Topic Title: FX-8350 overheating
Topic Summary:
Created On: 06/07/2014 07:33 AM
Status: Post and Reply
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 06/07/2014 07:33 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Rawkzter
Peon

Posts: 4
Joined: 06/07/2014

Hi all,

I just got a new PC and the FX-8350 is reaching more than 60º while gaming (Planetside 2, Skyrim, etc.).
I did not overclock the CPU and the airflow is quite alright.
My motherboard is an ASUS M5A97 LE R2.0.

Any tips?

Thanks!

 06/07/2014 10:53 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
black_zion
80 Column Mind

Posts: 12367
Joined: 04/17/2008

Upgrade your cooling.

-------------------------
ASUS Sabertooth 990FX/Gen3 R2, FX-8350 w/ Corsair H60, 8 GiB G.SKILL RipjawsX DDR3-2133, XFX HD 7970 Ghz, 512GB Vertex 4, 256GB Vector, 240GB Agility 3, Creative X-Fi Titanium w/ Creative Gigaworks S750, SeaSonic X750, HP ZR2440w, Win 7 Ultimate x64
 06/07/2014 10:57 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
AMDforMe
Farming Materials

Posts: 600
Joined: 09/08/2013

Use the applet Core Temp to read the internal CPU core temp as many programs incorrectly read FX CPU temps. There are numerous threads in this forum on the subject. As long as your CPU remains at or below 61C internal core temp, under full load you are fine. Make sure that your CPU fan speed in BIOS is set to 100%. It usually is NOT by default. See some of the other "overheating FX" threads for details.

"CPU temp" is NOT the actual CPU internal temp but the thermister temp which typically runs 10C-25c higher than the CPU internal core temp depending on load and length of time the load is applied.

Also check that your CPU vcore is not running excessively high when under heavy load which is common on many mobos as the BIOS "auto" mode does not function well with 8-core FX CPUs. Typically under full load your vcore should be ~1.35v or lower. You may need to use manual settings for your CPU vcore to remain in the proper range under load.



-------------------------

Building a reliable PC involves more than just assembling the parts. You need to be able to configure all of the BIOS settings appropriately. This can be quite involved and frustrating as it can require a lot of trial and error with stress testing. It is however often the only means to get a 100% reliable PC.

 06/07/2014 04:42 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Rawkzter
Peon

Posts: 4
Joined: 06/07/2014

I got Core Temp and it shows 60º in all cores with the CPU fan at 100% (which is loud as hell).

My VCore is around 0,840

 06/07/2014 05:07 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Earnhardt
Case Modder

Posts: 879
Joined: 09/11/2008

Originally posted by: AMDforMe Use the applet Core Temp to read the internal CPU core temp as many programs incorrectly read FX CPU temps. There are numerous threads in this forum on the subject. As long as your CPU remains at or below 61C internal core temp, under full load you are fine. Make sure that your CPU fan speed in BIOS is set to 100%. It usually is NOT by default. See some of the other "overheating FX" threads for details.

 

"CPU temp" is NOT the actual CPU internal temp but the thermister temp which typically runs 10C-25c higher than the CPU internal core temp depending on load and length of time the load is applied.

 

Also check that your CPU vcore is not running excessively high when under heavy load which is common on many mobos as the BIOS "auto" mode does not function well with 8-core FX CPUs. Typically under full load your vcore should be ~1.35v or lower. You may need to use manual settings for your CPU vcore to remain in the proper range under load.

 

There is a reason they have this:

http://forums.amd.com/game/messageview.cfm?catid=443&threadid=160903&enterthread=y

without know things like,what case,what CPU cooler,fans?,ambient air temp,etc...your just blowing smoke!...as usual.



-------------------------

AMD Phenom II 1100t @4.0Ghz /Asus sabertooth 990fx/2x Gigabyte 3G 7950's in crossfire/500G samsung 840 ssd/16G G-Skill Ripjaw 1600/2-samsung 24" monitors 1920X1200/Corsair AX1200W psu/W7 pro 64,G19 keyboard,Roccat kone pure mouse,Cooler master HAF932,Corsair H100i water cooler,Zalman ram cooler.Sound Blaster X-Fi Titanium Fatal1ty Champion Series,Logitech Z5500 speakers,Roccat Kave 5.1 headset.

 06/07/2014 05:25 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
QB the Slayer
Master Looter

Posts: 326
Joined: 11/27/2012

What BIOS is installed?  you need 1006 or higher.

 

QB



-------------------------

The MONSTER HTPC:

CPU: AMD FX-8350.||.Cooler: Corsair H80i
MB: Gigabyte 990FXA-UD7.||.RAM: 8 GB Mushkin Blackline DDR3 2000MHz (7-10-8-27-1T)
Case: CoolerMaster HAF 932.||.PSU: Corsair HX750
GPU:Asus R9 270X DirectCU II TOP.||.Audio: Creative X-Fi Titanium Fatal1ty Pro w/ Logitech Z-5300e (5.1, 280W-RMS)
System Drive: 2xSamsung 840 Pro 128GB RAID0.||.Working Drive: 2xMushkin Chronos 60GB RAID0

 06/08/2014 03:46 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Rawkzter
Peon

Posts: 4
Joined: 06/07/2014

BIOS version is 2501.

My case is a VS3-V.
http://www.sharkoon.com/?q=en/content/vs3-v

 06/08/2014 04:07 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
black_zion
80 Column Mind

Posts: 12367
Joined: 04/17/2008

Crappy airflow in that case, not even suited to a closed loop liquid cooler. Suggest upgrading to a new case.

-------------------------
ASUS Sabertooth 990FX/Gen3 R2, FX-8350 w/ Corsair H60, 8 GiB G.SKILL RipjawsX DDR3-2133, XFX HD 7970 Ghz, 512GB Vertex 4, 256GB Vector, 240GB Agility 3, Creative X-Fi Titanium w/ Creative Gigaworks S750, SeaSonic X750, HP ZR2440w, Win 7 Ultimate x64
 06/08/2014 04:19 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Rawkzter
Peon

Posts: 4
Joined: 06/07/2014

Even with the case open the temperatures are the same.

Yesterday I was downloading GTA IV from steam and the CPU went to 50º.

That is not normal.

 06/08/2014 04:26 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
AMDforMe
Farming Materials

Posts: 600
Joined: 09/08/2013

Actually FX 8-core processors run pretty hot so what you think is normal may be incorrect for FX CPUs. See my previous posts and other threads here on so called "overheating FX-8xxx CPUs". There are many possibilities and you need to address some uncommon issues with these high power consumption CPUs.

First you need to be sure you are getting correct CPU core temps. Otherwise you may be chasing a problem that doesn't exist.



-------------------------

Building a reliable PC involves more than just assembling the parts. You need to be able to configure all of the BIOS settings appropriately. This can be quite involved and frustrating as it can require a lot of trial and error with stress testing. It is however often the only means to get a 100% reliable PC.

 06/09/2014 02:22 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
DatDirtyDawG
Peon

Posts: 22
Joined: 05/16/2014

Originally posted by: Rawkzter Even with the case open the temperatures are the same.

 

Yesterday I was downloading GTA IV from steam and the CPU went to 50º.

 

That is not normal.

 

The more info, the better.  At the very least...: 

What is your cooling solution?  Not for anything but if you have a heat issue what kind of cooling you have is among the top 3 questions



-------------------------


FX-8350|Sabertooth 990FX R2.0|H80i|GTX 770SC 4GB|GSkill Ripjaws 16GB 

Statistics
84878 users are registered to the AMD Support and Game forum.
There are currently 5 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.