Topic Title: Opinions on possible dud processor PENOM II 970
Topic Summary: Long question, but confused about this cpu
Created On: 10/11/2013 04:04 AM
Status: Post and Reply
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 10/11/2013 04:04 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
slandsiedel
Peon

Posts: 6
Joined: 10/11/2013

So I've had this 970 for quite a while, and I just don't know if the cpu is bad or not. I do get blue screens of death on occasion, and have since I purchased. Although at stock speeds they are very few and far between. When I try to over clock however, even 100 MHz it crashes. Idle temps never go below 40 degrees celcius. And under load it can reach upwards of 70C. I have had the cpu get so warm the entire machine shuts down, though that has not happened since I upgraded to an h60. When I run passmark for an extended amount of time no matter what, even under clocking with regular voltage, the fourth core will eventually fail. The issue is I've had the cpu for almost two years, (2011 black friday to be exact) and it seems to work, just not as expected. As with the bf4 beta, I can not get more than 40 fps. Even on complete low settings. the cpu is never below 90% usage while my 7870 is at 50%. And my ram is never above 4 gigs out of the 8 usable. So with these high temps it wont crash, but am I getting the proper performace I should? or has the cpu been a dud, and I've held on to it way too long. And finally, how the heck do you contact amd to get an rma, due to their site being "unavailable"? Sorry for the insanely long post. Just would like to have some real feedback on it.

 10/11/2013 04:20 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
AMDforMe
Overclocker

Posts: 610
Joined: 09/08/2013

The PII 970 is basically an OC'd PII CPU and thus it draws a lot of power compared to the lower frequency versions of the PII CPUs.

An idle temp of 40C would not surprise me at all on the 970. My 965 with an Enzotech Ultra-X would idle around 34C and run ~55C under P95 stress testing. Your 970 sounds perfectly normal IME. It's worth noting that most PC enthusiasts have discovered that the PII series CPUs prefer a full load temp <55C in actual usage to prevent errors/BSOD, etc. Some folks are able to run a higher CPU temp without issue, but those CPUs seem to be the exception, not the rule.

FYI, the H60 and similar CLCs are poor coolers and not as good as the better tower design HSFs, which never leak water that can damage your PC hardware... There are plenty of cooler tests to confirm the Corsair and similar CLCs are poor coolers but the link below has a good database of HSFs and some H2O coolers for comparison. People often assume that a H2O cooler is better than a HSF, when this is often NOT the case.

http://www.frostytech.com/articleview.cfm?articleid=2727&page=4

The 7870 is far more capable than the PII 970, though the 970 is a decent CPU in it's day. The RAM usage varies depending on many factors including the O/S you are using.

It does not sound like there is any operational issues with your 970 from what I can see.



-------------------------

Building a reliable PC involves more than just assembling the parts. You need to be able to configure all of the BIOS settings appropriately. This can be quite involved and frustrating as it can require a lot of trial and error with stress testing. It is however often the only means to get a 100% reliable PC.

 10/11/2013 12:38 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
black_zion
80 Column Mind

Posts: 12462
Joined: 04/17/2008

Without knowing the rest of your system specs as outlined in the sticky, we cannot do more than guess.

-------------------------
ASUS Sabertooth 990FX/Gen3 R2, FX-8350 w/ Corsair H60, 8 GiB G.SKILL RipjawsX DDR3-2133, XFX HD 7970 Ghz, 512GB Vertex 4, 256GB Vector, 240GB Agility 3, Creative X-Fi Titanium w/ Creative Gigaworks S750, SeaSonic X750, HP ZR2440w, Win 7 Ultimate x64
 10/11/2013 07:38 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
slandsiedel
Peon

Posts: 6
Joined: 10/11/2013

Full system specs:

Case:

Thermaltake dokker 

Mobo:

Asus M5A970 stock rev 1

Psu:

Corsair cx 750

Ram:

Corsair vengance blue 1600 MHz

Cpu:

AMD PENOM II X4 970

Cooler:

Corsair H60

Gpu:

Saphire Radeon HD 7870 GHz Edition

HDD: 

Segate baracuda 7200 RPM 500 GB

OS:

Windows 8 Pro

I'm also running an old asus nic cause the realtek lan died like so many have on the motherboard. That's everything in the case.

 10/12/2013 03:33 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
AMDforMe
Overclocker

Posts: 610
Joined: 09/08/2013

As I indicated above, you're 970 seems quite normal and similar to my 965 and like most other 965 PIIs that I have compared mine to. The 7870 is at least three generations newer than your CPU. Some games are well written for multi-core CPUs and others are not. FPS can vary wildly from game to game or benchmark to benchmark as a result.

Unfortunately AMD has been slow to upgrade their desktop CPUs. The Vishera FX-8320/8350 are a nice performance boost over the 970. I'm sure there are some online databases that will show you a comparison of FPS in various games with the 970/7870 and FX-8350/7870 combination. That might give you an idea how your specific hardware compares.



-------------------------

Building a reliable PC involves more than just assembling the parts. You need to be able to configure all of the BIOS settings appropriately. This can be quite involved and frustrating as it can require a lot of trial and error with stress testing. It is however often the only means to get a 100% reliable PC.

 10/12/2013 11:10 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
black_zion
80 Column Mind

Posts: 12462
Joined: 04/17/2008

What is the error code given with the BSOD?

-------------------------
ASUS Sabertooth 990FX/Gen3 R2, FX-8350 w/ Corsair H60, 8 GiB G.SKILL RipjawsX DDR3-2133, XFX HD 7970 Ghz, 512GB Vertex 4, 256GB Vector, 240GB Agility 3, Creative X-Fi Titanium w/ Creative Gigaworks S750, SeaSonic X750, HP ZR2440w, Win 7 Ultimate x64
 10/12/2013 12:07 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
slandsiedel
Peon

Posts: 6
Joined: 10/11/2013

DPC_WATCHDOG_VIOLATION is the BSOD error. 

 10/13/2013 02:41 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Mime
Forum Moderator

Posts: 578
Joined: 08/28/2012

Usually CPUs are either completely fine or completely dead.  A lot of punishment while overclocking can sometimes make them act half dead, but to get one from the factory which acts that way is rare.

That blue screen code looks like just another code that points to drivers in some unspecified manner...  Windows has a lot of those.



-------------------------

Do not meddle in the affairs of archers, for they are subtle and quick to anger.
Post Count: +8510
Troll Hunter

The opinions expressed above do not represent those of Advanced Micro Devices or any of their affiliates.

 10/13/2013 03:24 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
AMDforMe
Overclocker

Posts: 610
Joined: 09/08/2013

Unfortunately Window's error messages can be completely misleading so I wouldn't put much faith in them.



-------------------------

Building a reliable PC involves more than just assembling the parts. You need to be able to configure all of the BIOS settings appropriately. This can be quite involved and frustrating as it can require a lot of trial and error with stress testing. It is however often the only means to get a 100% reliable PC.

 10/14/2013 03:52 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
slandsiedel
Peon

Posts: 6
Joined: 10/11/2013

I completely understand that, I just don't get why on passmark the 4th core constantly fails if I leave it running for a long amount of time. Shouldn't that warrent some concern? And I am also stumped as to how on earth someone could run BF4 with a dual core if I get 20 fps on the large map....

 10/14/2013 08:57 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
black_zion
80 Column Mind

Posts: 12462
Joined: 04/17/2008

Many programs, especially games, do not really use more than two cores or, if they do, they are not very efficient about it. That may change with the XBone and PS4 being AMD x86 based with 8 slow cores, but depending on the graphics settings you use you can easily run into a GPU limited situation instead of a CPU one (high res, high details, high AA).

-------------------------
ASUS Sabertooth 990FX/Gen3 R2, FX-8350 w/ Corsair H60, 8 GiB G.SKILL RipjawsX DDR3-2133, XFX HD 7970 Ghz, 512GB Vertex 4, 256GB Vector, 240GB Agility 3, Creative X-Fi Titanium w/ Creative Gigaworks S750, SeaSonic X750, HP ZR2440w, Win 7 Ultimate x64
 10/14/2013 09:48 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
black_zion
80 Column Mind

Posts: 12462
Joined: 04/17/2008



-------------------------
ASUS Sabertooth 990FX/Gen3 R2, FX-8350 w/ Corsair H60, 8 GiB G.SKILL RipjawsX DDR3-2133, XFX HD 7970 Ghz, 512GB Vertex 4, 256GB Vector, 240GB Agility 3, Creative X-Fi Titanium w/ Creative Gigaworks S750, SeaSonic X750, HP ZR2440w, Win 7 Ultimate x64
 10/15/2013 01:29 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
slandsiedel
Peon

Posts: 6
Joined: 10/11/2013

Saldy I'm gettign about half th eperformance of that 4170. My 7870 just sits at 50% max on bf4. It won't go higher in usage. Where as my 970 sits at above 90% at all times.

 10/15/2013 04:04 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
AMDforMe
Overclocker

Posts: 610
Joined: 09/08/2013

Unfortunately we sometimes see big differences in usage percentage readouts and actual performance based on GPU driver versions even at the same settings. The latest drivers do not always work best for all games/applications. Some folks have better luck with older drivers for specific applications.



-------------------------

Building a reliable PC involves more than just assembling the parts. You need to be able to configure all of the BIOS settings appropriately. This can be quite involved and frustrating as it can require a lot of trial and error with stress testing. It is however often the only means to get a 100% reliable PC.

 10/16/2013 04:07 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
slandsiedel
Peon

Posts: 6
Joined: 10/11/2013

I've had similar issues with all games though. And I always have the latest drivers. Nowadays if you have outdated drivers, you're more likely to have issues and lesser performance than in years past where it would cause more headaches than anything. I just don't comprehend how my cpu is supposed to handle Bf4 on high settings and I get 20 FPS. Even in bf3 I can not get above 40 fps because my cpu is at 90% or above as stated prior. I can't see anyone using a dualcore running this game at all

Statistics
85393 users are registered to the AMD Support and Game forum.
There are currently 3 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.