD Burner Sata W/DL/lightscribe
Pioneer DVD burner USB W/DL/Lightscribe
2-WD 250 Gig HD
1-Hitachi 1 TETRABYTE HD
Windows 7 Home Premium 64Bit

 08/03/2013 06:44 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
CapnSniffies
Peon

Posts: 4
Joined: 01/27/2012

Yes, I completely removed the old AMD drivers. Like I said though, I was getting similar performance on that card anyway.

I stuck in an old hard drive and did a clean install of Windows 7 on it to make sure it wasn't some driver issue. Same problem.

My .net framework is up to date.

 08/08/2013 06:05 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
NarooN
Peon

Posts: 8
Joined: 05/30/2013

Try to run some benchmarks or other games and compare the results. It's possible that you're just unlucky and have gotten a bad chip. Might have to RMA it.

It's also possible that there's some messed up settings in your BIOS. Check in there to see what's up. The CPU might also be getting throttled. Run the game in windowed mode and have CPU-Z or CoreTemp next to the window so you can monitor CPU utilization. It's possible that Cool n Quiet is enabled, and for some reason the clocks are probably bouncing around when they shouldn't be.

Also ensure that you have an up-to-date BIOS version.

 08/08/2013 09:19 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
black_zion
80 Column Mind

Posts: 12341
Joined: 04/17/2008

For reference, with everything set to its highest and Ubersampling enabled at 1920x1200 I get between 24-30 FPS in the same scene.

-------------------------
ASUS Sabertooth 990FX/Gen3 R2, FX-8350 w/ Corsair H60, 8 GiB G.SKILL RipjawsX DDR3-2133, XFX HD 7970 Ghz, 512GB Vertex 4, 256GB Vector, 240GB Agility 3, Creative X-Fi Titanium w/ Creative Gigaworks S750, SeaSonic X750, HP ZR2440w, Win 7 Ultimate x64
 08/08/2013 01:08 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
CapnSniffies
Peon

Posts: 4
Joined: 01/27/2012

Did some more testing by moving the games to the SSD from the HDD. No real improvement to FPS so I can pretty much rule out everything but the CPU so far (did a MemTest on RAM, and it seemed fine. IN CPU-Z everything with memory appears to be in order).

I reinstalled the old Phenom II x4 970 BE and reset the BIOS to optimized defaults (which for my mobo keeps Cool n' Queit off). At worst, the FPS was the same in the games I tested. At best, it was ~10 FPS higher in the same sequences. I put the new FX back in and left the BIOS settings to optimized defaults, and the performance was the same as before.

I watched CPU-Z and the windoes built-in resource monitor. closely during this sequence in the Witcher 2 when I had the FX in. Only about 4 of the cores were really being used (expected, as games don't typically utilize more than 4). I was getting a total CPU utilization of about 16% to 30% while playing. The clock speed remained where it should, but I noticed windows constantly put some of the cores the game was using into a "parked" state, then removing it at other times. Could this be a souce of the problem?

 08/08/2013 03:22 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
black_zion
80 Column Mind

Posts: 12341
Joined: 04/17/2008

Possibly, there are a couple of scheduler hotfixes for Windows 7 on the Microsoft website, some have reported it improves things, others say there is no real benefit.

-------------------------
ASUS Sabertooth 990FX/Gen3 R2, FX-8350 w/ Corsair H60, 8 GiB G.SKILL RipjawsX DDR3-2133, XFX HD 7970 Ghz, 512GB Vertex 4, 256GB Vector, 240GB Agility 3, Creative X-Fi Titanium w/ Creative Gigaworks S750, SeaSonic X750, HP ZR2440w, Win 7 Ultimate x64
 08/08/2013 03:38 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
neo5555
Case Modder

Posts: 935
Joined: 08/13/2008

BZ is right...  install these 2 hotfixes from microsoft..

KB2645594

KB2646060

 

See how you go



-------------------------

Pics of my rig
i7 4770k, custom water cooling, 8Gig Corsair Dom 2133 9-11-10-27, ASrock Z87 OC Formula, SilverStone ST-1500 PSU, Creative X-Fi Platinum, Logitech Z-5500D , 2xHIS 7970 CF, Asus VW246H Monitor, Win 7 64Bit HP, Corsair 800D Case

 08/08/2013 10:53 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Max9R
Grinding Levels

Posts: 158
Joined: 09/10/2007

I'm very interested in the post patch results, I've been considering an FX-8350 for my AMD rig. 



-------------------------

W7 Ultimate x64: Corsair 800D, AX1200
EX58A-UD5, i7 970 @ 4.5Ghz
16GB RipJaws @ 1600
3x XFX BE 7970 Tri-Fire @ 1200/1600
OCZ V3 120GB + WD 2TB Black
Creative X-Fi Titanium
Dell U3011 + WFP2407
Koolance 370 & EK GPU Water Blocks

 08/08/2013 11:23 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
CapnSniffies
Peon

Posts: 4
Joined: 01/27/2012

Originally posted by: neo5555 BZ is right...  install these 2 hotfixes from microsoft..

 

KB2645594

 

KB2646060

 

 

 

See how you go

 

Appreciate the links. The hotfix did get rid of the core parking but to no effect. Can't tell the other one really did anything.

Comparing to BZ's benchmarks, I'm getting a lower FPS on a lower resolution with Ubersampling off during this sequence still, with a supposedly superior GPU. Performance problems vary by game, but this one still seems to be the most dramatically off compared to other benchmarks.

Did you OC your processor any black_zion, and to what clock speed? Just curious.

If no other solutions appear, I guess I'll RMA it. Would hate to get another one though and have the same problem for some other reason I'm missing. =\

 08/09/2013 10:45 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
black_zion
80 Column Mind

Posts: 12341
Joined: 04/17/2008

Because it is summer I run this 8350 at 4.3ghz, and my HD 7970 is set at 1125/1500 core/memory. Once the weather turns cooler and my ambient temp isn't 80°F then I'll get to seeing how far both can go.

-------------------------
ASUS Sabertooth 990FX/Gen3 R2, FX-8350 w/ Corsair H60, 8 GiB G.SKILL RipjawsX DDR3-2133, XFX HD 7970 Ghz, 512GB Vertex 4, 256GB Vector, 240GB Agility 3, Creative X-Fi Titanium w/ Creative Gigaworks S750, SeaSonic X750, HP ZR2440w, Win 7 Ultimate x64
 08/09/2013 09:03 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Max9R
Grinding Levels

Posts: 158
Joined: 09/10/2007

Hmm... based on BZ's results... and taking into consideration your comments about your 6970 performing around the same level as you 780, seems to me the issue is likely with the 780 side of things no?

Although your old CPU did improve it a bit... strange one. 

Edit: if I get a chance I'll try it with mine tonight on a single card and clock my CPU down to stock to balance it out.



-------------------------

W7 Ultimate x64: Corsair 800D, AX1200
EX58A-UD5, i7 970 @ 4.5Ghz
16GB RipJaws @ 1600
3x XFX BE 7970 Tri-Fire @ 1200/1600
OCZ V3 120GB + WD 2TB Black
Creative X-Fi Titanium
Dell U3011 + WFP2407
Koolance 370 & EK GPU Water Blocks



Edited: 08/09/2013 at 09:10 PM by Max9R
Statistics
84733 users are registered to the AMD Support and Game forum.
There are currently 2 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.