Topic Title: FX-9590 ideal CPU cooler?
Topic Summary: AMD FX-9590
Created On: 05/29/2014 09:31 AM
Status: Post and Reply
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
1 2 Next Last unread
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 05/29/2014 09:31 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
harry0r
Peon

Posts: 8
Joined: 05/29/2014

Hello,

I have a little problem .. here is info:

Asus M5A97 EVO R2.0
AMD FX-9590 4.7GHz
16GB DDR3-1866MHz Kingston HyperX Fury Black, 2x8GB
CPU SCYTHE SCKTN-4000 Katana

I have problem with temperatures...

I am thing is it cpu cooler good?

Because, now to my problem.. When CPU is loaded to 80% after two-five minutes it goes to shutdown... Without loaded CPU to this percentil.. PC works good.

I am without idea.. There is nowehere said that.. you need extra cooling system for this.. hate this situation.. !!

I am thinking about Corsair Cooling Hydro Series H80i..
I need to know your experience, your configuration.. I cant buy smthg and then go back to shop with complaint..

Let me know

Thank you

 05/29/2014 09:32 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
harry0r
Peon

Posts: 8
Joined: 05/29/2014

Opps I forget to mention PSU.. 450W Fortron..
GPU is ordinary I think GT630 2GB..
Temperatures are from Aida64..

 05/29/2014 09:37 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
black_zion
80 Column Mind

Posts: 13076
Joined: 04/17/2008

With the FX-9000 series you are going to need to go liquid. The Corsair H80i would be a good choice. Though if your case has dual 120mm exhausts, you could go with the Corsair H105.

-------------------------
AMD FX-8350 w/ Corsair H105, ASUS Sabertooth 990FX Gen3/R2, 8GiB G.SKILL DDR3-2133, XFX HD 7970, 512GB Vertex 4, 256GB Vector, 240GB Agility 3, Creative X-Fi Titanium w/ Creative Gigaworks S750, SeaSonic X750, Corsair C70, HP ZR2440w, Win 7 Ultimate x64
 05/29/2014 09:43 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
harry0r
Peon

Posts: 8
Joined: 05/29/2014

Well, thank you for answer..

I have zalman z1 case.. Which one would you choose?
And do you think I have coolling problem or CPU is bad..?
I changed CPU from 9590 to fx-6100  and cooling on katana is ok..

50celsius max.. on cpu load 100%

When I change it to 9590, my pc goes to shutdown on 80% cpu load..

Sorry for my english.. 

 05/29/2014 10:02 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
black_zion
80 Column Mind

Posts: 13076
Joined: 04/17/2008

It's an overheating problem. And with that case, one rear exhaust so go with the H80i. Really crappy airflow in that case though (no top or side fans), but nothing you will have to worry about with that cooler.

-------------------------
AMD FX-8350 w/ Corsair H105, ASUS Sabertooth 990FX Gen3/R2, 8GiB G.SKILL DDR3-2133, XFX HD 7970, 512GB Vertex 4, 256GB Vector, 240GB Agility 3, Creative X-Fi Titanium w/ Creative Gigaworks S750, SeaSonic X750, Corsair C70, HP ZR2440w, Win 7 Ultimate x64
 05/29/2014 12:11 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Earnhardt
Case Modder

Posts: 946
Joined: 09/11/2008

Originally posted by: harry0r Opps I forget to mention PSU.. 450W Fortron.. GPU is ordinary I think GT630 2GB.. Temperatures are from Aida64..

 

ASUS shows that the FX9590 is NOT supported on that motherboard.

I would also get a better PSU.

Note: Sold without any CPU Cooling, AMD FX-9000 Series CPUs need an extreme Cooling Solution that matches their 220W TDP1; like the Antec Kuhler H2O 920 Cooler, the Corsair Hydro H80i Liquid Cooler, and the Thermaltake Frio Dual Fan CPU Cooler, all available separately at time of product launch.



-------------------------

AMD Phenom II 1100t @4.0Ghz /Asus sabertooth 990fx/2x Gigabyte 3G 7950's in crossfire/500G samsung 840 ssd/16G G-Skill Ripjaw 1600/2-samsung 24" monitors 1920X1200/Corsair AX1200W psu/W7 pro 64,G19 keyboard,Roccat kone pure mouse,Cooler master HAF932,Corsair H100i water cooler,Zalman ram cooler.Sound Blaster X-Fi Titanium Fatal1ty Champion Series,Logitech Z5500 speakers,Roccat Kave 5.1 headset.

 05/29/2014 01:07 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
black_zion
80 Column Mind

Posts: 13076
Joined: 04/17/2008

Good catch, will probably end up blowing a capacitor with that FX-9590 with that board.

-------------------------
AMD FX-8350 w/ Corsair H105, ASUS Sabertooth 990FX Gen3/R2, 8GiB G.SKILL DDR3-2133, XFX HD 7970, 512GB Vertex 4, 256GB Vector, 240GB Agility 3, Creative X-Fi Titanium w/ Creative Gigaworks S750, SeaSonic X750, Corsair C70, HP ZR2440w, Win 7 Ultimate x64
 05/29/2014 08:38 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
DatDirtyDawG
Peon

Posts: 23
Joined: 05/16/2014

Like most have already said the FX-9000 certainly requires more heat control than it's predecessors.  All of ASUS 990FX motherboards will support these processors (there is a 990 version of your motherboard) as the 990's are designed with beefier heatsinks for the VRMs.  Liquid cooling is also a great solution (as mentioned before) and as an owner of the H80i I can personally vouch for how well it has served me.  

For the FX9000 I would use a good, well rated 990FX board and an H100i but your case is not really designed for the wider cooler so the H80i would have to do.

My 8350 runs at 4.6GHz and under full load (6 hours on Prime95) core temps never exceed 52C.  Barely breaks a sweat thanks to my H80i and Sabertooth



-------------------------


FX-8350|Sabertooth 990FX R2.0|H80i|GTX 770SC 4GB|GSkill Ripjaws 16GB 

 05/31/2014 12:41 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
jaimelmiel
Peon

Posts: 4
Joined: 05/26/2014

First of all the Motherboard you have does not dupport the Fx 9590. The highest it supports is yhe FX 8350. It may boot up bit it will never work right on That Mobo. Asus makes 3 Morherboards that support the FX9590. The Croshair V,

the Sabertooth and the one I have. The M5A99FX Pro R2.0. Iam running an FX 9590 in it. Now the power supply. AMD recommends a 1200 Watt. But you can get by with less. I would say no less than an 800 watt especially if your Video card is Beefy. Now the cooling. Amd recommends Liquid Cooling. I cool mine with air. I use a Thermaltake Fio Extreme. It does the job. Phanteks and Noctua make coolers that are comparable.As far as Liquid cooling it is the most effectibe if it is a high end 240mm Rad unit. The 120mm unit mostly do not do the best job. There is one you should look at. It is the Thermaltake Water 2.0 Pro. It is as good as some 240mm units. Remember this thing runs Hot, Hot, Hot.

 05/31/2014 11:25 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Earnhardt
Case Modder

Posts: 946
Joined: 09/11/2008

Originally posted by: jaimelmiel First of all the Motherboard you have does not dupport the Fx 9590. The highest it supports is yhe FX 8350. It may boot up bit it will never work right on That Mobo. Asus makes 3 Morherboards that support the FX9590. The Croshair V,

 

the Sabertooth and the one I have. The M5A99FX Pro R2.0. Iam running an FX 9590 in it. Now the power supply. AMD recommends a 1200 Watt. But you can get by with less. I would say no less than an 800 watt especially if your Video card is Beefy. Now the cooling. Amd recommends Liquid Cooling. I cool mine with air. I use a Thermaltake Fio Extreme. It does the job. Phanteks and Noctua make coolers that are comparable.As far as Liquid cooling it is the most effectibe if it is a high end 240mm Rad unit. The 120mm unit mostly do not do the best job. There is one you should look at. It is the Thermaltake Water 2.0 Pro. It is as good as some 240mm units. Remember this thing runs Hot, Hot, Hot.

 

Isn't this what we all just said?



-------------------------

AMD Phenom II 1100t @4.0Ghz /Asus sabertooth 990fx/2x Gigabyte 3G 7950's in crossfire/500G samsung 840 ssd/16G G-Skill Ripjaw 1600/2-samsung 24" monitors 1920X1200/Corsair AX1200W psu/W7 pro 64,G19 keyboard,Roccat kone pure mouse,Cooler master HAF932,Corsair H100i water cooler,Zalman ram cooler.Sound Blaster X-Fi Titanium Fatal1ty Champion Series,Logitech Z5500 speakers,Roccat Kave 5.1 headset.

 06/05/2014 04:05 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
harry0r
Peon

Posts: 8
Joined: 05/29/2014

Thank you guys.. Today I am going to test it with H80i CPU cooler..  PC at all working well, I have problem just when I load CPU to 100%.. My customer playing Houdini chess with engine Houdini 4 pro. So I dont think its problem with compatibility of motherboard.. ALL temps are good except cpu.. I have to say I f*cked up this configuration.. But I believe cooling will fix it and everything will be ok. I will reply my experience for sure.

 06/05/2014 04:11 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
QB the Slayer
Master Looter

Posts: 339
Joined: 11/27/2012

Umm...  cooling may help, but the real issues are the fact that the MB does not support the CPU and you also have a seriously junk PSU powering it all...

 

QB



-------------------------

The MONSTER HTPC:

CPU: AMD FX-8350.||.Cooler: Corsair H80i
MB: Gigabyte 990FXA-UD7.||.RAM: 8 GB Mushkin Blackline DDR3 2000MHz (7-10-8-27-1T)
Case: CoolerMaster HAF 932.||.PSU: Corsair HX750
GPU:Asus R9 270X DirectCU II TOP.||.Audio: Creative X-Fi Titanium Fatal1ty Pro w/ Logitech Z-5300e (5.1, 280W-RMS)
System Drive: 2xSamsung 840 Pro 128GB RAID0.||.Working Drive: 2xMushkin Chronos 60GB RAID0

 06/05/2014 04:26 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
harry0r
Peon

Posts: 8
Joined: 05/29/2014

Well, support isnt... But I am able to work normally.. Socket is supported so what could be other problem? Heating for this cpu is not cover by mobo? CPU will ruin my mobo by some time or ... ? PSU is *****.. I agree, I had to give him my PSU because he had 300W... just for now..

I got this.. PC working like a charm.. all temps, but when I load CPU, temp is going up too quick.. then PC go off..

I believe you that is not builded right way.. But I am working with what I got..

Water cooling will help to make PC stable I hope.. Soon I will recommend new PSU.. at least 650W.. I really dont believe you need 800W for minimum configuration.. This is just joke.. Maybe I am wrong and thats why I started this thread. 

Bomb me with your ideas and experiences. Thanks 

 06/05/2014 04:32 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
MyMedia59
Overclocker

Posts: 682
Joined: 10/30/2009

Originally posted by: QB the Slayer Umm...  cooling may help, but the real issues are the fact that the MB does not support the CPU ...

 

Yes, the CPU voltage regulators are too weak for that CPU hence it's at risk to blow smoke. He'll find out sooner or later..



-------------------------

GA 990FXA-UD3v4
AMD FX-8320
Kingston 8GB 1866 HyperX Fury
GPU Gigabyte R685OC-1GD
1x SSHD ST1000DX001/ 1x SATA3 WD Blue/ 1x STBV2000300
SeaSonic 650W
Win7x64


 

 06/05/2014 09:50 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
DatDirtyDawG
Peon

Posts: 23
Joined: 05/16/2014

Originally posted by: harry0r Thank you guys.. Today I am going to test it with H80i CPU cooler..  PC at all working well, I have problem just when I load CPU to 100%.. My customer playing Houdini chess with engine Houdini 4 pro. So I dont think its problem with compatibility of motherboard.. ALL temps are good except cpu.. I have to say I f*cked up this configuration.. But I believe cooling will fix it and everything will be ok. I will reply my experience for sure.

 

Originally posted by: harry0r Well, support isnt... But I am able to work normally.. Socket is supported so what could be other problem? Heating for this cpu is not cover by mobo? CPU will ruin my mobo by some time or ... ? PSU is *****.. I agree, I had to give him my PSU because he had 300W... just for now.. 

I got this.. PC working like a charm.. all temps, but when I load CPU, temp is going up too quick.. then PC go off..

I believe you that is not builded right way.. But I am working with what I got.. 

Water cooling will help to make PC stable I hope.. Soon I will recommend new PSU.. at least 650W.. I really dont believe you need 800W for minimum configuration.. This is just joke.. Maybe I am wrong and thats why I started this thread. 

Bomb me with your ideas and experiences. Thanks

It's always a bit disheartening to see someone ask for help, help is given and all of it waved away and then ask, "what are your ideas?"

My friend, all the ideas have been given to you by several different people already.  

You keep running into the same problem over and over because your board (again, as been told to you by pretty much everyone here, more importantly by ASUS at their site) is not designed to withstand the heat produced by an FX-9000 series CPU.  Hence when the 9590 hits full load you have issues.  

You are trying to compensate for the problem rather than resolve it.

Why ask for help if you're just going to bypass what everyone says anyway lol



-------------------------


FX-8350|Sabertooth 990FX R2.0|H80i|GTX 770SC 4GB|GSkill Ripjaws 16GB 



Edited: 06/05/2014 at 10:11 AM by DatDirtyDawG
 06/06/2014 05:04 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
harry0r
Peon

Posts: 8
Joined: 05/29/2014

Well.. I have diffrent point of view man..

My situation is a bit of bad luck.. I didnt build pc some time.. so I missed news.. cases, cooling..

About your compatibility here.. HCL means hardware compatibility list which have been tested.. So other product cannot do same thing like tested ??
Never say never.. Mobo is good. Socket is supported.. Heating is absolutely ok with H80i(cpu 100% load - temp 50max) My customers case suck.. Its not ideal for this high end pc I built it with money budget.. I have to admit case is wrong(not ideal), cpu cooler katana 4 was a horrible mistake.. Like I said I didnt build pc some time.. I am just doing better work then playing with building computer..

I didnt bypass all.. but I cannot say my customer hey dude I need more money for better PSU because some guy here told me.. I have mapped situation about configuration etc..

BYTHEWAY I HAVE NEVER HAD PROBLEM SINCE I BUILD FIRST AMD!!
So this is other thing..
Intel with his quality will never do this behavior and problems..

 

For now, my customers configuration working well. If we blow mobo, I wont be happy but I let you know cuz I really dont think its possible since water cooling there and its just gorgeous!

See ya from Czech republic ;-)



Edited: 06/06/2014 at 06:33 AM by harry0r
 06/06/2014 11:03 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
black_zion
80 Column Mind

Posts: 13076
Joined: 04/17/2008

It's your funeral.

-------------------------
AMD FX-8350 w/ Corsair H105, ASUS Sabertooth 990FX Gen3/R2, 8GiB G.SKILL DDR3-2133, XFX HD 7970, 512GB Vertex 4, 256GB Vector, 240GB Agility 3, Creative X-Fi Titanium w/ Creative Gigaworks S750, SeaSonic X750, Corsair C70, HP ZR2440w, Win 7 Ultimate x64
 06/06/2014 12:18 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
QB the Slayer
Master Looter

Posts: 339
Joined: 11/27/2012

Do you see your CPU on this list:

http://www.asus.com/Motherboards/M5A97_EVO_R20/HelpDesk_CPU/

 

No?  Well that's the answer to your problem...

 

Are you still using that junk 450W Fortron PSU?  That will only create more problems as time goes by.

 

Are you going to listen to what everyone is telling you?  If not why even bother posting...

 

QB



-------------------------

The MONSTER HTPC:

CPU: AMD FX-8350.||.Cooler: Corsair H80i
MB: Gigabyte 990FXA-UD7.||.RAM: 8 GB Mushkin Blackline DDR3 2000MHz (7-10-8-27-1T)
Case: CoolerMaster HAF 932.||.PSU: Corsair HX750
GPU:Asus R9 270X DirectCU II TOP.||.Audio: Creative X-Fi Titanium Fatal1ty Pro w/ Logitech Z-5300e (5.1, 280W-RMS)
System Drive: 2xSamsung 840 Pro 128GB RAID0.||.Working Drive: 2xMushkin Chronos 60GB RAID0

 06/06/2014 08:56 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Athlonite
Nerfed

Posts: 57
Joined: 02/18/2009

So your getting rid of the heat in the CPU by using an H80i well done there but your still putting the mobo's VRMs under enormous strain trying to suck 220W out of them they were only designed to give you 125W 

 

you say you had a budget to work to well you would have been better of going with a 990FX based mobe and an 83xx CPU the cost of which would have been very close to your current setup if not actually a wee bit cheapr all you've managed to do is set yourself up for missery 

  1. you skimped on the mobo the VRM on it is weak to weak for the CPU your using 
  2. you skimped on the PSU Fortron is a crap PSU maker their PSU's are not clean Voltage producers
either or is going to kill your mobo it's just down to which is going fail first 



-------------------------

Asus M3A32MVP-Deluxe · AMD Phenom II X4 940BE @ 3.4GHz · Thermolab Baram
2x Corsair Dominator TWIN2x2048 (4x1GB) DDR2-1066MHz 5-5-5-15 CL2
2x HIS HD5770Fan 1GB DDR5 940Cclk/1290Mclk
2x WD2500AAJS 8MB cache 7k2rpm raid0 (Boot) · 3x Samsung HD502IJ 16MB cache 7k2rpm (storage)
PIONEER DVD-RW DVR-212 SATA
PSU: SilverStone ST75F-P (750W)
CASE: SilverStone RV02B-W

 06/07/2014 09:34 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
DatDirtyDawG
Peon

Posts: 23
Joined: 05/16/2014

The shame of it is there is so many other options he could have gone for with the same amount he spent and done so much better.  He could've gotten an FX-6300, stock cooler and spent the rest of it on a better PSU and video card.  That GT630 is pretty crappy too.  

What I don't get is that for whatever reason he refuses to accept that the 9590 on his M5A97 is what is shutting down his machine.  He even replaced it with an FX-6100 and it ran perfect but that still didn't convince him. So that makes everyone on this forum, an FX-6100 yet he decided because the socket fits it must be something else lol

Best of luck to you harry0r lol



-------------------------


FX-8350|Sabertooth 990FX R2.0|H80i|GTX 770SC 4GB|GSkill Ripjaws 16GB 

Statistics
88893 users are registered to the AMD Support and Game forum.
There are currently 4 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.