Topic Title: XP MODE
Topic Summary: did anyone get this to work
Created On: 12/25/2013 12:37 PM
Status: Post and Reply
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
1 2 Next Last unread
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 12/25/2013 12:37 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
tfude
Peon

Posts: 19
Joined: 12/01/2013

i have a fx-6300, and win 7pro 64 bit, cant get it to load, almost finishes and then gives error that i should run setup again, MS tech says it is the bulldozer processor, but mine is vishera, any one have any ideas?

 

thank you

 12/25/2013 02:47 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
AMDforMe
Farming Materials

Posts: 600
Joined: 09/08/2013

MS tech are idiots IME. They would not know the difference between a Bulldozer CPU and a hockey puck. The CPU has nothing to do with the O/S loading per se as long as the O/S properly recognizes the CPU. Every Windows O/Ss version however has over 10,000 known defects that will cause the system to hang, BSOD, reboot and/or lose data.

Make sure that your mobo BIOS is up to date and that you have installed the O/S drivers from the mobo CD or from the mobo makers website - which are often newer. You may need to clear the CMOS and start fresh?



-------------------------

Building a reliable PC involves more than just assembling the parts. You need to be able to configure all of the BIOS settings appropriately. This can be quite involved and frustrating as it can require a lot of trial and error with stress testing. It is however often the only means to get a 100% reliable PC.

 12/25/2013 04:27 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
tfude
Peon

Posts: 19
Joined: 12/01/2013

i have updated the bios, all the drivers are from the asus site, it was a fresh clean install of 7, no errors in the device mgr, loaded virtual pc, and the xp mode, but it fails, have to work tonight, so will look at the event log after i try it 1 more time on thurs, but it will prolly never work, it was a good idea but MS didnt really try to hard to make it work properly, or give any good solutions.

 12/25/2013 07:05 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
black_zion
80 Column Mind

Posts: 12376
Joined: 04/17/2008

AMDforMe: Be quiet.

tfude: All new AMD processors are built using what they call the "Bulldozer" architecture (2 integer processor, 1 floating point processor modules), over the very old "STARS" architecture, with Piledriver, Steamroller, and newer revisions refining efficiency and adding performance. Download This Patch and you will be good to go. Unlike AMDforMe, I actually run Windows 7 x64 SP1 with a Bulldozer-based processor, and with the hotfix it works perfectly.

-------------------------
ASUS Sabertooth 990FX/Gen3 R2, FX-8350 w/ Corsair H60, 8 GiB G.SKILL RipjawsX DDR3-2133, XFX HD 7970 Ghz, 512GB Vertex 4, 256GB Vector, 240GB Agility 3, Creative X-Fi Titanium w/ Creative Gigaworks S750, SeaSonic X750, HP ZR2440w, Win 7 Ultimate x64
 12/25/2013 08:01 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
AMDforMe
Farming Materials

Posts: 600
Joined: 09/08/2013

black_zion-

Be careful how you talk to other members of this forum...

I also run Win7 X64 on multiple PCs with FX processors and the "patch" is just that a patch, not the solution to all of Microsucks O/S problems. In fact there are so many issues with Win7 that some software companies have stopped producing software for Windows...



-------------------------

Building a reliable PC involves more than just assembling the parts. You need to be able to configure all of the BIOS settings appropriately. This can be quite involved and frustrating as it can require a lot of trial and error with stress testing. It is however often the only means to get a 100% reliable PC.



Edited: 12/25/2013 at 08:10 PM by AMDforMe
 12/25/2013 09:20 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
black_zion
80 Column Mind

Posts: 12376
Joined: 04/17/2008

Except that this "patch" is the solution to this problem. And I told you to be quiet because what he needs is the patch, not your opinion on Windows 7 and how Microsoft sucks.

-------------------------
ASUS Sabertooth 990FX/Gen3 R2, FX-8350 w/ Corsair H60, 8 GiB G.SKILL RipjawsX DDR3-2133, XFX HD 7970 Ghz, 512GB Vertex 4, 256GB Vector, 240GB Agility 3, Creative X-Fi Titanium w/ Creative Gigaworks S750, SeaSonic X750, HP ZR2440w, Win 7 Ultimate x64
 12/26/2013 11:22 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
tfude
Peon

Posts: 19
Joined: 12/01/2013

thank you for the help, i will try the new patch, and let you know how it is going. 

Tried the new patch, get a message saying it is not applicable to my computer, is there going to be anything in the event logs to help me sort out the problem, if so any help to figure out where it is hidden 

i can find the event viewers, but there is so mny choices, i have not looked at all of them yet



Edited: 12/26/2013 at 11:47 AM by tfude
 12/26/2013 12:40 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
AMDforMe
Farming Materials

Posts: 600
Joined: 09/08/2013

Originally posted by: black_zion Except that this "patch" is the solution to this problem. And I told you to be quiet because what he needs is the patch, not your opinion on Windows 7 and how Microsoft sucks.

Your attitude is totally inappropriate as the "patch" is to try and compensate for the defective O/Ss that Microsucks has sold to consumers. Don't assume that you know more than other people or what other forum members are using for hardware and O/Ss. We all know what happens when you assume...

Telling me to be quiet is to deny the reality that the Windows O/S's and Microsucks tech support are both unacceptably poor. You may chose to be in denial but that does not help the OP or anyone else.

If you can't post comments without making them personal or inappropriate - don't post. Those are the rules in most forums including this one. Deal with the subject matter properly or don't post at all.



-------------------------

Building a reliable PC involves more than just assembling the parts. You need to be able to configure all of the BIOS settings appropriately. This can be quite involved and frustrating as it can require a lot of trial and error with stress testing. It is however often the only means to get a 100% reliable PC.

 12/26/2013 06:09 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
black_zion
80 Column Mind

Posts: 12376
Joined: 04/17/2008

AMDforMe: Either help the OP or shut up, two options, take one.


tfude - Hmm, you downloaded KB2519949 and ran it as an administrator? Also did you have XP Mode installed before you upgraded to that processor?

-------------------------
ASUS Sabertooth 990FX/Gen3 R2, FX-8350 w/ Corsair H60, 8 GiB G.SKILL RipjawsX DDR3-2133, XFX HD 7970 Ghz, 512GB Vertex 4, 256GB Vector, 240GB Agility 3, Creative X-Fi Titanium w/ Creative Gigaworks S750, SeaSonic X750, HP ZR2440w, Win 7 Ultimate x64
 12/26/2013 07:26 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
tfude
Peon

Posts: 19
Joined: 12/01/2013

i did a fresh install on a formatted drive after i got my cpu back from AMD, i tried the install 1 time before i tried to install the patch, this is a new build, so i have not added too much to the OS yet, just drivers and updates, i have not activated win 7 yet as i want to make sure it all works before i do, in case i have to format again.

 12/26/2013 08:47 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
AMDforMe
Farming Materials

Posts: 600
Joined: 09/08/2013

tfude-

Sorry I can't offer any more help with your issue. Windows is a really messed up O/S in all versions including Win8 and 8.1

black_zion-

There are rules for this forum and you are not in charge so you might want to cool your jets.

I already did help the OP with honest information. Being disrespectful to other forum members is not helping anyone so please refrain as this is in violation of the forum rules.

 



-------------------------

Building a reliable PC involves more than just assembling the parts. You need to be able to configure all of the BIOS settings appropriately. This can be quite involved and frustrating as it can require a lot of trial and error with stress testing. It is however often the only means to get a 100% reliable PC.

 12/26/2013 09:44 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
black_zion
80 Column Mind

Posts: 12376
Joined: 04/17/2008

AMDforMe - I have reported you to the moderator. The OP came here for help, not to hear your thoughts on Windows. Stick to the topic, don't troll.

tfude - I would suggest going to the Microsoft support forums and asking there, they have people there that can help with hotfixes not installing.

-------------------------
ASUS Sabertooth 990FX/Gen3 R2, FX-8350 w/ Corsair H60, 8 GiB G.SKILL RipjawsX DDR3-2133, XFX HD 7970 Ghz, 512GB Vertex 4, 256GB Vector, 240GB Agility 3, Creative X-Fi Titanium w/ Creative Gigaworks S750, SeaSonic X750, HP ZR2440w, Win 7 Ultimate x64
 12/27/2013 12:46 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
MD - Moderator
Forum Moderator

Posts: 50
Joined: 08/27/2012

(>_<

 

Lets focus here folks!



-------------------------

The opinions expressed above do not represent those of Advanced Micro Devices or any of their affiliates.

Physics? Ha! This is clearly magic and devilry at work. Prepare firewood! We have witches to burn!


 


Senior Engineering Technician (AEET).

 12/27/2013 03:12 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
MisterEd
Nerfed

Posts: 60
Joined: 10/10/2012

Windows XP Mode downloads:
1. Windows XP Mode
2. Windows Virtual PC (64-bit)

Install Windows XP Mode
Install Windows Virtual PC (64-bit)

Hot Fix 2519949
Fix for XP mode installation failer with AMD FX processors

Why am I receiving errors about hardware-assisted virtualization (HAV) when I try to use Windows XP Mode and Windows Virtual PC?
Notes:
If your motherboard supports Virtualization it needs to be enabled in the BIOS.
If not, then this update enables Windows XP Mode for PCs without Hardware Assisted Virtualization Technology.
Not needed if you are running Windows 7 SP1.

Other downloads for AMD FX with Windows 7:

Hot Fix 2645594
Fix for Windows CPU scheduler with AMD FX processors



-------------------------

Gigabyte GA-990FXA-UD3 | AMD FX-8350 | Corsair H60 Cooler | GSkill RipjawsX (2x4GB) | ASUS GeForce GTX 560 | WD Caviar Blue 1TB | Seagate 750GB | ASUS 24X DVD/RW| Windows 7 Ultimate 64-bit
ASUS M4N82 Deluxe | AMD Phenom II X4 960T | Corsair XMS2(2x2GB) | PNY GeForce GTS 250 (1GB) | Seagate 300GB | Maxtor 200GB/250GB | Memorex 20X DVD/RW | Windows 7 Home Premium 32-bit

 12/28/2013 12:08 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
tfude
Peon

Posts: 19
Joined: 12/01/2013

well i did a full uninstall of all the xp mode/virtualpc stuff, and tried again, still failed, so guess i will not get this to actually work.

thanks for all the help 

maybe MS will get it to work, i have addressed their forums for help.

 12/30/2013 09:18 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Ray@AMD
Forum Moderator

Posts: 118
Joined: 07/30/2012

Okay, lets alll calm down guys !

Tfude, do let us know if you are able to resolve your issue.



-------------------------

AMD Customer Care


The information presented here is for informational purposes only and may contain technical inaccuracies, omissions and typographical errors. Links to third party sites are for convenience only, and no endorsement is implied.

 12/30/2013 09:37 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
MisterEd
Nerfed

Posts: 60
Joined: 10/10/2012

Originally posted by: tfude

well i did a full uninstall of all the xp mode/virtualpc stuff, and tried again, still failed, so guess i will not get this to actually work.

thanks for all the help

You haven't said exactly what steps you have tried to get XP Mode to work.

After I upgraded to an AMD FX processor XP Mode did not work until I installed Hot Fix 2519949.



-------------------------

Gigabyte GA-990FXA-UD3 | AMD FX-8350 | Corsair H60 Cooler | GSkill RipjawsX (2x4GB) | ASUS GeForce GTX 560 | WD Caviar Blue 1TB | Seagate 750GB | ASUS 24X DVD/RW| Windows 7 Ultimate 64-bit
ASUS M4N82 Deluxe | AMD Phenom II X4 960T | Corsair XMS2(2x2GB) | PNY GeForce GTS 250 (1GB) | Seagate 300GB | Maxtor 200GB/250GB | Memorex 20X DVD/RW | Windows 7 Home Premium 32-bit

 12/30/2013 10:19 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
black_zion
80 Column Mind

Posts: 12376
Joined: 04/17/2008

Installed for me just fine when I got this 8350, but remember that some hotfixes and regular patches will not work unless you have certain other updates installed.

-------------------------
ASUS Sabertooth 990FX/Gen3 R2, FX-8350 w/ Corsair H60, 8 GiB G.SKILL RipjawsX DDR3-2133, XFX HD 7970 Ghz, 512GB Vertex 4, 256GB Vector, 240GB Agility 3, Creative X-Fi Titanium w/ Creative Gigaworks S750, SeaSonic X750, HP ZR2440w, Win 7 Ultimate x64
 12/31/2013 04:40 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
tfude
Peon

Posts: 19
Joined: 12/01/2013

after uninstall and reinstall 6 times, it finally works, dont know what i did different, but this time when i was going to install virtual pc, it said it was not applicable to my comp. but i proceeded anyway, and tried xp mode install, and it finished and works, except there is no info in the programs box, i found it and created a shortcut, which seems to work. 

 

i will update this after it try adding software to it.

 12/31/2013 05:19 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
black_zion
80 Column Mind

Posts: 12376
Joined: 04/17/2008

Just wondering, which programs are you needing XP Mode for?

-------------------------
ASUS Sabertooth 990FX/Gen3 R2, FX-8350 w/ Corsair H60, 8 GiB G.SKILL RipjawsX DDR3-2133, XFX HD 7970 Ghz, 512GB Vertex 4, 256GB Vector, 240GB Agility 3, Creative X-Fi Titanium w/ Creative Gigaworks S750, SeaSonic X750, HP ZR2440w, Win 7 Ultimate x64
AMD Support and Game » AMD Processors (CPU) » XP MODE

1 2 Next Last unread
Topic Tools Topic Tools
Statistics
84950 users are registered to the AMD Support and Game forum.
There are currently 3 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.