Topic Title: hello!I have a problem!
Topic Summary:
Created On: 10/10/2013 10:04 AM
Status: Post and Reply
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 10/10/2013 10:04 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
neoangelo
Peon

Posts: 1
Joined: 10/10/2013

Why is Phenom II X4 920 named "AMD Phenom(tm) Ultra X4 22000" in CPU-Z?

 

 

 10/10/2013 02:40 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
black_zion
80 Column Mind

Posts: 12552
Joined: 04/17/2008

Why does it matter?

-------------------------
ASUS Sabertooth 990FX/Gen3 R2, FX-8350 w/ Corsair H60, 8 GiB G.SKILL RipjawsX DDR3-2133, XFX HD 7970 Ghz, 512GB Vertex 4, 256GB Vector, 240GB Agility 3, Creative X-Fi Titanium w/ Creative Gigaworks S750, SeaSonic X750, HP ZR2440w, Win 7 Ultimate x64
 10/10/2013 02:42 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
AMDforMe
Overclocker

Posts: 621
Joined: 09/08/2013

Because some software does not properly identify all models of processors.



-------------------------

Building a reliable PC involves more than just assembling the parts. You need to be able to configure all of the BIOS settings appropriately. This can be quite involved and frustrating as it can require a lot of trial and error with stress testing. It is however often the only means to get a 100% reliable PC.

 10/10/2013 05:43 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
black_zion
80 Column Mind

Posts: 12552
Joined: 04/17/2008

So you are saying that there is/are some software program/programs which are refusing to run properly because they detect a Phenom II x4 920 as a Phenom Ultra X4 22000? Which programs are these?

-------------------------
ASUS Sabertooth 990FX/Gen3 R2, FX-8350 w/ Corsair H60, 8 GiB G.SKILL RipjawsX DDR3-2133, XFX HD 7970 Ghz, 512GB Vertex 4, 256GB Vector, 240GB Agility 3, Creative X-Fi Titanium w/ Creative Gigaworks S750, SeaSonic X750, HP ZR2440w, Win 7 Ultimate x64
 10/11/2013 12:24 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
MisterEd
Nerfed

Posts: 60
Joined: 10/10/2012

Originally posted by: neoangelo Why is Phenom II X4 920 named "AMD Phenom(tm) Ultra X4 22000" in CPU-Z?   

Are you using the latest version of CPU-Z? If so contact the developer for
CPU-Z. He might fix this in the next update. I did this one time when
CPU-Z misidentified one of my CPUs.



-------------------------

Gigabyte GA-990FXA-UD3 | AMD FX-8350 | Corsair H60 Cooler | GSkill RipjawsX (2x4GB) | ASUS GeForce GTX 560 | WD Caviar Blue 1TB | Seagate 750GB | ASUS 24X DVD/RW| Windows 7 Ultimate 64-bit
ASUS M4N82 Deluxe | AMD Phenom II X4 960T | Corsair XMS2(2x2GB) | PNY GeForce GTS 250 (1GB) | Seagate 300GB | Maxtor 200GB/250GB | Memorex 20X DVD/RW | Windows 7 Home Premium 32-bit

 10/11/2013 04:06 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
AMDforMe
Overclocker

Posts: 621
Joined: 09/08/2013

The software makers upgrade errors when they are advised of the issue. The OP didn't say that any software programs refuse to run properly because the CPU is mis-identified.



-------------------------

Building a reliable PC involves more than just assembling the parts. You need to be able to configure all of the BIOS settings appropriately. This can be quite involved and frustrating as it can require a lot of trial and error with stress testing. It is however often the only means to get a 100% reliable PC.

 10/11/2013 12:37 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
black_zion
80 Column Mind

Posts: 12552
Joined: 04/17/2008

So if CPU-z is misidentifying his processor, then why doesn't he email them with a screenshot of the error? It is a third party program after all.

-------------------------
ASUS Sabertooth 990FX/Gen3 R2, FX-8350 w/ Corsair H60, 8 GiB G.SKILL RipjawsX DDR3-2133, XFX HD 7970 Ghz, 512GB Vertex 4, 256GB Vector, 240GB Agility 3, Creative X-Fi Titanium w/ Creative Gigaworks S750, SeaSonic X750, HP ZR2440w, Win 7 Ultimate x64
 10/11/2013 03:44 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
AMDforMe
Overclocker

Posts: 621
Joined: 09/08/2013

You seem to be missing the point. The OP was asking WHY the software he is using mis-identifies his CPU. NOW that he has more information that some software does in fact mis-identify CPUs,  he is likely to share his experience with the software maker who is likely to fix the issue.



-------------------------

Building a reliable PC involves more than just assembling the parts. You need to be able to configure all of the BIOS settings appropriately. This can be quite involved and frustrating as it can require a lot of trial and error with stress testing. It is however often the only means to get a 100% reliable PC.

Statistics
85768 users are registered to the AMD Support and Game forum.
There are currently 3 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.