Topic Title: FX-8350 Vishera Black Edition problem
Topic Summary: No video
Created On: 08/22/2013 06:43 PM
Status: Post and Reply
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 08/22/2013 06:43 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
voidpaw
Peon

Posts: 3
Joined: 08/22/2013

I installed my 8350 everything else works perfectly. That means EVERYTHING else. Even CPU fan, PSU fan... Everything. But no video displays. I put my old Athlon II 450 X3 in there and video, everything boots up fine. My PSU is 450W, it can handle the Vishera. I'm using the stock Vishera fan. Anyone know what's wrong?

 08/22/2013 06:59 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
QB the Slayer
Button Masher

Posts: 268
Joined: 11/27/2012

You will need to supply far more detail...  this post will not get you any help

 

QB



-------------------------

The MONSTER HTPC:


CPU: AMD FX-8350.||.Cooler: Corsair H80i
MB: Gigabyte 990FXA-UD7.||.RAM: 8 GB Mushkin Blackline DDR3 2000MHz (7-10-8-27-1T)
Case: CoolerMaster HAF 932.||.PSU: Corsair HX750
GPU:Asus R9 270X DirectCU II TOP.||.Audio: Creative X-Fi Titanium Fatal1ty Pro w/ Logitech Z-5300e (5.1, 280W-RMS)
System Drive: 2xSamsung 840 Pro 128GB RAID0.||.Working Drive: 2xMushkin Chronos 60GB RAID0

 08/22/2013 07:08 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
voidpaw
Peon

Posts: 3
Joined: 08/22/2013

Motherboard: Biostar A880GZ

RAM: Centon 2x4GB 1600MhZ

HD: Edge Boost Pro 120GB SSD

Some generic cd/dvd-rw drive

GFX: MSI Radeon HD 7770 GhZ Edition

Case: Thermaltake V2 (mid tower ATX)

Is that enough info? It may be my motherboard that's causing the problem. Though no reviews state any problems with any compatible AMD chip, and my Athlon II works fine with it. Please state what kind of info you need as well. I can't sit here and take stabs in the dark.

 

Edit: I've already tried using integrated graphics, no RAM, etc. I even stripped my PC down to just the motherboard, processor, and monitor. No video with the Vishera.

 08/22/2013 07:54 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
QB the Slayer
Button Masher

Posts: 268
Joined: 11/27/2012

Do you have the latest BIOS?

 

QB



-------------------------

The MONSTER HTPC:


CPU: AMD FX-8350.||.Cooler: Corsair H80i
MB: Gigabyte 990FXA-UD7.||.RAM: 8 GB Mushkin Blackline DDR3 2000MHz (7-10-8-27-1T)
Case: CoolerMaster HAF 932.||.PSU: Corsair HX750
GPU:Asus R9 270X DirectCU II TOP.||.Audio: Creative X-Fi Titanium Fatal1ty Pro w/ Logitech Z-5300e (5.1, 280W-RMS)
System Drive: 2xSamsung 840 Pro 128GB RAID0.||.Working Drive: 2xMushkin Chronos 60GB RAID0

 08/22/2013 07:56 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
voidpaw
Peon

Posts: 3
Joined: 08/22/2013

Yes, I do have the latest revision of my motherboard's BIOS.

 08/22/2013 08:22 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
QB the Slayer
Button Masher

Posts: 268
Joined: 11/27/2012

Now... that 450W PSU....  is it a piece of junk?  450 seems extremely low

 

QB



-------------------------

The MONSTER HTPC:


CPU: AMD FX-8350.||.Cooler: Corsair H80i
MB: Gigabyte 990FXA-UD7.||.RAM: 8 GB Mushkin Blackline DDR3 2000MHz (7-10-8-27-1T)
Case: CoolerMaster HAF 932.||.PSU: Corsair HX750
GPU:Asus R9 270X DirectCU II TOP.||.Audio: Creative X-Fi Titanium Fatal1ty Pro w/ Logitech Z-5300e (5.1, 280W-RMS)
System Drive: 2xSamsung 840 Pro 128GB RAID0.||.Working Drive: 2xMushkin Chronos 60GB RAID0

 08/23/2013 09:07 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Mark@AMD
Peon

Posts: 27
Joined: 01/16/2013

It sounds to me you got a DOA chip (Dead on arrival).

Based on the specifications, the board is compatible with the FX-8350.

Link to the CPU support list for the Biostar Board:

http://www.biostar.com.tw/app/en/mb/introduction.php?S_ID=555#cpu

 



-------------------------



AMD Customer Care



The information presented in this do*****ent is for informational purposes only and may contain technical inaccuracies, omissions and typographical errors. Links to third party sites are for convenience only, and no endorsement is implied

 09/08/2013 05:15 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
AMDforMe
Farming Materials

Posts: 533
Joined: 09/08/2013

A 450w PSU isn't even remotely close to powering an FX-8350 under load. It may or may not be sufficient to even boot an 8-core FX-8350 CPU with the Radeon 7770 GPU and other bits that you have. I doubt the issue is the CPU or mobo, but much more likely the PSU is just insufficient. You should have at least a good 600w+ PSU for a FX-8350 with the AMD 7770 GPU.



-------------------------

Building a reliable PC involves more than just assembling the parts. You need to be able to configure all of the BIOS settings appropriately. This can be quite involved and frustrating as it can require a lot of trial and error with stress testing. It is however often the only means to get a 100% reliable PC.

 09/14/2013 09:31 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Vegan
Case Modder

Posts: 989
Joined: 01/31/2010

I agree, I strongly recommend a PSU with at least 40A of 12V capacity so a new 600++W PSU will do you rig wonders

I use Corsair and I have been very happy, rock solid so far.

 



-------------------------

Statistics
81004 users are registered to the AMD Support and Game forum.
There are currently 0 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.