Topic Title: FX 9370 and corsair H80i
Topic Summary:
Created On: 04/29/2014 06:31 AM
Status: Post and Reply
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 04/29/2014 06:31 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Benjy88
Peon

Posts: 4
Joined: 04/29/2014

Hi, i purchased a new cpu from fx 8350 to 9370.

Worked really fine for a week then i started having lot of issues.

Monster temperatures after 10 minutes of gaming, and now my sistem is shutting down after a few seconds.

In idle it was really fine from 19 to 28 degrees(coretemp) but a simple skype installation brought to temperature to 55 degrees

Here are my specs

Crosshair V Formula

Tagan 800 80+plus

8x2gb ddr3 1600mhz corsair

 

I tried to reinstall the h80i, removing and changind the thermal compound to a gelid GC4 but nothing happened.

Atm i cannot even start my pc without being shutdown immediatly!

 04/29/2014 08:43 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
black_zion
80 Column Mind

Posts: 12188
Joined: 04/17/2008

CPU Support List for that motherboard.

The FX-9000 series are NOT supported. The good news is that many FX-8350's can be easily OCd to FX-9000 series speeds.

-------------------------
ASUS Sabertooth 990FX/Gen3 R2, FX-8350 w/ Corsair H60, 8 GiB G.SKILL RipjawsX DDR3-2133, XFX HD 7970 Ghz, 512GB Vertex 4, 256GB Vector, 240GB Agility 3, Creative X-Fi Titanium w/ Creative Gigaworks S750, SeaSonic X750, HP ZR2440w, Win 7 Ultimate x64
 04/29/2014 12:11 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
UcouldBrong
Overclocker

Posts: 795
Joined: 01/05/2013

Worked for 10 minutes, huh?  You sure its not a Formula-Z?



-------------------------

 


 


Non-noob components.

 04/29/2014 03:18 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Benjy88
Peon

Posts: 4
Joined: 04/29/2014

It worked really fine for an entire week!!Not only for ten minutes, now that i left my pc turned off for several hours i can easily turn it on and leave it in idle without any issue.

Pretty sure it's a regular formula, i checked that again with cpuz rog!

So u suggest i downgrade back to 8350?

 

 04/29/2014 04:28 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
AMDforMe
Farming Materials

Posts: 600
Joined: 09/08/2013

Yes you can run it at light loads for a bit but once under moderate to heavy loads the mobo VRMs will overheat and shut down. There are only a handful of AM3+ mobos that are approved and properly designed to provide the 220w power that the FX-9xxx series CPUs require.



-------------------------

Building a reliable PC involves more than just assembling the parts. You need to be able to configure all of the BIOS settings appropriately. This can be quite involved and frustrating as it can require a lot of trial and error with stress testing. It is however often the only means to get a 100% reliable PC.

 04/29/2014 04:33 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
UcouldBrong
Overclocker

Posts: 795
Joined: 01/05/2013

Z version does support that cpu...

Pretty sure?  Does it show "Z" or not?

If it is working fine...monitor voltages and temps...Go to your ROG DIGI+ VRM and see what is going on in there.



-------------------------

 


 


Non-noob components.

 04/29/2014 06:38 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Benjy88
Peon

Posts: 4
Joined: 04/29/2014

Actually i understood the reason it suddendly got that high temp.

I had a cpu voltage of 1.58, i did not modify that and i don't understand why it got that high. So i brought it to 1.38 and...it works like a charm

Now after 2 hours of BF4 on ultra settings my temp is 32 degrees.

Gonna run Prime soon to test the system stability and i did change the clockwork battery on the mobo...just in case

so far so good, hope to write here again only to validate that this setting actually work!

 04/29/2014 07:53 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
UcouldBrong
Overclocker

Posts: 795
Joined: 01/05/2013

Congrats!



-------------------------

 


 


Non-noob components.

 04/30/2014 12:32 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
AMDforMe
Farming Materials

Posts: 600
Joined: 09/08/2013

Originally posted by: Benjy88 Actually i understood the reason it suddendly got that high temp.

I had a cpu voltage of 1.58, i did not modify that and i don't understand why it got that high. So i brought it to 1.38 and...it works like a charm

Now after 2 hours of BF4 on ultra settings my temp is 32 degrees.

Gonna run Prime soon to test the system stability and i did change the clockwork battery on the mobo...just in case

so far so good, hope to write here again only to validate that this setting actually work!

The default vcore on the FX-9590 is ~1.5v so you may need to up the vcore for stability under P95 stress testing or other heavy use.

Many mobos over-volt the 8-core AMD CPUs when run in "auto" mode. You can adjust the Load Line Conditioning (LLC), setting to whatever keeps the vcore as close as possible to the pre-set vcore voltage. This will help stability and CPU temp.

The 8-core CPUs produce a lot of heat - as you already observed so the cooling needs to be proper.



-------------------------

Building a reliable PC involves more than just assembling the parts. You need to be able to configure all of the BIOS settings appropriately. This can be quite involved and frustrating as it can require a lot of trial and error with stress testing. It is however often the only means to get a 100% reliable PC.

 05/04/2014 10:37 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
madcratebuilder
Peon

Posts: 4
Joined: 05/01/2014

Both the CHVF and CHVF-Z support the FX9xxx chip if the correct BIOS is burned.

 

The 80i is maxed with the FX9xxx chips it can not deal with the 219 watts the chip is capable of, a 100i is the minum you should use if you want full performance.



-------------------------

Speedbird: FX9590@5.2 CHVF-Z 8gb G Skill@2133 RAID0 SSD's RAID0 Raptors Crossfired R9 280X's Full EK loop dual D5's AQ6 Pro AX1200i


Goonybird: FX8350@4.6 GA990FXZ-UD3R3 16gb Corsair 1866 SSD HDD Sapphire 7970 OC CM Glacer 240L w/res Seasonic 850 Gold

 05/04/2014 12:28 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
UcouldBrong
Overclocker

Posts: 795
Joined: 01/05/2013

Which BIOS version would that be?

-------------------------------------

That is why cooling systems with the ability to change the pump speed are more adapatable than fixed pump speed versions.  The speed of the coolant flow is most important when limited by a small radiator.



-------------------------

 


 


Non-noob components.

 05/11/2014 04:51 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Benjy88
Peon

Posts: 4
Joined: 04/29/2014

Actually i borrowed an h60 from a friend of mine, in p&p configuration it handled quite well. Sure under stress it reached 53 degrees but nothing compared to the 85 of the h80i! So i did several test with the h60 and the h80i and discovered my h80i had some issue and went for rma.

 

 05/11/2014 06:48 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
QB the Slayer
Master Looter

Posts: 321
Joined: 11/27/2012

Yeah the H80i smokes the H60, hands down... so if your H80i is not working as well as the H60, RMA is a good choice

 

QB



-------------------------

The MONSTER HTPC:

CPU: AMD FX-8350.||.Cooler: Corsair H80i
MB: Gigabyte 990FXA-UD7.||.RAM: 8 GB Mushkin Blackline DDR3 2000MHz (7-10-8-27-1T)
Case: CoolerMaster HAF 932.||.PSU: Corsair HX750
GPU:Asus R9 270X DirectCU II TOP.||.Audio: Creative X-Fi Titanium Fatal1ty Pro w/ Logitech Z-5300e (5.1, 280W-RMS)
System Drive: 2xSamsung 840 Pro 128GB RAID0.||.Working Drive: 2xMushkin Chronos 60GB RAID0

 05/11/2014 10:24 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Earnhardt
Case Modder

Posts: 816
Joined: 09/11/2008

Originally posted by: madcratebuilder Both the CHVF and CHVF-Z support the FX9xxx chip if the correct BIOS is burned.

 

Just checked on ASUS website.FX9xxx chip is only supported on the CHVF-Z.

 

However I came across this article:

http://rog.asus.com/261142013/crosshair-motherboards/asus-announces-full-support-for-amd-fx9590-and-fx9370-processors-with-existing-990fx-based-motherboards/



-------------------------

AMD Phenom II 1100t @4.0Ghz /Asus sabertooth 990fx/2x Gigabyte 3G 7950's in crossfire/500G samsung 840 ssd/16G G-Skill Ripjaw 1600/2-samsung 24" monitors 1920X1200/Corsair AX1200W psu/W7 pro 64,G19 keyboard,Roccat kone pure mouse,Cooler master HAF932,Corsair H100i water cooler,Zalman ram cooler.Sound Blaster X-Fi Titanium Fatal1ty Champion Series,Logitech Z5500 speakers,Roccat Kave 5.1 headset.



Edited: 05/11/2014 at 10:32 AM by Earnhardt
Statistics
84124 users are registered to the AMD Support and Game forum.
There are currently 2 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.