Topic Title: AMD Phenom 9850 Black Edition Socket AM2+ 2.5GHz
Topic Summary: Is it tied to DDR2 memory and can u still find compatible motherboards for it?
Created On: 11/26/2013 06:52 PM
Status: Post and Reply
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 11/26/2013 06:52 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
GrimNir
Peon

Posts: 4
Joined: 11/26/2013

HI

I'm a tad on the thick side when it comes to technology recently so I would appreciate some help please. I currently have the following set up:-

AMD Phenom 9850 Black Edition Socket AM2+ 2.5GHz 4MB L2 Cache Retail Boxed Processor

Gigabyte GA-MA770-DS3 AMD 770 Socket AM2+ 8 channel audio ATX Motherboard

Kingston 4GB (4x1GB) DDR2 1066MHz/PC2-8500 Hyperx Genesis Memory CL5(5-5-5-15) 2.2V

ATI Radeon HD4650 1GB DDR3

However the connection for the heatsink to the motherboard has snapped off. I therefore need to buy a new motherboard. 

Is it true I can ONLY use DDR2 memory with this CPU? That I can not upgrade to a compatible board with DDR3 memory? I was told the memory controller is embedded in the CPU so I'm stuck with DDR2 and I want conformation that this is accurate please.

And - if unfortunately it is true, can you even still get boards that support AM2+ and DDR2 memory? Because I can't seem too find any on Ebuyer, annd wouldn't really know where else too look. I live in the United Kingdom (UK). If any one has any suggestions they would be greatly appreciated. 

 

Yes I know this is an old system I built it in 2008, and until the heatsink snapped off the motherboard it did everything I wanted it to do and played the games I own just fine. (I wouldn't try any of the latest games tho, I'm not that daft)

I will personally be upgrading, but I'd like to get this old one back on its feet as it would be ideal for my son whose just getting into basic gaming on steam. So any help or suggestions would be greatly appreciated.

 11/26/2013 10:33 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
black_zion
80 Column Mind

Posts: 12672
Joined: 04/17/2008

Yes, it supports only DDR2 memory. You cannot buy new boards which support DDR2, but you can maybe look on ebay.co.uk.

-------------------------
ASUS Sabertooth 990FX/Gen3 R2, FX-8350 w/ Corsair H60, 8 GiB G.SKILL RipjawsX DDR3-2133, XFX HD 7970 Ghz, 512GB Vertex 4, 256GB Vector, 240GB Agility 3, Creative X-Fi Titanium w/ Creative Gigaworks S750, SeaSonic X750, HP ZR2440w, Win 7 Ultimate x64
 11/28/2013 06:19 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
GrimNir
Peon

Posts: 4
Joined: 11/26/2013

thank you

 11/30/2013 04:05 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Vantharas
Polygon Pusher

Posts: 3509
Joined: 03/01/2009

Buy a heatsink that comes with its own mounting brackets instead of buying a new board.  Thats what I would do.



-------------------------

I5 3570K@4~5.0ghz: Gigabyte GA-Z77X-UD3H:Corsair Hydro H110 :16GB Corsair Vengeance DDR-3 1600: XFX Radeon 7950 @ 1100/1575 : Corsair AX 860 PSU: x1 WD Black 1TB HDD's: 90GB Agility 3: 960GB SSD : Creative Labs X-FI:Corsair 500R Arctic White Edition:3 22inch Monitors Eyefinity @ 5294x 1050 : Alienware Tact-X Keyboard: Razer Naga :Corsair Vengence 1500 Headset: Corsair SP2500 Speakers

Statistics
86454 users are registered to the AMD Support and Game forum.
There are currently 2 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.