Topic Title: PC died after OC attempt
Topic Summary: Tried to OC a 955 and now its not booting up at all
Created On: 10/14/2013 08:20 PM
Status: Post and Reply
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 10/14/2013 08:20 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Slayerx
Button Masher

Posts: 282
Joined: 09/16/2012

Hi all

I was trying to OC my other pc and I ran into a big problem, after only hitting 3.6Ghz the pc seems to up and died, no boot ,no post can't even get into the BIOS. Now my first suspect is the Corsair TX 750w psu but I hopping that's not the case since I want to use it on my next build.

Now I don't realy want to rip out the PSU on my main rig and put in this one just to see if it is the psu so is there a way to test it.

Here's the system spec's

PII 955 C2

Asus M4A78T-E mobo

4 Gb of Corsair XM3 ram (2x2Gb)

ATI HD4650

Corsair TX 750W psu ( three years old)

 

Oh yes, I did try the on board graphics (nothing) and I also tested the hard drive and its good.



-------------------------

FX 8320// Asus Sabertooth R2.0 // HIS R9 280x //8Gb of 1866Mhz ram, H50 cooling, HX850W psu all stuffed into a NZXT Phantom case.


Was a member of AMD Processer forum since 2008. Last post count 1818.

 10/14/2013 10:15 PM
User is online View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
black_zion
80 Column Mind

Posts: 12660
Joined: 04/17/2008

Sounds like the same kind of thing that happened to me when I had to replace the RAM chips on my Crosshair V and it caused a non POSTing situation, even the ROG Connect (to my laptop) showed it not passing CPU Initialization. I even ordered a new BIOS chip for it and it didn't solve the issue. If you've tried resetting CMOS which I assume you did, the only thing left I can think of to try, without trying a new BIOS chip, would be to put in another processor and maybe it'll force a reset to fail safe settings. I highly doubt it is the PSU, as in my experience power supplies either detonate or have slow voltage droops causing BSODs and crashes. Might just have to bite the bullet and buy a new board.

-------------------------
ASUS Sabertooth 990FX/Gen3 R2, FX-8350 w/ Corsair H60, 8 GiB G.SKILL RipjawsX DDR3-2133, XFX HD 7970 Ghz, 512GB Vertex 4, 256GB Vector, 240GB Agility 3, Creative X-Fi Titanium w/ Creative Gigaworks S750, SeaSonic X750, HP ZR2440w, Win 7 Ultimate x64
 10/14/2013 10:58 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Mime
Forum Moderator

Posts: 578
Joined: 08/28/2012

Try the paperclip trick.  Yank the power connector from the board, then employ a bent paperclip like so...

http://www.overclock.net/t/96712/how-to-jump-start-a-power-supply-psu-test-a-power-supply-and-components 

Leave a few fans or something hooked up as well, if they switch on, then the PSU is not dead.



-------------------------

Do not meddle in the affairs of archers, for they are subtle and quick to anger.
Post Count: +8510
Troll Hunter

The opinions expressed above do not represent those of Advanced Micro Devices or any of their affiliates.

 10/15/2013 07:51 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Slayerx
Button Masher

Posts: 282
Joined: 09/16/2012

It looks like the psu is fine. thanks Mime

Black_Zion, I'll try dropping in another cpu and see if I can get it to post if not then its junk.

Well I was thinking of trying out one of these apu's anyway's

 

thanks guys



-------------------------

FX 8320// Asus Sabertooth R2.0 // HIS R9 280x //8Gb of 1866Mhz ram, H50 cooling, HX850W psu all stuffed into a NZXT Phantom case.


Was a member of AMD Processer forum since 2008. Last post count 1818.

Statistics
86417 users are registered to the AMD Support and Game forum.
There are currently 5 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.