Topic Title: FX6350
Topic Summary: fx6350
Created On: 11/24/2013 12:19 AM
Status: Post and Reply
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 11/24/2013 12:19 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
purestone
Peon

Posts: 6
Joined: 10/19/2013

I recently bought a fx 6350 and I am having problems when I am gaming.I get alot of lag when I am playing BF4 and "other games." I didn't have this problem with my last Cpu Phenom 2 965 3.4Mhz quad core. I updated the BIOS to 2103 before installing the FX 6350.

Can someone please help me!

my specs> MotherBoard Asus Sabertooth 990FX R 2.0

Vid card> Galaxy 570 GTX

8 gigs Corsair Vengeance memory

2 Seagate hard drives

1 Dvd drive

Thermaltake 750 watts power supply,single rail,56 amps



Edited: 11/24/2013 at 12:36 AM by purestone
 11/24/2013 10:49 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
black_zion
80 Column Mind

Posts: 12259
Joined: 04/17/2008

Define "lag".

-------------------------
ASUS Sabertooth 990FX/Gen3 R2, FX-8350 w/ Corsair H60, 8 GiB G.SKILL RipjawsX DDR3-2133, XFX HD 7970 Ghz, 512GB Vertex 4, 256GB Vector, 240GB Agility 3, Creative X-Fi Titanium w/ Creative Gigaworks S750, SeaSonic X750, HP ZR2440w, Win 7 Ultimate x64
 11/24/2013 02:20 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
AMDforMe
Farming Materials

Posts: 600
Joined: 09/08/2013

Is the lag all the time or after you play video games for awhile? If only after awhile you might want to use some software to see if your CPU frequency is sporadically dropping to 1400 MHz. and .875v. If so the mobo VRM circuit is probably overheating like in the link below.

http://forums.amd.com/game/messageview.cfm?catid=446&threadid=169430&enterthread=y&STARTPAGE=1#last



-------------------------

Building a reliable PC involves more than just assembling the parts. You need to be able to configure all of the BIOS settings appropriately. This can be quite involved and frustrating as it can require a lot of trial and error with stress testing. It is however often the only means to get a 100% reliable PC.

 11/25/2013 03:02 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
purestone
Peon

Posts: 6
Joined: 10/19/2013

The lag is all the time when I am gaming. Didn't have this problem with the Phenom 2 965 quad core.  I noticed last night in my bios my memory timings changed from 9,9,9,24 to 11,11,11,28. The nine other timings changed also but I dont know how to put those back to correct timings. I changed my bios back to the default settings  but the memory timings stayed at 11,11,11,28.

Memory is Cosair Vengeance 8gbs CMZ4GX3M1A11600C9 2X4gbs sticks

Thanks for help guys



Edited: 11/25/2013 at 03:30 PM by purestone
 11/25/2013 10:53 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
AMDforMe
Farming Materials

Posts: 600
Joined: 09/08/2013

When you installed the FX-6350 did you clear the CMOS first? You should also be able to set the RAM timings in the BIOS and have them saty at the specified settings that the RAM maker recommends.



-------------------------

Building a reliable PC involves more than just assembling the parts. You need to be able to configure all of the BIOS settings appropriately. This can be quite involved and frustrating as it can require a lot of trial and error with stress testing. It is however often the only means to get a 100% reliable PC.

 11/27/2013 01:11 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
purestone
Peon

Posts: 6
Joined: 10/19/2013

Originally posted by: AMDforMe When you installed the FX-6350 did you clear the CMOS first? You should also be able to set the RAM timings in the BIOS and have them saty at the specified settings that the RAM maker recommends.

 

I didn't clear the cmos before the install because I updated the bios to the latest 2103 on my Sabertooth 990FX r.20 motherboard. I turned off all the power saving settings for the cpu in my bios to make sure it wasn't underclocking.I returned the memory timings back to 9,9,9,24 Corsair Vengeance 2x4gbs sticks CMZ4GX3M1A1600C9.

I forget to mention[sorry] the lag I am getting is when playing BF4. I find it strange that the Phenom2 965 quad core will run the better than FX6350 6 core when playing BF4!

 

 11/27/2013 04:04 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
AMDforMe
Farming Materials

Posts: 600
Joined: 09/08/2013

If the lag is only in one game then it's probably a driver or coding issue. Many applications including games do not do a great job of using all of the available CPU cores. With good code the FX processors run up to 50% faster in games than a PII CPU.



-------------------------

Building a reliable PC involves more than just assembling the parts. You need to be able to configure all of the BIOS settings appropriately. This can be quite involved and frustrating as it can require a lot of trial and error with stress testing. It is however often the only means to get a 100% reliable PC.

 11/30/2013 04:37 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
rscott521
Peon

Posts: 1
Joined: 11/30/2013

Originally posted by: purestone I recently bought a fx 6350 and I am having problems when I am gaming.I get alot of lag when I am playing BF4 and "other games." I didn't have this problem with my last Cpu Phenom 2 965 3.4Mhz quad core. I updated the BIOS to 2103 before installing the FX 6350.

 

Can someone please help me!

 

my specs> MotherBoard Asus Sabertooth 990FX R 2.0

 

Vid card> Galaxy 570 GTX

 

8 gigs Corsair Vengeance memory

 

2 Seagate hard drives

 

1 Dvd drive

 

Thermaltake 750 watts power supply,single rail,56 amps

 

AMD Phenom II X4 965 Black Edition Deneb 3.4GHz

ASRock 970DE3/U3S3 AM3+ AMD 770 SATA 6Gb/s

Windows 7 64b

G.SKILL Ripjaws Series 8GB (2 x 4GB) 240-Pin DDR3 SDRAM DDR3 1600

EVGA SuperClocked 02G-P4-2662-KR GeForce GTX 660 2GB 192-bit GDDR5

I put an FX-6300 @4.5GHz in my 16 yr. old sons machine and benchmarks loved it. He was running a Phenom 965 quad @4.0GHz.  Battlefield 4 on the other hand does not like the FX-6300. All other games work fine but BF4 will stutter and get lag spikes like crazy. I tried playing with the Nvidia control panel and changed some settings that really reduced the lag but its not a fix.

Open Nvidia Control Panel.
Select manage 3d settings.
select BF4 from the drop down box.
Scroll to the bottom and change the vertical sync option to 'adaptive'

The fix I found was to put the Phenom quad back in and now all is fine.

 12/02/2013 04:38 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
purestone
Peon

Posts: 6
Joined: 10/19/2013

Thanks for the help, I will try that.

What do u think about using the latest bios 2103 for my MB Asus Saberttoth 990FX R 2.0? I am currently using 1903 bios.

Statistics
84352 users are registered to the AMD Support and Game forum.
There are currently 1 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.