Topic Title: Using Lower AMD Boxed Cooler To Test Upgrade
Topic Summary: Going From FX 4100 To FX 8150
Created On: 12/26/2013 11:37 PM
Status: Post and Reply
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 12/26/2013 11:37 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
graybeard47
Peon

Posts: 5
Joined: 11/25/2012

I just purchased a 8 month used FX 8150 without the usual cpu cooler boxed with it from a friend and want to test it: Can I use the AMD cpu cooler that came with the FX 4100? I just want to make sure that it will boot up and do some light duty work with it to further test.

I have a new cpu cooler for it that I purchased after the 4100 system was built for a 8150 when the opportunity arose. However, it has a backing plate that requires the removal of the MB for easier installation.The ASUS MB is compatible for the upgrade and the bios exceeds their recommendation. 600 watt PS from reputable maker.

Thank you



-------------------------
 12/27/2013 09:06 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Vantharas
Polygon Pusher

Posts: 3516
Joined: 03/01/2009

You can but monitor your temps to make sure they don't exceed the specified maxium of the CPU. 

You could also go into your bios and disable 4 of the interger cores and effectivly turn it into a slightly faster 4100, depending on your motherboard that is. 



-------------------------

I5 3570K@4~5.0ghz: Gigabyte GA-Z77X-UD3H:Corsair Hydro H110 :16GB Corsair Vengeance DDR-3 1600: x2 XFX Radeon 7950 @ 1100/1575 : Corsair AX 860 PSU: x1 WD Black 1TB HDD's: 90GB Agility 3: 960GB SSD : Creative Labs X-FI:Corsair 500R Arctic White Edition:3 22inch Monitors Eyefinity @ 5294x 1050 : Alienware Tact-X Keyboard: Razer Naga :Corsair Vengence 1500 Headset: Corsair SP2500 Speakers

 12/27/2013 12:33 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
AMDforMe
Overclocker

Posts: 675
Joined: 09/08/2013

61C core temp (not CPU temp or BIOS temp), under load is the max 24/7 temp. so you should be OK to test to see if the CPU functions properly.



-------------------------

Technical ignorance is NOT a destiny it is a choice. Do your homework so that you can make technically informed decisions and not be duped by advertising hype or mis-information stated as fact when its not.


 

Statistics
88930 users are registered to the AMD Support and Game forum.
There are currently 4 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.