Topic Title: The best AMD CPU?
Topic Summary:
Created On: 06/08/2014 09:52 PM
Status: Post and Reply
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
1 2 Next Last unread
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 06/08/2014 09:52 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
eskimosound
Peon

Posts: 21
Joined: 09/10/2007

Ok guys, long time since I posted, the world has changed for the better since I last asked this question....

What's the best cpu amd do these days and what socket is it?



Edited: 06/10/2014 at 09:43 AM by eskimosound
 06/08/2014 11:56 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
MyMedia59
Overclocker

Posts: 632
Joined: 10/30/2009

Usually the latest are the finest but I would stay away from the FX 9xxx due to heat issues (very hot CPU) hence the FX 8xxx series is the wiser choice.

Don't go APU sockets as it's still subpar to CPU sockets

http://www.cpubenchmark.net/cpu.php?cpu=AMD+A10-5800K+APU

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 



-------------------------

GA 990FXA-UD3v3
AMD FX-8320
Kingston 8GB 1600 HyperX
GPU Gigabyte R685OC-1GD
1x SSHD ST1000DX001/ 1x SATA3 WD Blue/ 1x STBV2000300
SeaSonic 650W
Win7x64

 06/09/2014 02:12 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Earnhardt
Case Modder

Posts: 894
Joined: 09/11/2008

The FX 8350 and it's an AM3+ socket!They are 125W cpu's and are easier to cool,they are also a lot cheaper than the 9000's.

As noted above the 9000's run hot and are 220W cpu's,they require a good CLC solution like an H80i or a H100i style cooler.And a mobo capable of using them.



-------------------------

AMD Phenom II 1100t @4.0Ghz /Asus sabertooth 990fx/2x Gigabyte 3G 7950's in crossfire/500G samsung 840 ssd/16G G-Skill Ripjaw 1600/2-samsung 24" monitors 1920X1200/Corsair AX1200W psu/W7 pro 64,G19 keyboard,Roccat kone pure mouse,Cooler master HAF932,Corsair H100i water cooler,Zalman ram cooler.Sound Blaster X-Fi Titanium Fatal1ty Champion Series,Logitech Z5500 speakers,Roccat Kave 5.1 headset.

 06/09/2014 07:29 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
eskimosound
Peon

Posts: 21
Joined: 09/10/2007

Thaks guys, so what are the latest.... and the largest cores?

 06/10/2014 12:45 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
MyMedia59
Overclocker

Posts: 632
Joined: 10/30/2009

As mentioned above the FX8 (8320/8350) series is the latest design being "8-cores". Combined with an AM3+ socket and an 990 chipset you have a nice system.

 

 



-------------------------

GA 990FXA-UD3v3
AMD FX-8320
Kingston 8GB 1600 HyperX
GPU Gigabyte R685OC-1GD
1x SSHD ST1000DX001/ 1x SATA3 WD Blue/ 1x STBV2000300
SeaSonic 650W
Win7x64

 06/10/2014 01:04 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
black_zion
80 Column Mind

Posts: 12658
Joined: 04/17/2008

Still needs overclocking...

-------------------------
ASUS Sabertooth 990FX/Gen3 R2, FX-8350 w/ Corsair H60, 8 GiB G.SKILL RipjawsX DDR3-2133, XFX HD 7970 Ghz, 512GB Vertex 4, 256GB Vector, 240GB Agility 3, Creative X-Fi Titanium w/ Creative Gigaworks S750, SeaSonic X750, HP ZR2440w, Win 7 Ultimate x64
 06/10/2014 03:14 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
MyMedia59
Overclocker

Posts: 632
Joined: 10/30/2009

I never (needed to) overclock (any GPU/CPU) and the FX got auto overclocking built in ... but this is off topic.

 



-------------------------

GA 990FXA-UD3v3
AMD FX-8320
Kingston 8GB 1600 HyperX
GPU Gigabyte R685OC-1GD
1x SSHD ST1000DX001/ 1x SATA3 WD Blue/ 1x STBV2000300
SeaSonic 650W
Win7x64

 06/10/2014 07:50 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
eskimosound
Peon

Posts: 21
Joined: 09/10/2007

Thanks guys 8 core! Wow, the world has moved on since my last build.

 06/10/2014 08:21 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
eskimosound
Peon

Posts: 21
Joined: 09/10/2007

And may i ask you whats the best AM3+ Asus mobo to use?

 06/10/2014 08:32 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
black_zion
80 Column Mind

Posts: 12658
Joined: 04/17/2008

Sabertooth 990FX Gen3/R2, but as they don't make it anymore, the Sabertooth 990FX R2.

-------------------------
ASUS Sabertooth 990FX/Gen3 R2, FX-8350 w/ Corsair H60, 8 GiB G.SKILL RipjawsX DDR3-2133, XFX HD 7970 Ghz, 512GB Vertex 4, 256GB Vector, 240GB Agility 3, Creative X-Fi Titanium w/ Creative Gigaworks S750, SeaSonic X750, HP ZR2440w, Win 7 Ultimate x64
 06/11/2014 02:07 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Slayerx
Button Masher

Posts: 282
Joined: 09/16/2012

The Crosshair V formula-Z is Asus's top AMD board but I would have to say go with the Sabertooth too.



-------------------------

FX 8320// Asus Sabertooth R2.0 // HIS R9 280x //8Gb of 1866Mhz ram, H50 cooling, HX850W psu all stuffed into a NZXT Phantom case.


Was a member of AMD Processer forum since 2008. Last post count 1818.

 08/20/2014 09:38 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
eskimosound
Peon

Posts: 21
Joined: 09/10/2007

Originally posted by: Slayerx The Crosshair V formula-Z is Asus's top AMD board but I would have to say go with the Sabertooth too.

 

so should i buy a sabertooth or a crosshair and whats the difference

 08/20/2014 05:14 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
black_zion
80 Column Mind

Posts: 12658
Joined: 04/17/2008

Comparison link

The Sabertooth has a PCI slot, a Realtek codec instead of a SupremeFX, the Sabertooth supposedly has better cooling, and it's $35 cheaper.

-------------------------
ASUS Sabertooth 990FX/Gen3 R2, FX-8350 w/ Corsair H60, 8 GiB G.SKILL RipjawsX DDR3-2133, XFX HD 7970 Ghz, 512GB Vertex 4, 256GB Vector, 240GB Agility 3, Creative X-Fi Titanium w/ Creative Gigaworks S750, SeaSonic X750, HP ZR2440w, Win 7 Ultimate x64
 08/21/2014 12:37 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
eskimosound
Peon

Posts: 21
Joined: 09/10/2007

Mmmm, I can't decide!

 08/21/2014 07:22 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
black_zion
80 Column Mind

Posts: 12658
Joined: 04/17/2008

Unless you explicitly need a second PCIe x1 slot, save $35 and go with the Sabertooth.

-------------------------
ASUS Sabertooth 990FX/Gen3 R2, FX-8350 w/ Corsair H60, 8 GiB G.SKILL RipjawsX DDR3-2133, XFX HD 7970 Ghz, 512GB Vertex 4, 256GB Vector, 240GB Agility 3, Creative X-Fi Titanium w/ Creative Gigaworks S750, SeaSonic X750, HP ZR2440w, Win 7 Ultimate x64
 08/24/2014 07:47 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Sydneyblue
Nerfed

Posts: 57
Joined: 09/11/2012

As metioned isnt that 8350 technically only 4 core?

-------------------------

Asus Crosshair IV fomula//4.0 965 amd phenom 2//4gigram gskills ddr3//570 evga gtx//corsair gs 700//corsair h100i cooler//nzxt phantom240 white//seagate 500 gig drive//8.1 pro

 08/25/2014 12:36 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
KillerHurdz
Overclocker

Posts: 658
Joined: 07/23/2009

Originally posted by: Sydneyblue As metioned isnt that 8350 technically only 4 core?

It's quad module but it does indeed have 8 integer execution cores.



-------------------------

Desktop: AMD Phenom II X4 965 @ 3.5GHz, Sapphire Vapor-X HD5870, ASUS M4A78T-E, 8GB Kingston/Mushkin DDR3-1333, 256GB OCZ Vertex 4, 2xSeagate Momentus XT 500GB Hybrid Drive (RAID0), ASUS Xonar Xense, Corsair HX750W, Antec Nine Hundred, Windows 7 Professional x64.

HP Touchsmart TM2: Intel Core i5 430UM, Hitachi 250GB 7200RPM HDD, ATI Radeon HD5450, 8GB Samsung DDR3-1333 (CL9), Windows 7 Professional x64.

 08/27/2014 05:34 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
chrisjames61
Peon

Posts: 9
Joined: 08/23/2014

Originally posted by: MyMedia59 I never (needed to) overclock (any GPU/CPU) and the FX got auto overclocking built in ... but this is off topic.

 

 

 

 

 

Overclock built in? "Turbo" is hardly overclocking. These processors are made to overclock. That is why the multiplier is unlocked. Maybe you just don't know how.

 08/27/2014 05:36 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
chrisjames61
Peon

Posts: 9
Joined: 08/23/2014

Originally posted by: Sydneyblue As metioned isnt that 8350 technically only 4 core?

 

No, it is technically eight cores. I t has 8 integer cores. The four modules share resources between two cores.

 08/28/2014 09:37 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
DatDirtyDawG
Peon

Posts: 23
Joined: 05/16/2014

Originally posted by: eskimosound Mmmm, I can't decide!

 

An FX8350 with a Sabertooth 990FX R2.0 and an H100i and you will have a rock solid, well performing CPU/Motherboard/Cooling Solution that will serve you well my friend.  I have had mine for over a year+ and I don't forsee any need for a CPU/Motherboard upgrade anywhere in the near future.

Not only that but all three of these items have been around long enough to be tried and true for their performance.  Each have 1000's of owners and the prices are very reasonable at this stage in the game



-------------------------


FX-8350|Sabertooth 990FX R2.0|H80i|GTX 770SC 4GB|GSkill Ripjaws 16GB 

AMD Support and Game » AMD Processors (CPU) » The best AMD CPU?

1 2 Next Last unread
Topic Tools Topic Tools
Statistics
86413 users are registered to the AMD Support and Game forum.
There are currently 3 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.