Topic Title: Fluctuating CPU Speed, Multiplier and Voltage When Gaming
Topic Summary:
Created On: 03/27/2014 05:05 AM
Status: Post and Reply
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 03/27/2014 05:05 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Danoded
Peon

Posts: 8
Joined: 03/27/2014

When I'm gaming the GHz speed of my cpu dropsfrom 3.8GHz down to 1.4GHZ and then jumps back up to 3.8GHZ. As well as this, the multiplier and the voltage drop and it is affecting my FPS in all of my games I would like to find a solution to this. My PC is an AMD build and the system specs are:

GPU-Sapphire Radeon 7870 HD GHz edition (2GB GDDR5)
CPU-FX 4130 3.8GHz (Zambezi)
MOBO-Biostar A960D+
PSU- Ace 500w
RAM-8gb DDR3 1333Mhz

Thanks

 03/27/2014 05:18 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Robocod
Peon

Posts: 15
Joined: 03/24/2014

Go into your bios and disable amd cool n quiet..

 03/27/2014 05:19 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Robocod
Peon

Posts: 15
Joined: 03/24/2014

Remember this only drops when not under full load and rises under full load automatically.It will consume more power when disabled.

 03/27/2014 05:27 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Danoded
Peon

Posts: 8
Joined: 03/27/2014

I've already tried to disable something similar to AMD CnQ because I think my BIOS doesn't have the exact option (maybe it did, but I'm not at home right now), but it kept my CPU at a constant 3.8GHz, but there were still drops in speed, multiplier and voltage.

 03/28/2014 04:20 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
mrfla
Nerfed

Posts: 58
Joined: 03/07/2014

Go to Bios/ CPU advanced options if you see C1E disable that and Core C6 State disable that too. If you really don't want it to idle you can go in CCC Performance,CPU consuption and slide the idle bar from the left to the right until it reach the clock you want to be idling. That happens when the game is not asking anything to cpu so it goes on idle since the settings are on energy saving mode. When the game asking cpu to work yeah it can stutter because of that.

 03/28/2014 12:21 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Danoded
Peon

Posts: 8
Joined: 03/27/2014

I found out that is was the CPB (Core Performance Boost) that was what was causing my cup to fluctuate uncontrollably during gaming!

Anyway thank you mrfla and robocod for tring to help diagnosis my problem.

 03/28/2014 05:12 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
mrfla
Nerfed

Posts: 58
Joined: 03/07/2014

no problem since your problem is resolved.

 03/31/2014 08:04 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Robocod
Peon

Posts: 15
Joined: 03/24/2014

Well done all the best gaming.

Statistics
85570 users are registered to the AMD Support and Game forum.
There are currently 5 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.