Topic Title: Need Help Updating Sempron(tm) Processor 3100+ AMD586
Topic Summary: This Is My First Time Updating My GPU
Created On: 06/09/2014 07:03 PM
Status: Post and Reply
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 06/09/2014 07:03 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Burningocean2012
Peon

Posts: 6
Joined: 06/09/2014

What answers do i choose from the driver support/download page?

Processor Info:

Hardware: W3107, Gateway, First International Computer, Inc., K8MC51G
CPU: AuthenticAMD AMD Sempron(tm) Processor 3100+ AMD586, level: 15
1 logical processors, active mask: 1
RAM: 233226240 total
VM: 2147352576, free: 2046930944

MOTHERBOARD

Manufacturer-First International Computer Inc.
Model-K8MC51G,PCB1.x
Chipset-NVIDIA
Geforce 6100 rev.A2
Southbridge-NVIDIA Nforce 410(430 MCP rev.A2

BIOS
Brand-Phoenix Technologies LTD
Version-6.00 PG
Last Updated-11/25/2005

I can post more info if needed.

 06/10/2014 03:49 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Burningocean2012
Peon

Posts: 6
Joined: 06/09/2014

So noone knows then,ok.Sorry if i wasted everyones time asking this.

 06/10/2014 04:15 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
AMDforMe
Farming Materials

Posts: 600
Joined: 09/08/2013

There are a couple issues... The first being if your PC BIOS isn't updated to support a different CPU you won't be able to use it even if you could find a newer/faster CPU to install. The Sempron 3100+ is a very old CPU circa 2004 thus it's going to be very difficult finding a better CPU worth the trouble and costs if you can find any at all.

http://www.cpu-world.com/CPUs/K8/AMD-Sempron%203100%2B%20-%20SDA3100AIP3AX%20(SDA3100AXBOX).html

The second issue is that a CPU upgrade within the same series CPU usually brings very small improvements. If you want the best improvement for the costs, that generally means installing an SSD as an HDD is so slow that it present a system bottleneck. You might be forced to migrate to a newer system to see any real performance gains.



-------------------------

Building a reliable PC involves more than just assembling the parts. You need to be able to configure all of the BIOS settings appropriately. This can be quite involved and frustrating as it can require a lot of trial and error with stress testing. It is however often the only means to get a 100% reliable PC.



Edited: 06/11/2014 at 03:17 PM by AMDforMe
 06/11/2014 06:40 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Burningocean2012
Peon

Posts: 6
Joined: 06/09/2014

Thank you for answering my question!

Ive had this thing since October 2003 and i knew it was about time i got a new PC.

 06/11/2014 03:17 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
AMDforMe
Farming Materials

Posts: 600
Joined: 09/08/2013

Glad to help.



-------------------------

Building a reliable PC involves more than just assembling the parts. You need to be able to configure all of the BIOS settings appropriately. This can be quite involved and frustrating as it can require a lot of trial and error with stress testing. It is however often the only means to get a 100% reliable PC.

Statistics
84864 users are registered to the AMD Support and Game forum.
There are currently 3 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.