Topic Title: Drivers
Topic Summary: Need drivers
Created On: 02/03/2014 11:06 PM
Status: Post and Reply
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 02/03/2014 11:06 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
AlexXG70
Peon

Posts: 1
Joined: 02/03/2014

Installed a Phenom II, and windows ask me for drivers ("new hardware found").

The only drivers I have are the intel driver ("intel processor"), and those did not work.

There are not processors drivers in www.amd.com, only GPU and APU drivers.

 

 02/03/2014 11:29 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
AMDforMe
Overclocker

Posts: 675
Joined: 09/08/2013

Chances are you need a BIOS update for your mobo to properly recognise the new CPU. There are no user installable drivers per se for AMD CPUs but the O/S needs to know if the CPU is an Intel or AMD to install the proper x86 instructions for the maximum benefit of the CPU. There are some Windows "patches" to improve performance for some AMD CPUs on some O/Ss however.



-------------------------

Technical ignorance is NOT a destiny it is a choice. Do your homework so that you can make technically informed decisions and not be duped by advertising hype or mis-information stated as fact when its not.


 

 02/03/2014 11:34 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
stumped
Wizard

Posts: 7859
Joined: 11/13/2009

Maybe chipset drivers? Just a guess....

http://support.amd.com/en-us/download/chipset?os=Windows 8 - 32



-------------------------

Intel I7 960 @ 3.87ghz *Intel DX58SO *AMD R9 290 4gb *Corsair TX650M *2x4gb Corsair XMS3 *WD Black 1TB *Windows 7 Home Premium 64bit ***Asus N71Jq laptop *Intel I7 720QM Processor *Mobility Radeon HD5730 1gb *8gb Ram *Windows 7 64bit ** Toshiba P75-A7200 * Intel I7-4700MQ * Windows 8.1 64bit 


***** cetera fallunt, ludere mortuus ******

 02/11/2014 11:57 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
erddem
Peon

Posts: 1
Joined: 02/11/2014

? need "amd athlon ii dual-core m300 driver"  for win 7 32 bit ..  could anybody help me ? 

 02/12/2014 12:11 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
AMDforMe
Overclocker

Posts: 675
Joined: 09/08/2013

There are no Win 7 32 bit CPU drivers other than the ones that Windows installs and the ones that are mobo specific and come on the mobo CD or from the mobo makers website. In other words your Athlon II M300 doesn't require any specific User installed drivers other than as listed above. As long as your mobo/laptop BIOS properly identifies the CPU then Windows will install the proper O/S drivers other than the mobo chipset, LAN etc. drivers that are provided by the mobo/laptop maker.



-------------------------

Technical ignorance is NOT a destiny it is a choice. Do your homework so that you can make technically informed decisions and not be duped by advertising hype or mis-information stated as fact when its not.


 

Statistics
89084 users are registered to the AMD Support and Game forum.
There are currently 0 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.