Topic Title: Phenom II x4 960T BE (Zosma)-Two questions
Topic Summary:
Created On: 05/15/2014 08:05 AM
Status: Post and Reply
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 05/15/2014 08:05 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
otinane
Peon

Posts: 1
Joined: 05/15/2014

I have the Phenom II x4 960T BE (Zosma) and motherboard Gigabyte GA-880GM-UD2H (rev. 1.4) BIOS F8.

1) I learned by accident that the Phenom supports RAM of 1333Mhz. I currently have 2x4 GB Dual Channel 1600Mhz, unganged mode. I don't see any performance issue, and BIOS are all to "Auto".

The RAM clock is at x8.00. Should i change it manual to x6.66 ~ 1333Mhz, or there is no reason? Will i see any improvement or i will run at "optimal" settings, but actually it will be a downgrade?

 

2)For the Zosma, they say that it has 2 unlocked cores. I know that in order to take my chances i have to go to BIOS at ACC and set EC frimware to "Hybrid" and Core Clock/Control to "Auto", and then reboot and wait to see if i will get a Phenom II x6 1065T.

My PSU is a Corsair 650W. The reason i am saying this is because the 960T is a 95W CPU while the unlocked a 150W. Also i have enabled at the moment Cool n' Quiet and Turbo Core/Boost. Should i de-activate those 2 when i will try to unlock ? 

Any other preparations ?

 05/15/2014 09:00 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
black_zion
80 Column Mind

Posts: 12341
Joined: 04/17/2008

1) You will not notice any speed difference between DDR3 1333 and DDR3 1600.

2) Unless they are unstable, then you don't need to disable them. You need to have aftermarket cooling.

-------------------------
ASUS Sabertooth 990FX/Gen3 R2, FX-8350 w/ Corsair H60, 8 GiB G.SKILL RipjawsX DDR3-2133, XFX HD 7970 Ghz, 512GB Vertex 4, 256GB Vector, 240GB Agility 3, Creative X-Fi Titanium w/ Creative Gigaworks S750, SeaSonic X750, HP ZR2440w, Win 7 Ultimate x64
 05/15/2014 10:30 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
AMDforMe
Farming Materials

Posts: 600
Joined: 09/08/2013

RAM that is rated to run at higher frequencies than the default CPU prescribed RAM frequency will also run at a lower frequency without issue.

Extensive testing of real applications shows there is no tangible system performance gain on discrete desktop CPUs as long as the DDR3 RAM is running at ~1333 MHz. as it's not a system bottleneck like DDR and DDR2 were. For APU powered systems up to ~2133 MHz. RAM frequency shows some system gains primarily because the GPU section of the APU can use the added bandwidth from the higher frequency RAM.

You will have to try and see what works when you try to unlock. All options may work or only a few. There is no means to know other than via testing.



-------------------------

Building a reliable PC involves more than just assembling the parts. You need to be able to configure all of the BIOS settings appropriately. This can be quite involved and frustrating as it can require a lot of trial and error with stress testing. It is however often the only means to get a 100% reliable PC.

Statistics
84733 users are registered to the AMD Support and Game forum.
There are currently 2 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.