Topic Title: AMD Phenom II X4 955 Black Edition 3.2 GHz
Topic Summary:
Created On: 12/24/2013 03:30 PM
Status: Post and Reply
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 12/24/2013 03:30 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Arnuxs
Peon

Posts: 1
Joined: 12/24/2013

Hello, what is the default voltage for this cpu?

 

https://www.dropbox.com/s/ohaz58l7q3mfuo9/Voltage.jpg

 

This picture shows some info on my CPU. When I select High Performance Power Plan cpu keeps running at 3.2 Ghz and my voltage acording to these programs keeps jumping between 1.088 or something to 1.472. Only stuff I did to my cpu was unpark cores (using this http://www.coderbag.com/Programming-C/Disable-CPU-Core-Parking-Utility ) and I also tried overclocking cpu using cpu overdrive that comes with my catalyst driver for video card... A friend of mine also has AMD Phenom II X4 955 Black Edition 3.2 GHz and he says his stock voltage was 1,364 or something and if my keeps jumping all the way to 1.472 I think it's crazy and I'm afraid my CPU might cook or something (I have no intention of doing that). Using cpu overdrive I had oced to 3.5 Ghz but later I disabled it and left stock 3.2 Ghz, I never changed any voltages (unless that program did change them?) Help pls?

 

A friend of mine has it oced to 3.4 Ghz and he set his voltage to something like 1.368 or something and when I oced using cpu overdrive (that comes with my catalyst driver) to 3.5 according to those programs my voltage vent over 1.5...

https://www.dropbox.com/s/fl627doxjfon96h/2013-12-24%2022.47.44.jpg

This is a pic of my bios, as far as I understand pc itself sets voltage since it's on auto? But why would he set 1.5, isnt that like crazy?



Edited: 12/24/2013 at 04:09 PM by Arnuxs
 12/24/2013 11:51 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
AMDforMe
Overclocker

Posts: 620
Joined: 09/08/2013

There is no exact CPU vcore voltage for your PII 955 CPU. AMD speed grades the CPUs and codes the default voltage into the CPU code. Your BIOS screen showed the default to be 1.4V for your CPU, which is a bit higher than most.

When overclocking a CPU with the voltage set to "auto" you can get strange behavior depending on the mobo design, quality and how the BIOS is written. Normally you manually set the CPU vcore voltage and other parameters for reliable and as safe as possible overclocking. Even with the newer FX processors some mobo BIOS will jack the CPU vcore voltage WAY too high causing overheating - unless you manually set the CPU vcore voltage, LLC, etc.



-------------------------

Building a reliable PC involves more than just assembling the parts. You need to be able to configure all of the BIOS settings appropriately. This can be quite involved and frustrating as it can require a lot of trial and error with stress testing. It is however often the only means to get a 100% reliable PC.

 12/25/2013 11:37 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
KillerHurdz
Overclocker

Posts: 656
Joined: 07/23/2009

My PII X4 955 is overclocked to 3.5GHz @ 1.367V.

Every CPU is different. If your chip is on the C2 stepping (rather than C3), you can expect lower overclocking headroom and will have to adjust the voltage more aggressively.

Once you've found a good (stable) overclock, it's wise to set those directly in the BIOS, rather than use AMD Overdrive.



-------------------------

Desktop: AMD Phenom II X4 965 @ 3.5GHz, Sapphire Vapor-X HD5870, ASUS M4A78T-E, 8GB Kingston/Mushkin DDR3-1333, 256GB OCZ Vertex 4, 2xSeagate Momentus XT 500GB Hybrid Drive (RAID0), ASUS Xonar Xense, Corsair HX750W, Antec Nine Hundred, Windows 7 Professional x64.

HP Touchsmart TM2: Intel Core i5 430UM, Hitachi 250GB 7200RPM HDD, ATI Radeon HD5450, 8GB Samsung DDR3-1333 (CL9), Windows 7 Professional x64.

Statistics
85739 users are registered to the AMD Support and Game forum.
There are currently 6 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.