Topic Title: AMD FX-8320 8-Core
Topic Summary: BSOD issues.
Created On: 01/01/2014 03:54 PM
Status: Post and Reply
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 01/01/2014 03:54 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Triplitz88
Peon

Posts: 2
Joined: 12/23/2013

Hello,

I have been getting a lot of BSOD events that started just as I swapped out my AMD PII 955 X4 for the FX-8320.

 

My board is the Asus Sabertooth 990FX R1 (not R2 or R3).

 

According to the site here: http://support.asus.com/Cpusupport/List.aspx?SLanguage=en&m=SABERTOOTH%20990FX&p=1&s=24&hashedid=H9GanpgqHG8yN8yQ the R1 supports the FX-8320 with BIOS revision 1604 which is what I am running.

 

I have tested my RAM and windows says its fine and it did not give any issues on the old quad core.

 

Edit: Ok so AMD puts a post length here, I cannot do any kind of encased code text or anything like that so I guess I am going to have to wait for someone to give me a better method of putting the BSOD reports and the CPU-Z report and w/e else up here.

 

I have requested warrenty but so far no reply and I'm hoping to get this resolved without going through them.

 

Any thoughts?

Thanks!

 

Edit: Ok so here are the codes:

Bug Check Code    : 0x000000be

Bug Check Code    : 0x0000001a

Bug Check Code    : 0x1000007e

Bug Check Code    : 0x00000050

Bug Check Code    : 0x0000003b

Bug Check Code    : 0x0000004e

 

 

System:

Windows 7 Ult x64

Asus Sabertooth 990FX R1 with BIOS 1604

4x 2GB Corsair DDR3 2133 RAM

2x XFX Radeon HD 6950

2x 2TB SATA Server HD

AMD FX-8320

 

 

 



-------------------------

123



Edited: 01/01/2014 at 06:11 PM by Triplitz88
 01/01/2014 05:14 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
black_zion
80 Column Mind

Posts: 12462
Joined: 04/17/2008

You could just tell us the BSOD error code, and post the rest of your system specs as requested in the sticky.

-------------------------
ASUS Sabertooth 990FX/Gen3 R2, FX-8350 w/ Corsair H60, 8 GiB G.SKILL RipjawsX DDR3-2133, XFX HD 7970 Ghz, 512GB Vertex 4, 256GB Vector, 240GB Agility 3, Creative X-Fi Titanium w/ Creative Gigaworks S750, SeaSonic X750, HP ZR2440w, Win 7 Ultimate x64
 01/01/2014 06:41 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Triplitz88
Peon

Posts: 2
Joined: 12/23/2013

Ok well I updated it.



-------------------------

123

 01/01/2014 07:01 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
black_zion
80 Column Mind

Posts: 12462
Joined: 04/17/2008

Most of those deal with memory errors, so is a memory issue, either your RAM modules don't like the processor or there is an improper voltage setting.

-------------------------
ASUS Sabertooth 990FX/Gen3 R2, FX-8350 w/ Corsair H60, 8 GiB G.SKILL RipjawsX DDR3-2133, XFX HD 7970 Ghz, 512GB Vertex 4, 256GB Vector, 240GB Agility 3, Creative X-Fi Titanium w/ Creative Gigaworks S750, SeaSonic X750, HP ZR2440w, Win 7 Ultimate x64
 01/01/2014 08:04 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
AMDforMe
Overclocker

Posts: 609
Joined: 09/08/2013

There can be a number of possibilities.

If it were me I'd reseat all cards and cables then set the RAM frequency to 1866 Mhz. (if it is set higher right now), and see if that fixes the issue. Also check to be sure the CPU core temps stay below 61C under full load and that the 12v PSU rail is not dropping below spec under heavy load. Some mobos when run in "auto" mode for the vcore voltage, over-volt an FX CPU when under load causing them to run excessively hot. LLC is suppose to allow for a stable vcore regardless of load but there has been varied success with different model mobos.

Numerous AM3+ mobos have issues with 8-core FX processors. When under modest to heavy loads the VRM circuit overheats because it was designed for the PII CPUs not the 8-core FX CPUs which require more total power even though they have a 125w TDP. If the VRM circuit overheats it either burns itself out or if like most mobos it has a thermal sensor built into the VRM circuit, it throttles the CPU frequency and thus power demand, by lowering the the vcore voltage to cool the VRM circuit.

The VRM circuit will oscillate back and forth continuously every few seconds until the load is reduced and the VRM can cool down significantly. This oscillating has been known to cause BSODs and system hangs. If this is what's causing your problem then it is a mobo issue, not a CPU issue. The CPUs are thoroughly tested just before they are packaged and it's very rare to have a CPU that is actually bad.

If your VRM is overheating you can usually see the vcore voltage and frequency drops with mobo maker provided or similar software that shows real time vcore/frequency. The OCCT applet will monitor and record the voltages and frequencies for you while using your PC under load.



-------------------------

Building a reliable PC involves more than just assembling the parts. You need to be able to configure all of the BIOS settings appropriately. This can be quite involved and frustrating as it can require a lot of trial and error with stress testing. It is however often the only means to get a 100% reliable PC.



Edited: 01/01/2014 at 10:29 PM by AMDforMe
 01/08/2014 08:16 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
MyMedia59
Overclocker

Posts: 610
Joined: 10/30/2009

Hard reset the bios and start with optimized defaults - do not oc ... all on auto and it should run just fine. If XMP ram select the XMP profile and that's it!

Just swapping CPU does not work..

 



-------------------------



GA 990FXA-UD3v3
AMD FX-8320
Kingston 8GB 1600 HyperX
GPU Gigabyte R685OC-1GD
1x SATA3 WD Blue / 1x SSHD ST1000DX001 / 1x STBV2000300
SeaSonic 650W
Win7x64

Statistics
85373 users are registered to the AMD Support and Game forum.
There are currently 0 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.