Topic Title: FX-8350 (Turbo Core mutiplier) For understand the Frequency
Topic Summary:
Created On: 01/09/2014 08:04 AM
Status: Post and Reply
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 01/09/2014 08:04 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
charest2394
Grinding Levels

Posts: 159
Joined: 01/23/2010

Hello,

I am looking the frequency of my FX-8350 the base clock was (4Ghz = 20x 200Mhz) with the turbo core technology my frequency pass to (4.1Ghz = 20.5 x200Mhz) but normaly the maximum turbo clock is (4.2Ghz = 21x 200Mhz).

I have read on the web and I am not sur, correct me if I'm bad but the turbo technology have two step the first is for all the core the 4.1Ghz and the second setp is when 4 core or less is used at a frequency of 4.2Ghz?

There have the full load turbo (On all core) = 4.1Ghz (20.5 x 200Mhz)
There have the Half load turbo (On 4 cores or Less) = 4.2Ghz (21 x 200Mhz)

For test the 4.2Ghz  what I need to be make a test?

In the moment depending of what a make a pass of 4.0Ghz to 4.1Ghz. But I never see the 4.2GHz.

Thank you

 

 

 



-------------------------

AMD FX-8350 @ 4.4Ghz
Asus Crosshair V Formula-z
Patriot Viper 16 Go 1600Mhz (9-9-9-24)
Raid 0 SSD + Raid 0 Caviar Black WD6402AAEX Hard Drive
XFX 850W Black Edition
CrossFire Radeon XFX Core Edition R9 290
NZXT Phantom 630
Liteon Blu-Ray

 01/09/2014 10:01 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
AMDforMe
Farming Materials

Posts: 600
Joined: 09/08/2013

Turbo mode is a complicated algorithm that looks at load and CPU temp thus you may not be able to actually test at a specific Turbo mode frequency because the CPU changes in an instant to the highest frequency but only when needed and only when the CPU temp is within whatever window AMD programmed it.

You can manually lock the CPU at 4.2 GHz. if you want to confirm stability at that frequency. Many of the FX-8350 CPUs will run 4.5-4.7 GHz. stable on manual settings. Mine is at 4.6 GHz. 24/7.



-------------------------

Building a reliable PC involves more than just assembling the parts. You need to be able to configure all of the BIOS settings appropriately. This can be quite involved and frustrating as it can require a lot of trial and error with stress testing. It is however often the only means to get a 100% reliable PC.

 01/09/2014 09:18 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
charest2394
Grinding Levels

Posts: 159
Joined: 01/23/2010

Thank for the answer I have try a modificaiton in my bios I have enable the Core C6 state and after my CPU pass of 4.0Ghz to 4.2Ghz in turbo.

 

 



-------------------------

AMD FX-8350 @ 4.4Ghz
Asus Crosshair V Formula-z
Patriot Viper 16 Go 1600Mhz (9-9-9-24)
Raid 0 SSD + Raid 0 Caviar Black WD6402AAEX Hard Drive
XFX 850W Black Edition
CrossFire Radeon XFX Core Edition R9 290
NZXT Phantom 630
Liteon Blu-Ray

 01/09/2014 09:25 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
AMDforMe
Farming Materials

Posts: 600
Joined: 09/08/2013

Yes C6 is a power savings mode that is normally enabled by the BIOS for the FX procesors. I'm surprised your BIOS did not automatically enable this.



-------------------------

Building a reliable PC involves more than just assembling the parts. You need to be able to configure all of the BIOS settings appropriately. This can be quite involved and frustrating as it can require a lot of trial and error with stress testing. It is however often the only means to get a 100% reliable PC.

 01/09/2014 09:43 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
charest2394
Grinding Levels

Posts: 159
Joined: 01/23/2010

Yes by default it was actived but its my fault I have change that parameter for a test and I have look my cpu clock after this change.



-------------------------

AMD FX-8350 @ 4.4Ghz
Asus Crosshair V Formula-z
Patriot Viper 16 Go 1600Mhz (9-9-9-24)
Raid 0 SSD + Raid 0 Caviar Black WD6402AAEX Hard Drive
XFX 850W Black Edition
CrossFire Radeon XFX Core Edition R9 290
NZXT Phantom 630
Liteon Blu-Ray

 01/09/2014 10:17 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
charest2394
Grinding Levels

Posts: 159
Joined: 01/23/2010

Originally posted by: AMDforMe Turbo mode is a complicated algorithm that looks at load and CPU temp thus you may not be able to actually test at a specific Turbo mode frequency because the CPU changes in an instant to the highest frequency but only when needed and only when the CPU temp is within whatever window AMD programmed it.

 

You can manually lock the CPU at 4.2 GHz. if you want to confirm stability at that frequency. Many of the FX-8350 CPUs will run 4.5-4.7 GHz. stable on manual settings. Mine is at 4.6 GHz. 24/7.

 

 

For have a overcloking at 4.6 Ghz are you on watercooling or on air?



-------------------------

AMD FX-8350 @ 4.4Ghz
Asus Crosshair V Formula-z
Patriot Viper 16 Go 1600Mhz (9-9-9-24)
Raid 0 SSD + Raid 0 Caviar Black WD6402AAEX Hard Drive
XFX 850W Black Edition
CrossFire Radeon XFX Core Edition R9 290
NZXT Phantom 630
Liteon Blu-Ray

 01/09/2014 10:19 PM
User is online View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
black_zion
80 Column Mind

Posts: 12332
Joined: 04/17/2008

I run my 8350 at 4.615GHz at stock voltage using a Corsair H60.

-------------------------
ASUS Sabertooth 990FX/Gen3 R2, FX-8350 w/ Corsair H60, 8 GiB G.SKILL RipjawsX DDR3-2133, XFX HD 7970 Ghz, 512GB Vertex 4, 256GB Vector, 240GB Agility 3, Creative X-Fi Titanium w/ Creative Gigaworks S750, SeaSonic X750, HP ZR2440w, Win 7 Ultimate x64
 01/09/2014 10:26 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
charest2394
Grinding Levels

Posts: 159
Joined: 01/23/2010

Originally posted by: black_zion I run my 8350 at 4.615GHz at stock voltage using a Corsair H60.

 

When you say stock voltage do you say example on auto mode in the bios of the motherboard?

I am looking for overcloking my FX-8350.



-------------------------

AMD FX-8350 @ 4.4Ghz
Asus Crosshair V Formula-z
Patriot Viper 16 Go 1600Mhz (9-9-9-24)
Raid 0 SSD + Raid 0 Caviar Black WD6402AAEX Hard Drive
XFX 850W Black Edition
CrossFire Radeon XFX Core Edition R9 290
NZXT Phantom 630
Liteon Blu-Ray

 01/09/2014 11:01 PM
User is online View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
black_zion
80 Column Mind

Posts: 12332
Joined: 04/17/2008

No, I mean stock voltage:



-------------------------
ASUS Sabertooth 990FX/Gen3 R2, FX-8350 w/ Corsair H60, 8 GiB G.SKILL RipjawsX DDR3-2133, XFX HD 7970 Ghz, 512GB Vertex 4, 256GB Vector, 240GB Agility 3, Creative X-Fi Titanium w/ Creative Gigaworks S750, SeaSonic X750, HP ZR2440w, Win 7 Ultimate x64
 01/09/2014 11:42 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
AMDforMe
Farming Materials

Posts: 600
Joined: 09/08/2013

I use the Xigmatek Aegir SD128264 with my FX-8350 OC'ed to 4.6 GHz. You can use one or two fans. A second fan only lowers the full load temps a few degrees so most people just use one fan. A second fan provides additional VRM/mobo cooling if you play video games for hours at a time or do encoding or other CPU intensive work .

Each CPU/mobo/RAM combination will require different settings to be 100% stable when overclocked and IME you need to run all critical settings in manual mode, not auto. With the CPU vcore voltage set to "auto" on most AM3+ mobos, the system will over-volt the CPU as the load increases. This causes the CPU to run excessively hot and limits the OC'ing potential.

There are numerous FX overclocking guides in forums but the first thing you need to understand and accept is that overclocking immediately voids your CPU warranty. So if you damage your CPU, AMD is not going to warranty it.

If you want to proceed then you'd want to disable:

Cool & Quiet, Turbo Core mode, Application Power Management, C6 and C1E. Make sure that your HSF is set to run at 100% in the mobo BIOS.

IME the NB Frequency works best at 2600 MHz., CPU NB voltage at 1.325V, HT = 2600 MHz., HT Voltage at 1.25v, RAM voltage approx. .05V higher than the specified default voltage and CPU voltage in the range of 1.4xx volts depending on your CPU/mobo and other possibilities.

Load Line Control (LLC), should be set to whatever percentage setting maintains the manual vcore voltage that you set, so when the CPU goes under heavy load the vcore changes the least amount from what you set it. Different mobo maker's lable LLC in different ways so the only means to actually know what works best is thru extensive testing while using OCCT or other software that can monitor and record the vcore voltage, Core Temp, etc. under stress testing loads.

Be advised that neither I nor anyone else can be responsible for damage or problems that may result from you using the information provided. On occasion people do damage their hardware and the CPU is not covered when overclocked.

Typically you might start reliability stress testing at say 4.4 or 4.5 GHz. If your system runs 100% reliable for at least a few hours of stress testing, then you can up the CPU multiplier a little more to see what is possible. The CPU temp should always be monitored and not allowed to exceed 61C under full load.



-------------------------

Building a reliable PC involves more than just assembling the parts. You need to be able to configure all of the BIOS settings appropriately. This can be quite involved and frustrating as it can require a lot of trial and error with stress testing. It is however often the only means to get a 100% reliable PC.



Edited: 01/09/2014 at 11:51 PM by AMDforMe
 01/10/2014 03:15 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
charest2394
Grinding Levels

Posts: 159
Joined: 01/23/2010

Thanks for your information,

I have understand the point, anyone else can be responsable for me if I make and error in my setup of overcloking, but I think it's difficult to dommage your CPU if keep security ON on your motherboard.

The most important it's ton keep the control on a raisonnable vcore and a good temperature for the processor.



-------------------------

AMD FX-8350 @ 4.4Ghz
Asus Crosshair V Formula-z
Patriot Viper 16 Go 1600Mhz (9-9-9-24)
Raid 0 SSD + Raid 0 Caviar Black WD6402AAEX Hard Drive
XFX 850W Black Edition
CrossFire Radeon XFX Core Edition R9 290
NZXT Phantom 630
Liteon Blu-Ray

 01/10/2014 03:52 PM
User is online View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
black_zion
80 Column Mind

Posts: 12332
Joined: 04/17/2008

Only modify one variable at a time. Before you do anything, open Run and type msconfig, click on the Boot tab, and click Safe Boot. This will cause it to boot in safe mode automatically every time and help prevent data loss and file corruption. Then under CPU Configuration in BIOS enable ECC on the L1, L2, and L3 caches. Start with the CPU VDDA. Set it to 2.75v, that will slightly bump the voltage under load to counter voltage droop. Start with the multiplier, you can start at 0.5 above the turbo frequency multiplier. Boot and check with 1 runthrough of Prime95 Blend (it will say test complete.) When you are no longer able to do that, then you increase the Vcore by A QUARTER OF A TENTH (0.025) OF A VOLT until you can maintain stability, then increase the multiplier again until you are not stable, increase the voltage again, and repeat. Keep a paper log of which speeds and voltages are stable, and continue until you reach the limit of your cooling ability, or until you have to increase the voltage several times to gain 100mhz which is the point of diminishing returns. Once you find the place you are Prime95 stable at, load up 3DMark11 and run it on a continuous loop on Performance, as this will stress the whole system in a more realistic way than Prime95 will.

Do note that Prime95 is a "power virus" and it is entirely possible to not be "Prime95 stable" yet are able to perform CPU intense tasks such as video encoding and lighter tasks such as games perfectly fine. In my experience, you will want to keep your CPU under 55°C, as that as when errors start to pop up due to thermals. You will also want a closed loop liquid cooler with fans in a push/pull setup, and installed in a way so that fresh air is pulled from outside the case and exhausted into it, as a tower style heatsink is less effective and much louder,

-------------------------
ASUS Sabertooth 990FX/Gen3 R2, FX-8350 w/ Corsair H60, 8 GiB G.SKILL RipjawsX DDR3-2133, XFX HD 7970 Ghz, 512GB Vertex 4, 256GB Vector, 240GB Agility 3, Creative X-Fi Titanium w/ Creative Gigaworks S750, SeaSonic X750, HP ZR2440w, Win 7 Ultimate x64
 01/10/2014 04:04 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
charest2394
Grinding Levels

Posts: 159
Joined: 01/23/2010

I have a good watercooling kit on my CPU for keep it coold!

I have question for the DIGI + Power Control menu in the bios did he have important modification to make in this menu? Or is it possible to keep the default value in this menu?

Thanks for you help!



-------------------------

AMD FX-8350 @ 4.4Ghz
Asus Crosshair V Formula-z
Patriot Viper 16 Go 1600Mhz (9-9-9-24)
Raid 0 SSD + Raid 0 Caviar Black WD6402AAEX Hard Drive
XFX 850W Black Edition
CrossFire Radeon XFX Core Edition R9 290
NZXT Phantom 630
Liteon Blu-Ray



Edited: 01/10/2014 at 04:21 PM by charest2394
 01/10/2014 04:08 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
charest2394
Grinding Levels

Posts: 159
Joined: 01/23/2010

What is the best performance solution for the overcloking of the AMD processor the multiplicator or the bus speed?

I think the multiplicator it's more easy but your have better performance with the bus speed with each single core?



-------------------------

AMD FX-8350 @ 4.4Ghz
Asus Crosshair V Formula-z
Patriot Viper 16 Go 1600Mhz (9-9-9-24)
Raid 0 SSD + Raid 0 Caviar Black WD6402AAEX Hard Drive
XFX 850W Black Edition
CrossFire Radeon XFX Core Edition R9 290
NZXT Phantom 630
Liteon Blu-Ray

 01/10/2014 04:15 PM
User is online View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
black_zion
80 Column Mind

Posts: 12332
Joined: 04/17/2008

Multiplier.

-------------------------
ASUS Sabertooth 990FX/Gen3 R2, FX-8350 w/ Corsair H60, 8 GiB G.SKILL RipjawsX DDR3-2133, XFX HD 7970 Ghz, 512GB Vertex 4, 256GB Vector, 240GB Agility 3, Creative X-Fi Titanium w/ Creative Gigaworks S750, SeaSonic X750, HP ZR2440w, Win 7 Ultimate x64
 01/10/2014 05:04 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
AMDforMe
Farming Materials

Posts: 600
Joined: 09/08/2013

Based on feedback from a lot of FX OC'ers the multiplier is the easiest way and usually as good or sometimes better than messing with the BUS frequency.

By definition overclocking means running PC components beyond their rated operating speed or voltage. As such at any time the CPU or mobo could fail for any number of reasons even when not overheated. There is no "security" on the CPU other than keeping the CPU core temp below the AMD specified 24/7 61C.

I have done extensive testing with the FX-8350 at temps up to 70C and experienced no errors until the mid 60C range so 61C as AMD has specified should be 100% reliable. It's not uncommon to have ~90% stability at lower vcore or CPU-NB voltages and end up needing to raise these or other voltages considerably more to get a 100% P95 stable system. I typically use 24 hours of P95 to confirm my PCs are 100% stable.

In regards to Prime 95, it is a very strenuous testing methodology. Many people think there is a problem with it when their PC won't run stable for more than a few seconds to a few minutes under P95 - especially on FX processors. The problem is NOT P95 at all. The problem is the specific BIOS settings are not correct for your system to run 100% stable. Thus you need to back off on the OC or spend the time necessary to find the optimal settings for your mobo/CPU. This is what serious OC'ing is all about.

Some folks who really don't care about system stability often brag about higher overclocks even though their system is not P95 stable. That's perfectly fine if you're OK with the loss of data, BSOD, etc. No one is required to have a stable PC. For those who aren't interested in the crashes and hassles then P95 is an excellent tool to find the right BIOS settings to make your PC as reliable as possible regardless of what frequency you run at including the stock configuration.

I spent several MONTHS working 8+ hours per day testing the FX-8350 CPUs on the Asrock Fatality 990FX Pro mobo to confirm the information that I posted above. Other people who have tried the settings I suggested have also had good success and been able to OC higher with 100% stability. These settings however are not guaranteed to work for everyone as each mobo and CPU vary. Thus they are a good starting point for those who want to learn what their hardware is capable of. Some CPUs/mobos OC better than others. Anything that you get beyond the OEM specs is free other than your time.

Enjoy.



-------------------------

Building a reliable PC involves more than just assembling the parts. You need to be able to configure all of the BIOS settings appropriately. This can be quite involved and frustrating as it can require a lot of trial and error with stress testing. It is however often the only means to get a 100% reliable PC.



Edited: 01/11/2014 at 01:26 PM by AMDforMe
 02/11/2014 05:33 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
charest2394
Grinding Levels

Posts: 159
Joined: 01/23/2010

Hello,

I have overcloked my FX-8350 to start at 4.4Ghz with a Vcore = 1.356V but when I look make a test with OCCT I see the Vcore was boost to 1.368V? Why did he have a option to disable in the bios the eliminate the Vcore to change. In the moment I am configured in manualy for the voltage of my Vcore.

 

 



-------------------------

AMD FX-8350 @ 4.4Ghz
Asus Crosshair V Formula-z
Patriot Viper 16 Go 1600Mhz (9-9-9-24)
Raid 0 SSD + Raid 0 Caviar Black WD6402AAEX Hard Drive
XFX 850W Black Edition
CrossFire Radeon XFX Core Edition R9 290
NZXT Phantom 630
Liteon Blu-Ray

 02/11/2014 10:23 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
AMDforMe
Farming Materials

Posts: 600
Joined: 09/08/2013

Typically for overclocking you want to set the vcore to the lowest voltage possible for 100% PC stability under Prime 95 stress testing and also use the Line Load Calibrationl (LLC) or similar named BIOS option to maintain the vcore voltage as close as possible to the manually set voltage. Different mobo and BIOS address the LLC function in a different manner so you'll need to use OCCT or similar software to view the CPU vcore under heavy load to see which LLC setting works the best.

Many mobos when left on "auto" for vcore or LLC over-volt the 8-core FX CPUs terribly and cause them to overheat and crash or freeze. You want to keep any 8-core FX CPU at or below 61C under 100% load such as with Prime 95 stress testing.

IME of extensive testing of the FX-8350 CPUs you can get 85-90% stability when overclocking with close to the default vcore but to get 100% P95 stability for 24/7 use you will likely need to increase the vcore substantially at higher frequencies and this creates more heat so you need a good HSF and case airflow.



-------------------------

Building a reliable PC involves more than just assembling the parts. You need to be able to configure all of the BIOS settings appropriately. This can be quite involved and frustrating as it can require a lot of trial and error with stress testing. It is however often the only means to get a 100% reliable PC.

 03/19/2014 02:59 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Echoes
Peon

Posts: 1
Joined: 03/19/2014

Originally posted by: AMDforMe Turbo mode is a complicated algorithm that looks at load and CPU temp thus you may not be able to actually test at a specific Turbo mode frequency because the CPU changes in an instant to the highest frequency but only when needed and only when the CPU temp is within whatever window AMD programmed it.

 

You can manually lock the CPU at 4.2 GHz. if you want to confirm stability at that frequency. Many of the FX-8350 CPUs will run 4.5-4.7 GHz. stable on manual settings. Mine is at 4.6 GHz. 24/7.

 

Can anyone see if you disable turbo core feature, suspend and resume leaves you with it enabled again? After disabling it in bios, HWiNFOR64 reported a maximum frequency of 4070Mhz on my FX 8350 which is about right. After suspend and resume I see the maximum frequency going up to 4214 just like turbo core would be reenabled. After a windows restart the maximum clocks go back to 4070max .

Can anyone validate this so I can raise the issue with Asus?

 

Thanks, 

 05/22/2014 05:57 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
aj90lfc
Peon

Posts: 5
Joined: 05/13/2014

Originally posted by: Echoes
Originally posted by: AMDforMe Turbo mode is a complicated algorithm that looks at load and CPU temp thus you may not be able to actually test at a specific Turbo mode frequency because the CPU changes in an instant to the highest frequency but only when needed and only when the CPU temp is within whatever window AMD programmed it.

 

 

 

You can manually lock the CPU at 4.2 GHz. if you want to confirm stability at that frequency. Many of the FX-8350 CPUs will run 4.5-4.7 GHz. stable on manual settings. Mine is at 4.6 GHz. 24/7.

 

 

 

 

Can anyone see if you disable turbo core feature, suspend and resume leaves you with it enabled again? After disabling it in bios, HWiNFOR64 reported a maximum frequency of 4070Mhz on my FX 8350 which is about right. After suspend and resume I see the maximum frequency going up to 4214 just like turbo core would be reenabled. After a windows restart the maximum clocks go back to 4070max .

 

Can anyone validate this so I can raise the issue with Asus?

 

 

 

Thanks, 

 

 

Not an ASUS problem i believe i have it too on my Gigabyte GA-78LMT-USB3. And i don't have LLC, C6, C1E, APM or Turbo Core options since this is only a *****cheap mATX MB, everytime i disable Turbo Core using AMD Overdrive (if i don't i get system crashes but i can clock up manually no issues as far as i believe and have witnessed) when my system reboots it always enables it, and i can't stop this. I've ticked "apply on next system boot" i've tried setting as default but it always boots up enabled so everytime i restart my machine i need to disable it in Overdrive, VERY frustrating, i also tried to reset the CMOS, an that did nothing. It sounds a little to me like it's a Turbo Core bug.

Or my problem may just be with my GPU tbh, when i had my old HD7970 GE, i could overclock my CPU to 4.5 Ghz no problem even with 2 fans installed, i now have 3 fans installed and upgraded to a R9 290 but if i push my FX8350 past 4.1 Ghz it freezes my system



-------------------------

ASUS Sabertooth 990FX Rev2.0


Corsair Graphite 760T


16GB @ 1333 mhz


FX8350


Corsair RM850 +80 Gold


Sapphire 4GB OC TRI-X R9 290



Edited: 05/23/2014 at 03:15 AM by aj90lfc
Statistics
84687 users are registered to the AMD Support and Game forum.
There are currently 4 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.