Topic Title: [CPU Temp] X4 760k extremely hot!!
Topic Summary:
Created On: 05/10/2014 12:36 PM
Status: Post and Reply
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
1 2 Next Last unread
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 05/10/2014 12:36 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
luuanhckct
Peon

Posts: 6
Joined: 05/10/2014

I bought an AMD processor X4 760k 1 month ago. I check system Temp by HWMonitor & Piriform Speccy, it showed a crazy result: Idle 50 C degree and peak 97 C degree like attached file.Temp

I use aftermarked HSP Zalman CNPS 5X and Noctua NT-H1 thermal compound.

Can someone instruct me how to fix this case?

OS Win7 x64 Pro

Mainboard Gigabyte FM2A88X-D3H

CPU AMD x4 760k

RAM Corsair Vegeance 4G 1600

 

 05/10/2014 01:58 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
black_zion
80 Column Mind

Posts: 12663
Joined: 04/17/2008

http://forums.amd.com/game/mes...=160921&enterthread=y

How to properly read your CPU temperature.

-------------------------
ASUS Sabertooth 990FX/Gen3 R2, FX-8350 w/ Corsair H60, 8 GiB G.SKILL RipjawsX DDR3-2133, XFX HD 7970 Ghz, 512GB Vertex 4, 256GB Vector, 240GB Agility 3, Creative X-Fi Titanium w/ Creative Gigaworks S750, SeaSonic X750, HP ZR2440w, Win 7 Ultimate x64
 05/10/2014 10:18 PM
User is online View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
AMDforMe
Overclocker

Posts: 652
Joined: 09/08/2013

The CNPS 5X is a pretty lightweight cooler. It may not be enough for your CPU? Your should however confirm that your cooler base and the CPU heat spreader are both flat and that the HSF is contacting the heat spreader properly. You only need a very thin film of TIM between the two surfaces if they are flat.

Have you confirmed that the fan is blowing in the correct direction toward the heatsink and that there isn't an issue with poor airflow thru your PC case? Any turbulence around the HSF can lower cooling performance.

http://www.frostytech.com/articleview.cfm?articleid=2585&page=4

If the temps you are getting are accurate then your CPU is definitely overheating by a lot. I'd try the latest version of the applet Core Temp and see if it shows similar temps. CPU temp is NOT the actual CPU internal temp, it is the thermister below the CPU socket. HWMonitors CPU temp "package" should be the internal core tmep for your CPU similar to the applet Core Temp's core temp reading.

AMD's latest iteration of Overdrive has a design defect that uses the incorrect max temp to calculate how much thermal margin you have left before the CPU is running beyond it's 24/7 max temp. I do not recommend using the current iteration of AOD as it provides false temp information that can make it appear that you CPU is running in the proper temp range when in fact it's overheated.

http://forums.amd.com/game/messageview.cfm?catid=446&threadid=172872&enterthread=y

The fan should be running at max if the CPU is in fact too hot. You may also need to confirm if the CPU vcore voltage is excessive and causing the CPU to overheat. AMD sucks when it comes to publishing the proper technical information on their products such as the vcore and max temp so you may not even be able to find this information to determine what exactly is happening with your hardware. Perhaps filing an AMD Tech Support ticket will get you this information?



-------------------------

Building a reliable PC involves more than just assembling the parts. You need to be able to configure all of the BIOS settings appropriately. This can be quite involved and frustrating as it can require a lot of trial and error with stress testing. It is however often the only means to get a 100% reliable PC.

 05/10/2014 10:52 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
black_zion
80 Column Mind

Posts: 12663
Joined: 04/17/2008

Looks like a bad thermal sensor to me, nothing to be worried about.

-------------------------
ASUS Sabertooth 990FX/Gen3 R2, FX-8350 w/ Corsair H60, 8 GiB G.SKILL RipjawsX DDR3-2133, XFX HD 7970 Ghz, 512GB Vertex 4, 256GB Vector, 240GB Agility 3, Creative X-Fi Titanium w/ Creative Gigaworks S750, SeaSonic X750, HP ZR2440w, Win 7 Ultimate x64
 05/11/2014 12:59 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
luuanhckct
Peon

Posts: 6
Joined: 05/10/2014

Via your link i got that there's always a gap between actual working CPU temp and what displayed from measurement software!! 

I try to use AMD Override to get my CPU Temp but i do not really understand Thermal Margin mean? How it calculate? [English not my mother language].

And could you pls hepl to check new attched picture, is it normal?

Anyway from my point of view my case is a special case and my system will not work properly and last for long. CPU Fan run like crazy the whole time.

So anyone can help me to fix this issue completely.

Thank you so much

temp

 05/11/2014 01:34 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
luuanhckct
Peon

Posts: 6
Joined: 05/10/2014

Thank you all for your kindly support.

To AMDforMe,

I do checkedand be sure everything correctly installed:  

- HSF direction and turbulence.

- i tried to check the heat spreader correctly applied by remove HSF. Then apply new heat spreader Noctua NT-H1 but nothing get better.

I thought that i should contact AMD Tech Support to finalize this issue.

To Black_zion,

I have the same idea about Temp Sensor problem, i did use my finger to touch on heat pipe close to CPU while HWMonitor show 92 C degree, i feel no heat at all.

But howcome AMD sell out a decfect product, they should fix their issue.

 

 05/11/2014 10:27 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
black_zion
80 Column Mind

Posts: 12663
Joined: 04/17/2008

The same reason there's a slight glitch with the FX series processors where temperatures under 40°C are not read correctly. It's an issue that's not really an issue, as there are safety's in place which trigger a BSOD in the case of actual overheating.

-------------------------
ASUS Sabertooth 990FX/Gen3 R2, FX-8350 w/ Corsair H60, 8 GiB G.SKILL RipjawsX DDR3-2133, XFX HD 7970 Ghz, 512GB Vertex 4, 256GB Vector, 240GB Agility 3, Creative X-Fi Titanium w/ Creative Gigaworks S750, SeaSonic X750, HP ZR2440w, Win 7 Ultimate x64
 05/11/2014 06:35 PM
User is online View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
AMDforMe
Overclocker

Posts: 652
Joined: 09/08/2013

I highly doubt the CPU is defective. They are fully tested prior to boxing and shipment. I'd be inclined to think there is a mobo vcore issue with too high a voltage causing the CPU to overheat if the HSF is properly mounted. I use Core Temp for accurate internal CPU temps in the 40C-70C range. Idle temp really doesn't matter just the max load temp.

As far as the TIM is concerned ANY of the top 25+ TIMs works fine within ~2C so use whatever makes you happy. TIM is NOT the problem in your situation.

http://www.hardwaresecrets.com/article/Thermal-Compound-Roundup-February-2012/1490/5



-------------------------

Building a reliable PC involves more than just assembling the parts. You need to be able to configure all of the BIOS settings appropriately. This can be quite involved and frustrating as it can require a lot of trial and error with stress testing. It is however often the only means to get a 100% reliable PC.

 05/11/2014 09:01 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
QB the Slayer
Master Looter

Posts: 330
Joined: 11/27/2012

How much TIM are you putting on?  Too much and it acts as an insulator...  TIM is only meant to fill in the imperfections between the heat spreader and the heat sink

 

QB



-------------------------

The MONSTER HTPC:

CPU: AMD FX-8350.||.Cooler: Corsair H80i
MB: Gigabyte 990FXA-UD7.||.RAM: 8 GB Mushkin Blackline DDR3 2000MHz (7-10-8-27-1T)
Case: CoolerMaster HAF 932.||.PSU: Corsair HX750
GPU:Asus R9 270X DirectCU II TOP.||.Audio: Creative X-Fi Titanium Fatal1ty Pro w/ Logitech Z-5300e (5.1, 280W-RMS)
System Drive: 2xSamsung 840 Pro 128GB RAID0.||.Working Drive: 2xMushkin Chronos 60GB RAID0

 05/11/2014 09:35 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
black_zion
80 Column Mind

Posts: 12663
Joined: 04/17/2008

Thermal Paste Comparison, Part One: Applying Grease And More

http://www.tomshardware.com/re...at-spreader,3600.html



-------------------------
ASUS Sabertooth 990FX/Gen3 R2, FX-8350 w/ Corsair H60, 8 GiB G.SKILL RipjawsX DDR3-2133, XFX HD 7970 Ghz, 512GB Vertex 4, 256GB Vector, 240GB Agility 3, Creative X-Fi Titanium w/ Creative Gigaworks S750, SeaSonic X750, HP ZR2440w, Win 7 Ultimate x64
 05/12/2014 09:41 AM
User is online View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
AMDforMe
Overclocker

Posts: 652
Joined: 09/08/2013

The OP's issue is not the type of TIM or amount used as the temps he's seeing far exceed any TIM issues.

Despite the info. often posted online by well meaning people the proper amount of TIM is so thin as to only fill surface scratches or low spots. The ideal situation is 100% metal-to-metal contact but that is impossible so TIM is suppose to be used to fill the minute imperfections ONLY in the two surfaces.



-------------------------

Building a reliable PC involves more than just assembling the parts. You need to be able to configure all of the BIOS settings appropriately. This can be quite involved and frustrating as it can require a lot of trial and error with stress testing. It is however often the only means to get a 100% reliable PC.

 05/12/2014 10:38 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
black_zion
80 Column Mind

Posts: 12663
Joined: 04/17/2008

I know it's not the OPs problem, I already told him what his problem was, a faulty thermal sensor. And yes it is possible to have 100% metal to metal contact using liquid metal TIM.

-------------------------
ASUS Sabertooth 990FX/Gen3 R2, FX-8350 w/ Corsair H60, 8 GiB G.SKILL RipjawsX DDR3-2133, XFX HD 7970 Ghz, 512GB Vertex 4, 256GB Vector, 240GB Agility 3, Creative X-Fi Titanium w/ Creative Gigaworks S750, SeaSonic X750, HP ZR2440w, Win 7 Ultimate x64
 05/12/2014 12:41 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
luuanhckct
Peon

Posts: 6
Joined: 05/10/2014

Originally posted by: black_zion Thermal Paste Comparison, Part One: Applying Grease And More http://www.tomshardware.com/re...at-spreader,3600.html

I fully aware of this issue and do learn how to apply TIM from Youtube. And this is 10th time i do this.

New update picture. Result from Core Temp also weird.

 05/12/2014 04:21 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
black_zion
80 Column Mind

Posts: 12663
Joined: 04/17/2008

FX processors do not read temperatures correctly at temperatures under 40°C, so since it says the high is 33°C, it means you aren't running hot.

I would also suggest AIDA64 (formerly Everest), it includes a handy desktop gadget to monitor quite a bit of stuff (more than what I set it to monitor).



-------------------------
ASUS Sabertooth 990FX/Gen3 R2, FX-8350 w/ Corsair H60, 8 GiB G.SKILL RipjawsX DDR3-2133, XFX HD 7970 Ghz, 512GB Vertex 4, 256GB Vector, 240GB Agility 3, Creative X-Fi Titanium w/ Creative Gigaworks S750, SeaSonic X750, HP ZR2440w, Win 7 Ultimate x64

Edited: 05/12/2014 at 04:30 PM by black_zion
 05/12/2014 09:05 PM
User is online View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
AMDforMe
Overclocker

Posts: 652
Joined: 09/08/2013

A Core Temp reading of 33c under load would be just fine. Unfortunately not all software reads internal CPU temps properly. The applet Core Temp seems to do a good job.

You might want to confirm the true internal CPU temp under heavy load via Core Temp, like P95 stress testing or heavy video use.



-------------------------

Building a reliable PC involves more than just assembling the parts. You need to be able to configure all of the BIOS settings appropriately. This can be quite involved and frustrating as it can require a lot of trial and error with stress testing. It is however often the only means to get a 100% reliable PC.

 05/13/2014 12:24 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
luuanhckct
Peon

Posts: 6
Joined: 05/10/2014

I will make addition test as your instruction by using a benchmark software and really put CPU under stress. And update the result.

But i have another question: "which software control the CPU Fan speed? And base on what inputs?" From the noise of the Fan i know that it run with high rpm nearly the whole time

 

 05/13/2014 08:57 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
black_zion
80 Column Mind

Posts: 12663
Joined: 04/17/2008

Gigabyte has a software suite which includes fan speed control.

-------------------------
ASUS Sabertooth 990FX/Gen3 R2, FX-8350 w/ Corsair H60, 8 GiB G.SKILL RipjawsX DDR3-2133, XFX HD 7970 Ghz, 512GB Vertex 4, 256GB Vector, 240GB Agility 3, Creative X-Fi Titanium w/ Creative Gigaworks S750, SeaSonic X750, HP ZR2440w, Win 7 Ultimate x64
 05/13/2014 10:26 AM
User is online View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
AMDforMe
Overclocker

Posts: 652
Joined: 09/08/2013

Originally posted by: luuanhckct I will make addition test as your instruction by using a benchmark software and really put CPU under stress. And update the result.

But i have another question: "which software control the CPU Fan speed? And base on what inputs?" From the noise of the Fan i know that it run with high rpm nearly the whole time

 

Most newer mobos have a fan speed control section in the BIOS. Some also have add on software to make some BIOS adjustments. Check your mobo owner's manual.

There is also a program called Speed Fan that allows you to control the fan speed. If the fan is running on high a lot it's usually because the CPU is running hot so you'll want to be sure that when you change fan speeds you don't get it too low and cause the CPU to overheat.



-------------------------

Building a reliable PC involves more than just assembling the parts. You need to be able to configure all of the BIOS settings appropriately. This can be quite involved and frustrating as it can require a lot of trial and error with stress testing. It is however often the only means to get a 100% reliable PC.

 05/15/2014 09:44 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
luuanhckct
Peon

Posts: 6
Joined: 05/10/2014

It seem CPU work properly, doesn't it?

temp

 05/15/2014 10:22 AM
User is online View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
AMDforMe
Overclocker

Posts: 652
Joined: 09/08/2013

The temp seems fine.



-------------------------

Building a reliable PC involves more than just assembling the parts. You need to be able to configure all of the BIOS settings appropriately. This can be quite involved and frustrating as it can require a lot of trial and error with stress testing. It is however often the only means to get a 100% reliable PC.

Statistics
86428 users are registered to the AMD Support and Game forum.
There are currently 3 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.