Topic Title: FX-8120 Processor - What Bit ?
Topic Summary:
Created On: 02/06/2014 03:10 AM
Status: Post and Reply
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 02/06/2014 03:10 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
nezammca
Peon

Posts: 1
Joined: 02/06/2014

HI.,

I am using FX-8120 Processor i am not aware whether its 64bit or 32bit. 

but the OS iam using is 32-bit. And i am planning to install windows 8.1 i need to know whether i will be able to install. 

Need response asap. Guys,

Thanks., 

Nezam

 02/06/2014 03:19 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Aoyagi
Peon

Posts: 12
Joined: 10/26/2011

Like all modern CPUs, it's running under AMD64 / x86-64, so it can run both 64b and 32b OSes. There is no reason I can think of to use 32b OS nowadays.



-------------------------

Using an apostrophe to make plural is dumb, stop doing that and go get some education instead. If you misuse apostrophes like that, you need education.

 02/06/2014 03:41 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
zipsi
Case Modder

Posts: 922
Joined: 11/22/2010

32bit OS's are for.. horses and Netbooks.



-------------------------
Intel I7 3770K @ 4.5ghz, Cooler Master Hyper 212 Evo, Gigabyte Z77X-UD3H, Gigabyte HD7970 ghz edition, 4x4gb Kingston HyperX Beast 2133mhz, Seasonic Platinum 860, OCZ Vertex 4 128gb, WD Black 1TB, WD Green 3TB+1.5TB, ASUS Xonar Essence ST, ASUS VE278Q, Windows 3.11
 02/06/2014 09:38 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
black_zion
Nanotechnology Guru

Posts: 11577
Joined: 04/17/2008

32 bit OS's are for people who think Windows XP is God and computers were faster 10 years ago.

-------------------------
ASUS Sabertooth 990FX/Gen3 R2, FX-8350 w/ Corsair H60, 8 GiB G.SKILL RipjawsX DDR3-2133, XFX HD 7970 Ghz, 512GB Vertex 4, 256GB Vector, 240GB Agility 3, Creative X-Fi Titanium w/ Creative Gigaworks S750, SeaSonic X750, HP ZR2440w, Win 7 Ultimate x64
 02/07/2014 01:20 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
KillerHurdz
Overclocker

Posts: 650
Joined: 07/23/2009

Originally posted by: black_zion 32 bit OS's are for people who think Windows XP is God and computers were faster 10 years ago.

Apparently, XP market usage is up for January -- go figure.



-------------------------

Desktop: AMD Phenom II X4 965 @ 3.5GHz, Sapphire Vapor-X HD5870, ASUS M4A78T-E, 8GB Kingston/Mushkin DDR3-1333, 256GB OCZ Vertex 4, 2xSeagate Momentus XT 500GB Hybrid Drive (RAID0), ASUS Xonar Xense, Corsair HX750W, Antec Nine Hundred, Windows 7 Professional x64.

HP Touchsmart TM2: Intel Core i5 430UM, Hitachi 250GB 7200RPM HDD, ATI Radeon HD5450, 8GB Samsung DDR3-1333 (CL9), Windows 7 Professional x64.

 02/07/2014 07:54 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Update2Computer
Peon

Posts: 4
Joined: 01/05/2014

Originally posted by: nezammca HI.,

 

I am using FX-8120 Processor i am not aware whether its 64bit or 32bit. 

 

but the OS iam using is 32-bit. And i am planning to install windows 8.1 i need to know whether i will be able to install. 

 

Need response asap. Guys,

 

Thanks., 

 

Nezam

 

 

Changing OS from 32 bit to 64 bit will force you to make a "clean install" which means that you can not keep anything on that harddisk or SSD from your old OS. Make sure you have all your application/program availible on another storage (HD/SSD/DVD) and all licence keys before you start to install your new OS.

Microsoft have an application that you might run before you install your OS to make sure that your drivers and hardware will be able to run on 64 bit OS. You will find it at Microsofts site, if you search for it there.

For the need of knowing what kind of CPU and capabilities there are software like CPU-Z which will let you know that your CPU run in x86-64 mode (which is 64 bit; older CPU which is only 32 bit will show x86).

Statistics
80948 users are registered to the AMD Support and Game forum.
There are currently 2 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.