Topic Title: AMD FX Windows Hotfix / patches for FX-8350 still required?
Topic Summary: Are the two patches still needed for Windows 7?
Created On: 03/24/2014 09:15 PM
Status: Post and Reply
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 03/24/2014 09:15 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
-rascal-
Farming Materials

Posts: 538
Joined: 01/15/2011

Oh god...I haven't been on the forums in a looong while; hope all you good people are doing okay in 2014 thus far.

Anywho, I've finally made the leap into the AM3+ / FX bandwagon, and grabbed a FX-8350. Simply put, I'm just wondering if the two Windows patches are still needed for the Vishera / "Piledriver" CPUs.

I recall the hotfixes were released during the time of the "Bulldozers," and I'm not sure if the issues related to the patches (Windows scheduling and Core parking) still need to be installed manually, or it has been resolved with the Visheras / Windows Update.

Just so you know, I'm doing bechmarks....ehh...a little personal review and comparison between the FX-8350 and Phenom II X6 1090T. It's still in progress...but have a look if you're interested.

http://linustechtips.com/main/topic/127576-fx-8350-am3-processor-review-phenom-ii-x6-1090t-versus-fx-8350-comparisons/

Thank you in advance!!



-------------------------

Phenom II X6 1090T @ 4.1GHz FX-8350 @ 4.8GHz // ASUS Crosshair V Formula 990FX // Sapphire Radeon HD Dual-X 7970 @ 1150/1500 // Thermaltake Frio w/ push-pull (using Antec Formula 7 Nano-Diamond + Cooler Master JetFlo fans) // 8GB (2 X 4GB) G.Skill RipJawsX 2133MHz  // Corsair TX850 850W // Corsair Force GT 120GB SSD (OS) // Kingston V200+ 120GB SSD // WD Caviar Black 1TB // Windows 7 Ult x64

 03/24/2014 09:19 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
AMDforMe
Farming Materials

Posts: 600
Joined: 09/08/2013

IME you still need to manually install them. There is ~5% performance gain on average so it's not much. Win 8 reportedly has a slightly improved scheduler over the Win 7 patch by a couple percent.



-------------------------

Building a reliable PC involves more than just assembling the parts. You need to be able to configure all of the BIOS settings appropriately. This can be quite involved and frustrating as it can require a lot of trial and error with stress testing. It is however often the only means to get a 100% reliable PC.

 03/24/2014 10:41 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
-rascal-
Farming Materials

Posts: 538
Joined: 01/15/2011

I see, hmm...

I just ran a few tests using Cinebench R15, and it's using all "8 cores" okay. All the cores are running at 100%.

When Windows is idling (sitting at Desktop) some of the cores are parked.

I'll check with a few games, and a few of the bechmarking methodologies [i.e. WinRAR on 5GB+ of files, 3D Mark (2013) , etc], and report back.



-------------------------

Phenom II X6 1090T @ 4.1GHz FX-8350 @ 4.8GHz // ASUS Crosshair V Formula 990FX // Sapphire Radeon HD Dual-X 7970 @ 1150/1500 // Thermaltake Frio w/ push-pull (using Antec Formula 7 Nano-Diamond + Cooler Master JetFlo fans) // 8GB (2 X 4GB) G.Skill RipJawsX 2133MHz  // Corsair TX850 850W // Corsair Force GT 120GB SSD (OS) // Kingston V200+ 120GB SSD // WD Caviar Black 1TB // Windows 7 Ult x64

 03/25/2014 08:30 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
black_zion
80 Column Mind

Posts: 12365
Joined: 04/17/2008

I haven't noticed any real world (games, audio and video encoding) differences.

-------------------------
ASUS Sabertooth 990FX/Gen3 R2, FX-8350 w/ Corsair H60, 8 GiB G.SKILL RipjawsX DDR3-2133, XFX HD 7970 Ghz, 512GB Vertex 4, 256GB Vector, 240GB Agility 3, Creative X-Fi Titanium w/ Creative Gigaworks S750, SeaSonic X750, HP ZR2440w, Win 7 Ultimate x64
 03/25/2014 08:42 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Robocod
Peon

Posts: 15
Joined: 03/24/2014

I never needed to install any patches and I was gaming heavy,video editing etc.Win7 pro.

 03/25/2014 12:28 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
AMDforMe
Farming Materials

Posts: 600
Joined: 09/08/2013

The FX processors do NOT require the Windoze 7 "patch" to function properly. It is a minor tweek to the O/S scheduler that shows on average ~5% gain. Some programs show a little more and some show a little less. Most people would not even notice 5% change in PC performance.



-------------------------

Building a reliable PC involves more than just assembling the parts. You need to be able to configure all of the BIOS settings appropriately. This can be quite involved and frustrating as it can require a lot of trial and error with stress testing. It is however often the only means to get a 100% reliable PC.

Statistics
84849 users are registered to the AMD Support and Game forum.
There are currently 5 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.