Topic Title: AMD Turion 64 X2 RM-72
Topic Summary: Can I replace a AMD Turion 64 X2 RM-72 with a AMD Turion 64 X2 RM-77?
Created On: 11/26/2013 08:10 AM
Status: Post and Reply
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 11/26/2013 08:10 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Zuma
Peon

Posts: 1
Joined: 11/26/2013

I have an older Toshiba Satellite A505D-S6958 that has been running very hot lately. I thought since I'm going to replace the thermal paste anyway, it may be a good idea to upgrade the processor. Can I replace a AMD Turion 64 X2 RM-72 with a AMD Turion 64 X2 RM-77, or is there an even better option available for me? I've checked around at various sites, and am sure I can do it, but I've never replaced a processor, so I simply wanted to ask here to be sure I am correct.

 

Thank you for any advice given.

 11/26/2013 09:27 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
black_zion
80 Column Mind

Posts: 12863
Joined: 04/17/2008

Doubtful. Even if your laptop supported a higher end processor and even if you could find one, it wouldn't make any difference in speed. Put in an SSD if you really want an increase.

-------------------------
AMD FX-8350 w/ Corsair H105, ASUS Sabertooth 990FX Gen3/R2, 8GiB G.SKILL DDR3-2133, XFX HD 7970, 512GB Vertex 4, 256GB Vector, 240GB Agility 3, Creative X-Fi Titanium w/ Creative Gigaworks S750, SeaSonic X750, Corsair C70, HP ZR2440w, Win 7 Ultimate x64
 11/26/2013 09:42 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Vantharas
Polygon Pusher

Posts: 3513
Joined: 03/01/2009

Originally posted by: Zuma I have an older Toshiba Satellite A505D-S6958 that has been running very hot lately. I thought since I'm going to replace the thermal paste anyway, it may be a good idea to upgrade the processor. Can I replace a AMD Turion 64 X2 RM-72 with a AMD Turion 64 X2 RM-77, or is there an even better option available for me? I've checked around at various sites, and am sure I can do it, but I've never replaced a processor, so I simply wanted to ask here to be sure I am correct.

 

 

 

Thank you for any advice given.

 

 

Do what bz said, the problemw with changing a CPU in a laptop is that laptop heatsinks are built for certain TDP's by model . So lets say for example you dropped a 40W CPU into a laptop that was built for a 25W CPU. 

Heat will end up being a huge problem. However that said, you also have to make sure that the particular model you have actually came with higher end AMD CPU's if they did then most likely you could change it out. 

However you may end up getting unlucky as laptop manufacturers use bios specific boards. Basically meaning even if the board could support it , They wrote the bios specifically to only support maybe 1 or two other models of CPU's. So there's no guarentee it'll work. 

So really imho if you can get the CPU cheap enough go for it, however an SSD would really give you the speed boost you were looking for. But if you need space.. Its really up to you.



-------------------------

I5 3570K@4~5.0ghz: Gigabyte GA-Z77X-UD3H:Corsair Hydro H110 :16GB Corsair Vengeance DDR-3 1600: x2 XFX Radeon 7950 @ 1100/1575 : Corsair AX 860 PSU: x1 WD Black 1TB HDD's: 90GB Agility 3: 960GB SSD : Creative Labs X-FI:Corsair 500R Arctic White Edition:3 22inch Monitors Eyefinity @ 5294x 1050 : Alienware Tact-X Keyboard: Razer Naga :Corsair Vengence 1500 Headset: Corsair SP2500 Speakers

Statistics
87380 users are registered to the AMD Support and Game forum.
There are currently 7 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.