Topic Title: upgrade?
Topic Summary: looking into bottlenecking for my 1090t
Created On: 06/02/2014 06:29 PM
Status: Post and Reply
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 06/02/2014 06:29 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
kidfusion3000
Peon

Posts: 12
Joined: 11/14/2012

so i'm planning an upgrade for my system, and i'm not sure if my 1090t needs to be replaced, i've never bothered to OC it but I don't think i've ever seen it max out, I'm running an HD6870 and i play most games on full settings, SC2 tomb raider bioshock infinite my framrate ranges from 24-45 depending on the game.

I'm going to do some checking tonight to see if i can spot an obvious bottleneck,

does anyone have any experience in what the max GPU a 1090t can handle is?

 

current specs

hitachi slimline slotload BD ROM

Win7 home current 

and my signature

 



-------------------------

AMD Phenom II x6 3.2ghz (1090T), 4GBx2 Gskill 1333 RAM , GA-880GMA-UD2H, XFX DD HD 6870, Sandisk 240GB SSD, WD 1 TB HDD



Edited: 06/02/2014 at 06:41 PM by kidfusion3000
 06/02/2014 07:24 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
black_zion
80 Column Mind

Posts: 12257
Joined: 04/17/2008

Not such a simple question, and it depends on the game. Take Watch Dogs for example, due to the nature of the game, there isn't much difference between a 2.5ghz CPU and 5ghz CPU. Conversely some games can't have a fast enough CPU. Also it depends on the resolution you play at, under 1920x1080 tends to be CPU bound, while above 1920x1080 tends to be GPU bound. If you got a good liquid cooler, the Corsair H80i is an excellent choice, and were able to get that CPU to 4ghz or higher, which seems to be fairly common, I wouldn't hesitate in saying the R9 280 (non X), which is about 40% faster than your current card.

-------------------------
ASUS Sabertooth 990FX/Gen3 R2, FX-8350 w/ Corsair H60, 8 GiB G.SKILL RipjawsX DDR3-2133, XFX HD 7970 Ghz, 512GB Vertex 4, 256GB Vector, 240GB Agility 3, Creative X-Fi Titanium w/ Creative Gigaworks S750, SeaSonic X750, HP ZR2440w, Win 7 Ultimate x64
 06/02/2014 07:54 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
kidfusion3000
Peon

Posts: 12
Joined: 11/14/2012

my cooler is a CM geminii, coretemp reports temps are usually pretty low, 23-27 idle up to 38 (and i crank the fans to 12v) under load depending on the game, so i could OC it a bit, but i'm rolling a fractal design node 605. Excellent case cooling but no room to mount a water cooler, especially since the upgrade is going to include an ATX board probably ga-990fx by gigabyte.

 

thanks for the input, from my research, it looks like an R9 270 would probably work but i don't know if its worth the money for the upgrade, mostly i'm looking at it because its GCN and of course, i want to be ready for mantle.



-------------------------

AMD Phenom II x6 3.2ghz (1090T), 4GBx2 Gskill 1333 RAM , GA-880GMA-UD2H, XFX DD HD 6870, Sandisk 240GB SSD, WD 1 TB HDD

 06/02/2014 11:30 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Earnhardt
Case Modder

Posts: 875
Joined: 09/11/2008

Running 2 7950 boost edition cards in crossfire with an 1100T @4ghz.

Had a 1090T @4Ghz as well before I bought this(1100T) a few years ago.

was running 2-6950 dirt 3's at 6970 speeds in crossfire with the 1090T,But I dont think even the 7950's would be bottlenecked at all.

Just bump the multiplier to 20 and thats it.



-------------------------

AMD Phenom II 1100t @4.0Ghz /Asus sabertooth 990fx/2x Gigabyte 3G 7950's in crossfire/500G samsung 840 ssd/16G G-Skill Ripjaw 1600/2-samsung 24" monitors 1920X1200/Corsair AX1200W psu/W7 pro 64,G19 keyboard,Roccat kone pure mouse,Cooler master HAF932,Corsair H100i water cooler,Zalman ram cooler.Sound Blaster X-Fi Titanium Fatal1ty Champion Series,Logitech Z5500 speakers,Roccat Kave 5.1 headset.



Edited: 06/02/2014 at 11:46 PM by Earnhardt
 06/03/2014 11:52 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
AMDforMe
Farming Materials

Posts: 600
Joined: 09/08/2013

Originally posted by: kidfusion3000 my cooler is a CM geminii, coretemp reports temps are usually pretty low, 23-27 idle up to 38 (and i crank the fans to 12v) under load depending on the game, so i could OC it a bit, but i'm rolling a fractal design node 605. Excellent case cooling but no room to mount a water cooler, especially since the upgrade is going to include an ATX board probably ga-990fx by gigabyte.

Ignore the technical ignorance regarding closed loop coolers. Some CLC fanbois constant promote these inferior coolers because they can't read and understand objective scientific cooler test data that substantiates how inferior the Corsair H series coolers are compared to conventional HSFs.

People that are technically challenged should NOT be making CPU cooler recommendation but they continue to do so every chance they get which is a disservice to all forum members. These people start the CLC crap in every thread they can and it's a disgrace in addition to being technically ignorant.



-------------------------

Building a reliable PC involves more than just assembling the parts. You need to be able to configure all of the BIOS settings appropriately. This can be quite involved and frustrating as it can require a lot of trial and error with stress testing. It is however often the only means to get a 100% reliable PC.

 06/03/2014 02:37 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Slayerx
Button Masher

Posts: 265
Joined: 09/16/2012

Oh there he gose with the " technically challenged fanboi" stuff again lol



-------------------------

FX 8320// Asus Sabertooth R2.0 // HIS R9 280x //8Gb of 1866Mhz ram, H50 cooling, HX850W psu all stuffed into a NZXT Phantom case.


Was a member of AMD Processer forum since 2008. Last post count 1818.

 06/03/2014 05:19 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
kidfusion3000
Peon

Posts: 12
Joined: 11/14/2012

Originally posted by: AMDforMe
Originally posted by: kidfusion3000 my cooler is a CM geminii, coretemp reports temps are usually pretty low, 23-27 idle up to 38 (and i crank the fans to 12v) under load depending on the game, so i could OC it a bit, but i'm rolling a fractal design node 605. Excellent case cooling but no room to mount a water cooler, especially since the upgrade is going to include an ATX board probably ga-990fx by gigabyte.

 

Ignore the technical ignorance regarding closed loop coolers. Some CLC fanbois constant promote these inferior coolers because they can't read and understand objective scientific cooler test data that substantiates how inferior the Corsair H series coolers are compared to conventional HSFs.

 

People that are technically challenged should NOT be making CPU cooler recommendation but they continue to do so every chance they get which is a disservice to all forum members. These people start the CLC crap in every thread they can and it's a disgrace in addition to being technically ignorant.

 

 

its easy to say people are fanbois or challendged or less informed, where's your data? (pics or it didn't happen.)



-------------------------

AMD Phenom II x6 3.2ghz (1090T), 4GBx2 Gskill 1333 RAM , GA-880GMA-UD2H, XFX DD HD 6870, Sandisk 240GB SSD, WD 1 TB HDD

 06/03/2014 06:32 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
black_zion
80 Column Mind

Posts: 12257
Joined: 04/17/2008

Now he's going to post links to some Frostytech page, but will not mention the top coolers are CLLs.

-------------------------
ASUS Sabertooth 990FX/Gen3 R2, FX-8350 w/ Corsair H60, 8 GiB G.SKILL RipjawsX DDR3-2133, XFX HD 7970 Ghz, 512GB Vertex 4, 256GB Vector, 240GB Agility 3, Creative X-Fi Titanium w/ Creative Gigaworks S750, SeaSonic X750, HP ZR2440w, Win 7 Ultimate x64
 06/03/2014 10:27 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
DatDirtyDawG
Peon

Posts: 18
Joined: 05/16/2014

Originally posted by: kidfusion3000  

 

its easy to say people are fanbois or challendged or less informed, where's your data? (pics or it didn't happen.)

 

 

Very well said bud.  It's so unfortunate as I've read many good, informative posts by that user EXCEPT for when it comes to his insane negative rants about CLC.  It's a like a strange cosmic button for him. 

As for a 1090T: I had one for about 3 years overclocked to 4GHz and it ran beautifully.  Had it set up with a pair of GTX560TI 2GB cards in SLI, cooled by an H80i and I couldnt have been happier.  It's now in a build I made for my Dad (who doesn't game or anything lol) so it's like he has a muscle car that he uses to drive to the grocery store lol.



-------------------------


 


FX-8350|Sabertooth 990FX R2.0|H80i|GTX 770SC 4GB|GSkill Ripjaws 16GB 

 06/03/2014 11:18 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Earnhardt
Case Modder

Posts: 875
Joined: 09/11/2008

Originally posted by: AMDforMe
Originally posted by: kidfusion3000 my cooler is a CM geminii, coretemp reports temps are usually pretty low, 23-27 idle up to 38 (and i crank the fans to 12v) under load depending on the game, so i could OC it a bit, but i'm rolling a fractal design node 605. Excellent case cooling but no room to mount a water cooler, especially since the upgrade is going to include an ATX board probably ga-990fx by gigabyte.

 

Welcome the technical reasoning regarding closed loop coolers. Some CLC fanbois  promote these superior coolers because they can read and understand objective scientific cooler test data that substantiates how superior the Corsair H series coolers are compared to conventional HSFs.

 

People that are technically superior should be making CPU cooler recommendation but they continue to do so every chance they get which is a service to all forum members,in addition to being technically superior.

 

There ,fixed it for you.



-------------------------

AMD Phenom II 1100t @4.0Ghz /Asus sabertooth 990fx/2x Gigabyte 3G 7950's in crossfire/500G samsung 840 ssd/16G G-Skill Ripjaw 1600/2-samsung 24" monitors 1920X1200/Corsair AX1200W psu/W7 pro 64,G19 keyboard,Roccat kone pure mouse,Cooler master HAF932,Corsair H100i water cooler,Zalman ram cooler.Sound Blaster X-Fi Titanium Fatal1ty Champion Series,Logitech Z5500 speakers,Roccat Kave 5.1 headset.

 06/04/2014 03:09 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
-rascal-
Farming Materials

Posts: 530
Joined: 01/15/2011

In your currnet scenario, the Phenom II X6 1090T is not the bottleneck in your system. Instead, the HD 6870 is.

From my experience, a Radeon HD 7970 / 7950 / R9-280X / R9-280 is probaby my recommendation.

I had a Phenom II X6 1090T paired with my HD 7970. There were some signs of minor CPU bottlenecking, but as I said, minor. Make note, my 1090T was clocked @ 4.0GHz / 4.1GHz.

Regardless, going from a HD 6870 to a 7970 / 7950 / R9-280X / R9-280 would be a massive performance bump.

I recently upgraded the HD 6870 for a HD 7950 in one of my other computers, and just, wow.



-------------------------

Phenom II X6 1090T @ 4.1GHz FX-8350 @ 4.8GHz // ASUS Crosshair V Formula 990FX // Sapphire Radeon HD Dual-X 7970 @ 1150/1500 // Thermaltake Frio w/ push-pull (using Antec Formula 7 Nano-Diamond + Cooler Master JetFlo fans) // 8GB (2 X 4GB) G.Skill RipJawsX 2133MHz  // Corsair TX850 850W // Corsair Force GT 120GB SSD (OS) // Kingston V200+ 120GB SSD // WD Caviar Black 1TB // Windows 7 Ult x64

 06/04/2014 03:02 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
kidfusion3000
Peon

Posts: 12
Joined: 11/14/2012

thanks for the insight, after testing the games i can benchmark with, tomb raider bioshock infinite ME3, i've noted that most of these games will max the gpu but only take the CPU to ~60% most of the time. Good to hear the general consensus concurs the GPU is the bottleneck. I'm researching crossfire for my next setup, but it seems the application for single GPU is more reliable, so i'll probably end up with the XFX R9 280X card i saw probably the 2 GB variant, i have no intention of going to 4k anytime soon, 1080p works fine.



-------------------------

AMD Phenom II x6 3.2ghz (1090T), 4GBx2 Gskill 1333 RAM , GA-880GMA-UD2H, XFX DD HD 6870, Sandisk 240GB SSD, WD 1 TB HDD

 06/04/2014 04:34 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
black_zion
80 Column Mind

Posts: 12257
Joined: 04/17/2008

I think I'd spend the extra few dollars for more VRAM. Even at 1920x1080 and 4xAA, you're talking about a scene rendered at 7860x4320 (when using SSAA), and modern games are using larger and more complex textures. But I haven't seen a 280X 2GB.

-------------------------
ASUS Sabertooth 990FX/Gen3 R2, FX-8350 w/ Corsair H60, 8 GiB G.SKILL RipjawsX DDR3-2133, XFX HD 7970 Ghz, 512GB Vertex 4, 256GB Vector, 240GB Agility 3, Creative X-Fi Titanium w/ Creative Gigaworks S750, SeaSonic X750, HP ZR2440w, Win 7 Ultimate x64
 06/04/2014 06:15 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
kidfusion3000
Peon

Posts: 12
Joined: 11/14/2012

yeah i was looking at the 270s, still torn between crossfiring and not, but crossfiring 280s is definitely out of my budget. primarily i'm aiming to be ready or close to ready for StarCitizen, so for now, definitely upgrading the mobo and GPU, and waiting on deals on the fx 8350 and a new set of RAM, as it stands i'm on the early access test for it and it seems to run mostly smooth but FPS does dip, i know its in Alpha but Roberts seems to be aiming for current high end standards for his final build, (which i support, it seems like every dev these days is 'optimizing for low to mid range' systems). 

 

so what do you think, 2 R9 270s or 1 R9 280? these are the cards i'm looking at specifically: 

2 http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16814150687

but since i'm poor i'd more likely crossfire these: http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16814150709

vs 1 http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16814150705



-------------------------

AMD Phenom II x6 3.2ghz (1090T), 4GBx2 Gskill 1333 RAM , GA-880GMA-UD2H, XFX DD HD 6870, Sandisk 240GB SSD, WD 1 TB HDD

 06/04/2014 07:27 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
black_zion
80 Column Mind

Posts: 12257
Joined: 04/17/2008

Always go for a single more powerful card vs multiple lesser powerful cards. Although dual 270X card have more on-paper power than a single 280X, 5120 GFLOPS single precision power vs 4096 (though less floating point capabilities, 360 GFLOPS vs 870), in games you have to deal with non linear scaling, the chance of Crossfire not working at all, microstuttering, and the additional heat and noise of a second card (two 270X pull 360w vs 250w for a 280X). Also, don't get XFX, their quality has gone down hill quickly. Pay a bit more for the Sapphire version.

-------------------------
ASUS Sabertooth 990FX/Gen3 R2, FX-8350 w/ Corsair H60, 8 GiB G.SKILL RipjawsX DDR3-2133, XFX HD 7970 Ghz, 512GB Vertex 4, 256GB Vector, 240GB Agility 3, Creative X-Fi Titanium w/ Creative Gigaworks S750, SeaSonic X750, HP ZR2440w, Win 7 Ultimate x64
 06/04/2014 10:33 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
kidfusion3000
Peon

Posts: 12
Joined: 11/14/2012

why do you say that? i've been building with XFX for my last 3 machines, never had any problems with them, i've used sapphire before, no problems there either. XFX was offering 2x lifetime warranties, so i switched, i noted that they don't mention the warranty any more but haven't had any failures.



-------------------------

AMD Phenom II x6 3.2ghz (1090T), 4GBx2 Gskill 1333 RAM , GA-880GMA-UD2H, XFX DD HD 6870, Sandisk 240GB SSD, WD 1 TB HDD

 06/04/2014 10:40 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
black_zion
80 Column Mind

Posts: 12257
Joined: 04/17/2008

Because I had my 7970 for only a couple of months before it died and had to be RMAd, a common occurrence with that model of DD edition cards. Thankfully I hadn't had time to sell my HD 5970 so I could use it in the meantime. When one card fails, that's an anomaly, when an entire model run fails so it must be replaced by a new model, that's a cause to switch to a better manufacturer. Before this 7970 I've only not use Sapphire cards two other times, one was an Abit 9600XT, which ended with a failed fan, and an MSI HD 4850, which had to be RMAd. No problems with my Sapphire 9600XT, X800GTO, X1950GT, HD 2900Pro, HD 4850x2, and HD 5970.

-------------------------
ASUS Sabertooth 990FX/Gen3 R2, FX-8350 w/ Corsair H60, 8 GiB G.SKILL RipjawsX DDR3-2133, XFX HD 7970 Ghz, 512GB Vertex 4, 256GB Vector, 240GB Agility 3, Creative X-Fi Titanium w/ Creative Gigaworks S750, SeaSonic X750, HP ZR2440w, Win 7 Ultimate x64
 06/05/2014 12:54 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Slayerx
Button Masher

Posts: 265
Joined: 09/16/2012

I agree with BZ go with a single 280X, CF'ing looks sexy and everything but with double the power, heat and space taken up and you don't even get double the performance.

 

Just throwing in my two cents on video cards but have a look at HIS's IceQ X2 R9 280X its pretty sweat, all metal fan shroud and OC's like mad ( not that you would have to) and never gose past 65c.



-------------------------

FX 8320// Asus Sabertooth R2.0 // HIS R9 280x //8Gb of 1866Mhz ram, H50 cooling, HX850W psu all stuffed into a NZXT Phantom case.


Was a member of AMD Processer forum since 2008. Last post count 1818.

 06/11/2014 11:44 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
kidfusion3000
Peon

Posts: 12
Joined: 11/14/2012

So the new card arrived, got the 3gb r9 280x card, in game its a monster, runs the arena commander module to star citizen at 60 FPS or better most of the time. but i'm running into the same screen flicker as some of the other people across the internet have been reporting. in 2D applications the screen flickers. Its REALLY frustrating.

I've heard its a problem with the 280x series in general, their idle clock frequencies drop too much, all i have to do is raise it, but every guide people reference on how to do it is like 10 yrs old, is anyone aware of a current guide?



-------------------------

AMD Phenom II x6 3.2ghz (1090T), 4GBx2 Gskill 1333 RAM , GA-880GMA-UD2H, XFX DD HD 6870, Sandisk 240GB SSD, WD 1 TB HDD

 06/12/2014 12:14 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
kidfusion3000
Peon

Posts: 12
Joined: 11/14/2012

may have fixed it, created a new profile, changed the 3000 to 5000 and it all seems to be fine, now, as per a guide i found from 06

 



-------------------------

AMD Phenom II x6 3.2ghz (1090T), 4GBx2 Gskill 1333 RAM , GA-880GMA-UD2H, XFX DD HD 6870, Sandisk 240GB SSD, WD 1 TB HDD

Statistics
84348 users are registered to the AMD Support and Game forum.
There are currently 2 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.