Topic Title: I am Trying to Make new Desktop pc with AMD FX-6300 Processer
Topic Summary: I need help for selecting other product for this processer
Created On: 08/08/2013 07:06 AM
Status: Post and Reply
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 08/08/2013 07:06 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
rajeevvishva
Peon

Posts: 1
Joined: 08/08/2013

hi

i am totaly new for AMD. i have selected "AMD 4.4 GHz AM3+ FX 6-Core Edition FX-6300 (FD6300WMHKBOX) Processor"

 

for making my pc... i need help for select motherboard + graphics card

 

please check mother board it will support with my selected Processor?

http://www.flipkart.com/asus-m5a78l-m-u3-motherboard/p/itmdk2kczuzq4wzz?pid=MBDDK2KAUZGDTYVY&icmpid=reco_pp_recoBundle_computer_tab1_2

 

Please check graphics card it will support with my selected Processor?

 

http://www.flipkart.com/gainward-nvidia-2gb-ddr3-gt610-2-gb-graphics-card/p/itmddsy9r9gsjfzb?pid=GRCDDRZZCYGK7HZF&ref=08839002-88e1-4a47-bce2-06870f71dede

or

http://www.flipkart.com/gainward-nvidia-1gb-ddr3-gf210-1-gb-graphics-card/p/itmddsy9magngumf?pid=GRCDDRZZ6HUCHMZZ&ref=08839002-88e1-4a47-bce2-06870f71dede

 

I AM ALSO LOOKING FOR ANY TRICK TO SELECT PRODUCTS FOR THIS PROCESSER

 

LOOKING FOR FAST REPLAYS ANY HELP WILL REALY HELPFULL FOR ME...

 

THANK YOU..

 08/09/2013 04:52 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
George@AMD
Nerfed

Posts: 52
Joined: 09/10/2012

It is really up to you on which features you want with your motherboard. The best way to find out if its compatible is to decide on a motherboard you like that fits the same socket type as the processor then check the manufactures website of the motherboard to see if there CPU support list has the processor you want selected.

Here is the link to the CPU support list for your motherboard

http://www.asus.com/Motherboards/M5A78LMUSB3/#support_CPU

And yes the CPU is supported on this motherboard.

In choosing a video card you need to decide what you are going to do with the system. Are you planning to play games or just surf the internet and type up documents. This will determine which tier of cards you will need. The next step is to ensure that you have the correct interface. So your motherboard uses PCIE X16. You need to ensure the video card you are getting is PCIE X16.

Hopefully this helps you out. Also another key factor with your video card is to ensure you have the right amount of wattage to power your system.

 



-------------------------

AMD Customer Care
The information presented in this document is for informational purposes only and may contain technical inaccuracies, omissions and typographical errors. Links to third party sites are for convenience only, and no endorsement is implied

 09/01/2013 08:04 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
goelji
Peon

Posts: 2
Joined: 09/01/2013

Hi,

I bought "FX-6300 Processor" last week and for the same I also selected the same mobo:

http://www.flipkart.com/asus-m5a78l-m-u3-motherboard/p/itmdk2kczuzq4wzz

Confusion:

computer vendors have suggested me not to buy this but a 970 series mobo. They say that on 760G chipset only 4 cores are compatible and the processor performance will be just 70%. now am confused.

Requirement:

As a developer. I use win 7 ultimate, single 19' LCD, firefox 15 tabs, chrome 15 tabs, filezilla, livezilla client, notepad++, VirtualBox VM for win xp.

and 'I never play games'.

Request:

Please advice if this mobo can use FX-6300's 6 cores fully?

 

An early reply will be very kind and helpfull.

 

Thanking you with regards,

 09/01/2013 09:22 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Slayerx
Button Masher

Posts: 295
Joined: 09/16/2012

Yes that mobo can use the FX-6300 6 core fully and I think your vendor is full of it, I've never heard of a chipset effecting a processors performance that much before. Now if you were a gamer and was into overclocking than I would sugest something with the 990fx chipset but for what your going to use it for that board will do just fine.



-------------------------

FX 8320// Asus Sabertooth R2.0 // HIS R9 280x //8Gb of 1866Mhz ram, H50 cooling, HX850W psu all stuffed into a NZXT Phantom case.


Was a member of AMD Processer forum since 2008. Last post count 1818.

 09/01/2013 09:47 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Netrick
Peon

Posts: 10
Joined: 08/28/2012

I don't have a FX-6300, but I just built a new PC for a friend with that board and can verify it runs my old 1100T all six cores just fine.

-------------------------

Intel i7- 3770 CPU / Intel DZ77GA-70K Motherboard / MSI R6950 Twin Frozr III GPU / Corsair HX850W PSU / Windows 7 Pro 64-bit, Windows 8 Pro 64-bit, Ubuntu 64-bit

 09/01/2013 10:11 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
goelji
Peon

Posts: 2
Joined: 09/01/2013

Originally posted by: Slayerx vendor is full of it

thanks a lot Slayerx for conferming about both: mobo & my vendors.

Netrick thanks to you too dear.

I placed the order for ASUS M5A78L-M/USB3 with full confidence.

thanks again.

 09/01/2013 10:22 AM
User is online View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
black_zion
80 Column Mind

Posts: 13079
Joined: 04/17/2008

I would not ever recommend going with the cheapest motherboards out there unless you were going for a very low power, quiet setup such as an HTPC. Think about it this way, reputable 970 based boards from Gigabyte and ASUS go for $80-$90. Boards from the same manufacturers based on the 990FX chipset, such as the GIGABYTE GA-990FXA are only $115.

-------------------------
AMD FX-8350 w/ Corsair H105, ASUS Sabertooth 990FX Gen3/R2, 8GiB G.SKILL DDR3-2133, XFX HD 7970, 512GB Vertex 4, 256GB Vector, 240GB Agility 3, Creative X-Fi Titanium w/ Creative Gigaworks S750, SeaSonic X750, Corsair C70, HP ZR2440w, Win 7 Ultimate x64
 09/01/2013 10:48 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Netrick
Peon

Posts: 10
Joined: 08/28/2012

Originally posted by: black_zion I would not ever recommend going with the cheapest motherboards out there unless you were going for a very low power, quiet setup such as an HTPC. Think about it this way, reputable 970 based boards from Gigabyte and ASUS go for $80-$90. Boards from the same manufacturers based on the 990FX chipset, such as the GIGABYTE GA-990FXA are only $115.

I understand your point. In my choice though, I needed the uATX form factor for the case we were going to use, compatible with AM3 CPU, onboard video, and HDMI. This computer is not going to be a gaming rig and this board seemed like a very nice choice. So far it has not been a disappointment though I admit it is still new yet. Oh, and the price was only $52.99  after MIR.

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16813131942



-------------------------

Intel i7- 3770 CPU / Intel DZ77GA-70K Motherboard / MSI R6950 Twin Frozr III GPU / Corsair HX850W PSU / Windows 7 Pro 64-bit, Windows 8 Pro 64-bit, Ubuntu 64-bit



Edited: 09/01/2013 at 11:09 AM by Netrick
Statistics
88953 users are registered to the AMD Support and Game forum.
There are currently 3 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.