Topic Title: So I have memory controller problem
Topic Summary: Will only read 1 4g stick when 2 sticks are installed
Created On: 03/28/2014 04:36 PM
Status: Post and Reply
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 03/28/2014 04:36 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
rpearlhouse
Peon

Posts: 2
Joined: 03/28/2014

Just built new pc with A88X-PRO M/B with two sticks of dual channel 4g G Skill Ripjaws memory DDR3 1333 (F3-10666CL9D-8GBRL) & AMD processor A6 6400K. Win 7 Prof. 64bit is installed. I have 2 sticks 4g each total 8g installed.   I can only get it to read 1 stick of memory. 4G….

I loaded Bios optimized defaults with the same results.
Both sticks will read 4G when installed individually in slots A1 or A2 so Im pretty sure memory is not faulty.

Just to be sure ran memtest86 to verify they are AOK
Both sticks will read 8G when installed together in slots A1 and A2.  .(This is not recommended by ASUS.)  They recommend slots A2 & B2 .
Neither stick is read when installed in slots B1 or B2 together or separately.
Seems like slots B1 & B2 are dead.  Nothing reads in them. Talked to Asus and they said bad M/B so I returned to place of purchase and got a new one from a totally different run 10k boards later. Still got same problem.

Asus says my memory is not on their QVL list.

GSKILL says this memory is on their QVL list for my motherboard.

Asus suggested flash latest bios 0409 which I did but still same problem

Now Asus says I may have a bad memory controller on my CPU.

Is there a way to verify this so I can proceed with a warranty claim or what can I do??

 03/28/2014 04:47 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
mrfla
Nerfed

Posts: 58
Joined: 03/07/2014

Be sure you installed the ram in the correct slots, if your not sure look in your motherboard manual, pairs should be slot 1 with slot 3 both black and second pair should go in slot 2 with slot 4 gold. You can close your computer and be sure both ram sticks are properly installed with the clips on. Look in your bios after checking up if both sticks are correctly identified with the right speed.

 03/30/2014 12:35 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
rpearlhouse
Peon

Posts: 2
Joined: 03/28/2014

The asus book has the slots labeled as A1  A2  B1  B2 instead of 1 2 3 4 ....

The asus book also says to use A2 & B2 slots which are the yellow ones.

The bios shows that two sticks are installed  but only recognizes A2 with one stick.

Like I said slots B1 & B2 appear to be totaly dead....

Thanx for trying.

Statistics
88915 users are registered to the AMD Support and Game forum.
There are currently 0 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.