Topic Title: AMD FX-9590 compatible with ASRock 990 FX Extreme 4
Topic Summary:
Created On: 11/07/2013 08:08 AM
Status: Post and Reply
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 11/07/2013 08:08 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Checkmate99
Peon

Posts: 3
Joined: 11/07/2013

Hi there, well I'm building a new pc, and my questen is allready in the title of this thread

But here it is again:

 

Is the AMD FX-9590 CPU compatible with the ASRock 990 FX Extreme 4 Mainboard?

 

Thank you for your help in advance, cheers

 11/07/2013 08:58 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
black_zion
80 Column Mind

Posts: 13066
Joined: 04/17/2008

Go to your preferred internet search engine, type in "ASRock 990FX Extreme 4 CPU support list" and follow the link to the ASRock page.

-------------------------
AMD FX-8350 w/ Corsair H105, ASUS Sabertooth 990FX Gen3/R2, 8GiB G.SKILL DDR3-2133, XFX HD 7970, 512GB Vertex 4, 256GB Vector, 240GB Agility 3, Creative X-Fi Titanium w/ Creative Gigaworks S750, SeaSonic X750, Corsair C70, HP ZR2440w, Win 7 Ultimate x64
 11/07/2013 09:07 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Checkmate99
Peon

Posts: 3
Joined: 11/07/2013

sooooo if i can read correct the answer is no?^^

 11/07/2013 09:47 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
black_zion
80 Column Mind

Posts: 13066
Joined: 04/17/2008

Yes, it is not supported on the Extreme4, only the Extreme9.

-------------------------
AMD FX-8350 w/ Corsair H105, ASUS Sabertooth 990FX Gen3/R2, 8GiB G.SKILL DDR3-2133, XFX HD 7970, 512GB Vertex 4, 256GB Vector, 240GB Agility 3, Creative X-Fi Titanium w/ Creative Gigaworks S750, SeaSonic X750, Corsair C70, HP ZR2440w, Win 7 Ultimate x64
 11/07/2013 09:48 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
AMDforMe
Overclocker

Posts: 675
Joined: 09/08/2013

The answer is NO because the VRM circuit on this and most AM3+ mobos can not provide the full 220w power required for the FX-9000 series CPUs. If you try to run these FX-9000 CPUs on the std. AM3+ mobos they are likely to burn up the mobo VRM circuit or constantly crash when the CPU is loaded down.

Asrock has tested and approved the Extreme9 and 990FX Fatality for the FX-9000 CPUs because these two mobos have a highend 12-phase VRM circuit that can properly supply the required power for a FX-9000 series CPU.

Asus and Gigabyte both have one model AM3+ mobo that can handle the FX-9000. Always check the mobo makers website "Supported CPU models" before spending money on a mobo.



-------------------------

Technical ignorance is NOT a destiny it is a choice. Do your homework so that you can make technically informed decisions and not be duped by advertising hype or mis-information stated as fact when its not.


 

 11/07/2013 10:16 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Checkmate99
Peon

Posts: 3
Joined: 11/07/2013

Thank you all! Very helpful, thx

Statistics
88741 users are registered to the AMD Support and Game forum.
There are currently 5 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.