Topic Title: What can I safely upgrade to?
Topic Summary: AMD athlon 64 x2 dual core processor 4000+ 986mhz
Created On: 10/13/2013 11:43 PM
Status: Post and Reply
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 10/13/2013 11:43 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
5vs@att.net
Peon

Posts: 3
Joined: 10/13/2013

I would like to upgrade from the 64 x2 4000+ i currently have to maybe something a little faster in the 2ghz or higher range.  Which AMD processer can I use?

 10/14/2013 12:05 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Vantharas
Polygon Pusher

Posts: 3504
Joined: 03/01/2009

I'm sure you can probably use something but seeing as how you didn't provided any relevant information such as the motherboard you are useing. No one is going to know if you even can.

However judging how old that CPU is your choices are limited anyways and you'd be better off buying a new board / CPU Combo.



-------------------------

I5 3570K@4~5.0ghz: Gigabyte GA-Z77X-UD3H:Corsair Hydro H110 :16GB Corsair Vengeance DDR-3 1600: XFX Radeon 7950 @ 1100/1575 : Corsair AX 860 PSU: x1 WD Black 1TB HDD's: 90GB Agility 3: 960GB SSD : Creative Labs X-FI:Corsair 500R Arctic White Edition:3 22inch Monitors Eyefinity @ 5294x 1050 : Alienware Tact-X Keyboard: Razer Naga :Corsair Vengence 1500 Headset: Corsair SP2500 Speakers

 10/14/2013 01:43 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
5vs@att.net
Peon

Posts: 3
Joined: 10/13/2013

I have an ASUS motherboard and the GHZ is 2.1, not 986 as first posted, sorry about that.  Just wanted to know if I could pop in a litte faster processor without major upgrades to other components.  I have 3GB's of RAM and have a 650w power supply.

 10/14/2013 03:14 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
AMDforMe
Farming Materials

Posts: 600
Joined: 09/08/2013

Asus should have a list of all CPUs supported by your mobo and the latest BIOS listed on their website. You normally do not need to upgrade other hardware components when you are just upgrading the CPU on the same mobo.



-------------------------

Building a reliable PC involves more than just assembling the parts. You need to be able to configure all of the BIOS settings appropriately. This can be quite involved and frustrating as it can require a lot of trial and error with stress testing. It is however often the only means to get a 100% reliable PC.

 10/14/2013 08:59 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
black_zion
80 Column Mind

Posts: 12197
Joined: 04/17/2008

I would agree with Vantharas. Without knowing your model I can't say for sure but it sounds like you have a Socket AM2 board which has been dead for some time, meaning the only place you would be able to find a chip would be on eBay. You are better off replacing the board, RAM, and CPU.

-------------------------
ASUS Sabertooth 990FX/Gen3 R2, FX-8350 w/ Corsair H60, 8 GiB G.SKILL RipjawsX DDR3-2133, XFX HD 7970 Ghz, 512GB Vertex 4, 256GB Vector, 240GB Agility 3, Creative X-Fi Titanium w/ Creative Gigaworks S750, SeaSonic X750, HP ZR2440w, Win 7 Ultimate x64
 10/14/2013 06:24 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
5vs@att.net
Peon

Posts: 3
Joined: 10/13/2013

Thank you all for the info!!

Statistics
84135 users are registered to the AMD Support and Game forum.
There are currently 1 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.