Topic Title: AMD FX 8320 or 8350
Topic Summary: CPU
Created On: 03/03/2014 05:45 AM
Status: Post and Reply
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 03/03/2014 05:45 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Pantz
Peon

Posts: 13
Joined: 01/11/2013

Hello everyone been a while since i have been to this forum, i am cosidering  getting a AMD  8320 or 8350 since the prices are resoanable, i currently have a AMD 965x2 and a Sabertooth motherboard,

i heard that the 8320 and 8350 can get quite hot under full load, i do have a 3rd party fan thats keepin my current CPU at 55c under load,

is it worth getting the 8320 or 8350 at this  time ? 

Thanks in Advance 

http://www.amazon.co.uk/AMD-FX8320-Edition-4-0GHz-Socket/dp/B009O7YU56/ref=wl_it_dp_o_pd_nS_nC?ie=UTF8&colid=775P30T42CTK&coliid=IOO9B0FHKJUMB

 

http://www.amazon.co.uk/AMD-FX8350-Edition-Processor-4-2GHz/dp/B009O7YUF6/ref=wl_it_dp_o_pd_S_nC?ie=UTF8&colid=775P30T42CTK&coliid=IH2NDLE29IH76



-------------------------

Sabertooth R2.0 990 FX


AMD FX8320


Genuine Windows 7 Pro X64 


Corsair 8 MB (DDR3 1866 Mhz SDRAM)

Video Adapter NVIDIA GeForce GTX  650 Ti

Hitachi HDT721010SLA360 1T

ZALMAN CNPS 10 X  LED Processor cooler

Corsair 750 W power supply

 03/03/2014 09:18 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
AMDforMe
Overclocker

Posts: 654
Joined: 09/08/2013

The FX-8320 and 8350 are a significant step up in performance IME and that of many other folks over a 965BE. Depending on how you use your PC it may be a big improvement or a modest improvement. Both CPUs perform well and typically overclock well also if you like to OC.

You will need a mobo and BIOS that supports these CPUs and a quality HSF for cooling if you chose not to use the OE fan. These 8-core CPUs output a lot more heat than a quad core 965. The FX-8xxx series runs fine up to the AMD specified 61C max full load temp. unlike the PIIs which preferred 55C as a max for most CPUs.

TheZALMAN CNPS 9700 is a mid-range cooler but it should work fine I suspect for a non-overclocked FX-8320/8350. If you get into 1.4+ vcore for overclocking then you'll probably need a better cooler.



-------------------------

Building a reliable PC involves more than just assembling the parts. You need to be able to configure all of the BIOS settings appropriately. This can be quite involved and frustrating as it can require a lot of trial and error with stress testing. It is however often the only means to get a 100% reliable PC.



Edited: 03/03/2014 at 09:34 AM by AMDforMe
 03/03/2014 10:44 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Pantz
Peon

Posts: 13
Joined: 01/11/2013

hello and thanks for the reply AMD4ME. i am mostly gaming and surfing, and watching movies, my current CPU is not overclocked ATM, and i have a low midrange GPU, so i wont be OCing anytime soon, 

my Zelman has done a great job in keeping my current CPU well below 62C it max out at 55C while playing boarderlands 2 .

My GPU does heat up a bit as high as 62C but thats well in rannge for the card. 

i think the 8320 is a great buy for the price its at now, 

Thanks in Advance 

 



-------------------------

Sabertooth R2.0 990 FX


AMD FX8320


Genuine Windows 7 Pro X64 


Corsair 8 MB (DDR3 1866 Mhz SDRAM)

Video Adapter NVIDIA GeForce GTX  650 Ti

Hitachi HDT721010SLA360 1T

ZALMAN CNPS 10 X  LED Processor cooler

Corsair 750 W power supply

 03/03/2014 12:20 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
AMDforMe
Overclocker

Posts: 654
Joined: 09/08/2013

Some games play up to 50% faster on an FX-8350 than on a PII CPU while others are not much different because they are not well written code that can take advantage of more then a quad core CPU. Overall however I think the FX-8320/8350 are an excellent upgrade for most people and the price is very attractive.

Enjoy!



-------------------------

Building a reliable PC involves more than just assembling the parts. You need to be able to configure all of the BIOS settings appropriately. This can be quite involved and frustrating as it can require a lot of trial and error with stress testing. It is however often the only means to get a 100% reliable PC.

 03/04/2014 12:22 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Pantz
Peon

Posts: 13
Joined: 01/11/2013

 hello again, i have desided to go with the  FX 8320 and a new aftermarker  cooler  Arctic freezer 13 

i belive that i can install the cooler with out taking the mother board out ? 

i belive that the new cooler will fit in my case  

12.3 x 9.6 x 13 cm

my current Zalman coole is 12.4 x 14.2 x 9.1 cm

i will put my Phenom 2 965BE and zalman cooler in my backup PC 

and the FX 8320 and Artic freezer in my Main PC , i think that is doable ? 

http://www.amazon.co.uk/gp/product/B0048F64DU/ref=ox_sc_act_title_1?ie=UTF8&psc=1&smid=A3P5ROKL5A1OLE



-------------------------

Sabertooth R2.0 990 FX


AMD FX8320


Genuine Windows 7 Pro X64 


Corsair 8 MB (DDR3 1866 Mhz SDRAM)

Video Adapter NVIDIA GeForce GTX  650 Ti

Hitachi HDT721010SLA360 1T

ZALMAN CNPS 10 X  LED Processor cooler

Corsair 750 W power supply

 03/04/2014 12:41 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
AMDforMe
Overclocker

Posts: 654
Joined: 09/08/2013

Actually your Zalman CNPS 9700 has much more thermal capacity compared to the Arctic 13 which is a mid-level HSF. You would want the better HSF on the FX-8320. The link below shows you how the Arctic 13 compares to the Zalman CNPS 9700 as well as many other cooler.

http://www.frostytech.com/articleview.cfm?articleid=2558&page=4

The Zalman CNPS 10X or many other HSFs would be a better choice for the FX-8320 than the Arctic 13, as long as they fit in your PC case.

http://www.frostytech.com/articleview.cfm?articleID=2475



-------------------------

Building a reliable PC involves more than just assembling the parts. You need to be able to configure all of the BIOS settings appropriately. This can be quite involved and frustrating as it can require a lot of trial and error with stress testing. It is however often the only means to get a 100% reliable PC.

 03/05/2014 12:16 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Pantz
Peon

Posts: 13
Joined: 01/11/2013

Hello Again,  i have desides to go with the FX 8320 and the Zalman CNPS10 Extream CPU cooler, since i will only be doing limited OC 

http://www.amazon.co.uk/gp/product/B00G6CNLD4/ref=ox_sc_act_title_1?ie=UTF8&psc=1&smid=A2VG3212FDIQWH

 



-------------------------

Sabertooth R2.0 990 FX


AMD FX8320


Genuine Windows 7 Pro X64 


Corsair 8 MB (DDR3 1866 Mhz SDRAM)

Video Adapter NVIDIA GeForce GTX  650 Ti

Hitachi HDT721010SLA360 1T

ZALMAN CNPS 10 X  LED Processor cooler

Corsair 750 W power supply

 03/05/2014 12:31 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
AMDforMe
Overclocker

Posts: 654
Joined: 09/08/2013

That combo should work well for you.

Enjoy !



-------------------------

Building a reliable PC involves more than just assembling the parts. You need to be able to configure all of the BIOS settings appropriately. This can be quite involved and frustrating as it can require a lot of trial and error with stress testing. It is however often the only means to get a 100% reliable PC.

 03/08/2014 05:05 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Pantz
Peon

Posts: 13
Joined: 01/11/2013

Hello everyone, well i got my 8320 yesterday and i am very happy, althought it did not come in the RED CAN, i am a little disaponted LOL. i am still waiting on the new CPU heat sink, but i do have a question. 

Should i update the BIOS before installing the NEW FX 8320, or should i update the BIOS after the install ? 



-------------------------

Sabertooth R2.0 990 FX


AMD FX8320


Genuine Windows 7 Pro X64 


Corsair 8 MB (DDR3 1866 Mhz SDRAM)

Video Adapter NVIDIA GeForce GTX  650 Ti

Hitachi HDT721010SLA360 1T

ZALMAN CNPS 10 X  LED Processor cooler

Corsair 750 W power supply

 03/08/2014 05:56 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Pantz
Peon

Posts: 13
Joined: 01/11/2013

Hello again , looks like i am going to have to do several updates  from 1503  to  2104,  i guess i have to do them one at a time ? 

 

Thanks in advance 



-------------------------

Sabertooth R2.0 990 FX


AMD FX8320


Genuine Windows 7 Pro X64 


Corsair 8 MB (DDR3 1866 Mhz SDRAM)

Video Adapter NVIDIA GeForce GTX  650 Ti

Hitachi HDT721010SLA360 1T

ZALMAN CNPS 10 X  LED Processor cooler

Corsair 750 W power supply

 03/08/2014 11:22 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
AMDforMe
Overclocker

Posts: 654
Joined: 09/08/2013

You need to update the BIOS before installing the new CPU. You do not need to update one BIOS version at a time, just install the latest BIOS. Follow the directions carefully so that you don't end up with a corrupt BIOS chip.



-------------------------

Building a reliable PC involves more than just assembling the parts. You need to be able to configure all of the BIOS settings appropriately. This can be quite involved and frustrating as it can require a lot of trial and error with stress testing. It is however often the only means to get a 100% reliable PC.

 03/08/2014 08:34 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Pantz
Peon

Posts: 13
Joined: 01/11/2013

hello again I  am trying to update my BIOS for the new CPU, i have a FAT 32  Flash drive and i have renamed the CAP file with the rename utility, and copied the renamed file to the Flash drive
i then rebooted into the BIOS and tried to do the update, and it would not let me update the BIOS, it gave me a security error >
>thanks in advance >



-------------------------

Sabertooth R2.0 990 FX


AMD FX8320


Genuine Windows 7 Pro X64 


Corsair 8 MB (DDR3 1866 Mhz SDRAM)

Video Adapter NVIDIA GeForce GTX  650 Ti

Hitachi HDT721010SLA360 1T

ZALMAN CNPS 10 X  LED Processor cooler

Corsair 750 W power supply

 03/08/2014 08:57 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Pantz
Peon

Posts: 13
Joined: 01/11/2013

Hello again dis regauard last post 

Sucessfull BIOS UPDATE. 



-------------------------

Sabertooth R2.0 990 FX


AMD FX8320


Genuine Windows 7 Pro X64 


Corsair 8 MB (DDR3 1866 Mhz SDRAM)

Video Adapter NVIDIA GeForce GTX  650 Ti

Hitachi HDT721010SLA360 1T

ZALMAN CNPS 10 X  LED Processor cooler

Corsair 750 W power supply

 03/09/2014 05:24 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Pantz
Peon

Posts: 13
Joined: 01/11/2013

Hello again, a quick question before  i insatll my new CPU, once i have installed it , do i still have to install all my motherboard drivers again, or will everything just boot up as i had before ? 

 

Thanks in advance. 



-------------------------

Sabertooth R2.0 990 FX


AMD FX8320


Genuine Windows 7 Pro X64 


Corsair 8 MB (DDR3 1866 Mhz SDRAM)

Video Adapter NVIDIA GeForce GTX  650 Ti

Hitachi HDT721010SLA360 1T

ZALMAN CNPS 10 X  LED Processor cooler

Corsair 750 W power supply

 03/09/2014 10:08 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
AMDforMe
Overclocker

Posts: 654
Joined: 09/08/2013

No you do not need to re-install the mobo chipset drivers. They remain in the system as they are actually for the Windows O/S and not part of the BIOS.

Everything should boot up fine. Windows may add some FX specific patches when it recognizes the new CPU but other than that it should boot normal and run fine.



-------------------------

Building a reliable PC involves more than just assembling the parts. You need to be able to configure all of the BIOS settings appropriately. This can be quite involved and frustrating as it can require a lot of trial and error with stress testing. It is however often the only means to get a 100% reliable PC.

 03/10/2014 10:53 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Pantz
Peon

Posts: 13
Joined: 01/11/2013

Hello again, well i got my new CPU HS  Zalman  10 X  EXTREME.  and man is it huge,it should fit in my case, Also i may have lucked out, i don't have to dismantle my machine to install a Back plate,

so i will attempt the install of the new CPU and FAN, and  do a clean install of W7


Thanks



-------------------------

Sabertooth R2.0 990 FX


AMD FX8320


Genuine Windows 7 Pro X64 


Corsair 8 MB (DDR3 1866 Mhz SDRAM)

Video Adapter NVIDIA GeForce GTX  650 Ti

Hitachi HDT721010SLA360 1T

ZALMAN CNPS 10 X  LED Processor cooler

Corsair 750 W power supply

 03/10/2014 02:39 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Pantz
Peon

Posts: 13
Joined: 01/11/2013

Hello again,  well that was a tight fit .I  have successfully installed my new FX 8320 and Zalman 10 x CPU Heat sinks, and i am shocked to see that my TEMPS are so LOW.

min temp on new CPU is 20C , the max after 2 reboots is 36C the max temp on the new CPU is where my Min was on the old CPU, maybe the thermal was not working as well as it should ?

i have not put it under a load yet, i would like to fine tune it a little more before i put it under a load.

i have not made any changes as yet, this is all at default setting, but i have a few questions,

1, what is the header CPU_OPT used for,

2 the CPU is running at 3711 MHZ, i thought the defaut was 3400 MHZ ?

3 the CPU heat sink has PMW control for the fan, which fan header should it be plugged in to have speed control for the fan ?

any suggestions are more than welcomed
Thank in Advance



-------------------------

Sabertooth R2.0 990 FX


AMD FX8320


Genuine Windows 7 Pro X64 


Corsair 8 MB (DDR3 1866 Mhz SDRAM)

Video Adapter NVIDIA GeForce GTX  650 Ti

Hitachi HDT721010SLA360 1T

ZALMAN CNPS 10 X  LED Processor cooler

Corsair 750 W power supply

 03/10/2014 03:43 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
AMDforMe
Overclocker

Posts: 654
Joined: 09/08/2013

Your mobo user's manual should explain the header listings. The base frequency is 3500 MHz. for the FX-8320. Turbo mode is 4,000 MHz. The frequency in "auto" mode varies with load and temp.

http://products.amd.com/en-us/DesktopCPUDetail.aspx?id=810&f1=&f2=&f3=&f4=&f5=&f6=&f7=&f8=&f9=&f10=&f11=&f12=

Your mobo users manual should tell if the fan header power is PWM. Most newer mobos are. You typically also have a BIOS adjustment for fan speed. The User's Manual may be posted online at the mobo makers website, if you've misplaced it.

Your new HSF is large and should be fine for even heavy use of the FX-8320. These 8-core CPUs do generate considerable heat however.



-------------------------

Building a reliable PC involves more than just assembling the parts. You need to be able to configure all of the BIOS settings appropriately. This can be quite involved and frustrating as it can require a lot of trial and error with stress testing. It is however often the only means to get a 100% reliable PC.



Edited: 03/10/2014 at 09:08 PM by AMDforMe
Statistics
86438 users are registered to the AMD Support and Game forum.
There are currently 4 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.