Topic Title: HPC Mode
Topic Summary:
Created On: 03/07/2014 02:22 PM
Status: Post and Reply
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 03/07/2014 02:22 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
mrfla
Nerfed

Posts: 58
Joined: 03/07/2014

Hi guys, i was wondering, i enabled HPC mode on bios High performance computing,tryed some stuff, monitoring with cpuZ and often i saw the cpu frequency reach 6-7-8 ghz the top i seen was 8.7ghz and nothing overheating at least. Is that normal ?

 03/07/2014 09:06 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
AMDforMe
Overclocker

Posts: 621
Joined: 09/08/2013

No



-------------------------

Building a reliable PC involves more than just assembling the parts. You need to be able to configure all of the BIOS settings appropriately. This can be quite involved and frustrating as it can require a lot of trial and error with stress testing. It is however often the only means to get a 100% reliable PC.

 03/08/2014 06:55 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
zipsi
Elite

Posts: 1050
Joined: 11/22/2010

Try checking temps with something else, frequency monitors probably don't understand what HPC is and give false data. You run a cpu at 8.7 ghz for 0,001 seconds without liquid nitrogen and it will burst like a firecracker.



-------------------------
Intel I7 3770K @ 4.5ghz, Cooler Master Hyper 212 Evo, Gigabyte Z77X-UD3H, Gigabyte HD7970 ghz edition, 4x4gb Kingston HyperX Beast 2133mhz, Seasonic Platinum 860, Samsung 840 Pro 256gb, OCZ Vertex 4 128gb, WD Black 1TB, WD Green 3TB+1.5TB, ASUS Xonar Essence ST, ASUS VE278Q, Windows 3.11
 03/11/2014 06:26 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
mrfla
Nerfed

Posts: 58
Joined: 03/07/2014

so i cannot trust what cpuz and windows monitor says about the frequency but i still see the multiplier jump 50-60 and the temps from HWmonitor or asus AI suite is the same nothing wrong i tryed full load and even at full load it does jump 6-7-8 ghz (as it shows on monitoring) and never passes 50C even after an hour...idk why it only does that with HPC on but now is off since i don't really need it, was just a test and nothing broke, this FX 8320 runs like a charm idle 27C 0.79 volts 1400mhz and 4ghz at 1.25 volts turbo mode stable at full load at 48-49C at 20-22C ambiant

Statistics
85765 users are registered to the AMD Support and Game forum.
There are currently 0 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.