Topic Title: Want to install Win 7 on AMD Athlon II X2
Topic Summary:
Created On: 02/04/2014 08:31 AM
Status: Post and Reply
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 02/04/2014 08:31 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Auntie
Peon

Posts: 2
Joined: 02/04/2014

I would like to install 64 bit Win 7 on a comp that's been running XP 32 bit.

I think my motherboard and cpu support 64bit but I'm not sure if I can get the drivers.

Someone posted the following here in topic  "cpu not supported by Win 7" (01/14/2014):

"More than likely the issue is the mobo BIOS needs to be updated to recognize the CPU properly. Win 7 should run on any of the AMD X86 CPUs."

 

I have two questions:

1) Is the cpu I have (AMD Athlon II X2) an AMD X86 CPU?

2) And will I be able to download the drivers I need for Win 7?

I'm using an AS Rock motherboard which allows for 8 gb RAM and 64 bit systems.  The motherboard, cpu and graphics card are all maybe 3 or 4 years old.

Thanks for any help.

 

 02/04/2014 08:52 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
AMDforMe
Farming Materials

Posts: 600
Joined: 09/08/2013

Yes the AMD Athlon II is an X86 based CPU and yes you can run Win 7 64-bit on it. There are no CPU drivers per se for user installation. The Windows O/S loads drivers based on the CPU model to allow use of all of the CPUs micro code. Any chipset drivers would typically come from the mobo maker and be on their website if not on the CD that came with your mobo.



-------------------------

Building a reliable PC involves more than just assembling the parts. You need to be able to configure all of the BIOS settings appropriately. This can be quite involved and frustrating as it can require a lot of trial and error with stress testing. It is however often the only means to get a 100% reliable PC.



Edited: 02/04/2014 at 09:54 AM by AMDforMe
 02/04/2014 01:48 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Hammey
Grinding Levels

Posts: 179
Joined: 05/09/2012

Hi just to add AMD was the first to release a desktop 64 bit cpu. The AMD Athlon 64 bit, I run a AMD Athlon 64 bit 3400 + socket 754 in one of my pc's single core it runs windows 7 64 bit just great. This Cpu was clocked at 2.4 GHz and it would blow away any intel p4 cpu clocked at 3.2 GHz. Yes you can say Intel had 64 bit Cpu's before that but not for normal desktop use.

-------------------------
MSI Mpower Max, I7-4770K, MSI GTX 780 Lightning, G.SKILL Trident X Series 16GB DDR3-2400, 2X Kingston HyperX 3K 480GB , 1Tb Raptor, Creative ZXR Sound, 1000 watt Coolermaster Single 80 amp Rail, G700s Mouse, Z5500 Speakers
 02/05/2014 08:36 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Auntie
Peon

Posts: 2
Joined: 02/04/2014

Thanks for the info.  Now to track down a copy of Win7.  muharharhar

Statistics
84170 users are registered to the AMD Support and Game forum.
There are currently 6 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.