Topic Title: Phenom 2 965 question
Topic Summary:
Created On: 07/26/2014 08:28 PM
Status: Post and Reply
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 07/26/2014 08:28 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Sydneyblue
Buffed

Posts: 89
Joined: 09/11/2012

Are all the 965 phenom 2 black edition ? I busted up the one i had and i need to get a replacement

-------------------------

Asus Crosshair IV fomula//4.0 965 amd phenom 2//4gigram gskills ddr3//570 evga gtx//corsair gs 700//corsair h100i cooler//nzxt phantom240 white//seagate 500 gig drive//8.1 pro

 07/27/2014 09:45 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Hardwood
Dungeon Master

Posts: 4102
Joined: 01/27/2008

I've never seen one that isn't a BE.

Take a look here at the two part numbers for the 965 BE

http://www.cpu-world.com/CPUs/K10/AMD-Phenom%20II%20X4%20965%20Black%20Edition%20-%20HDZ965FBK4DGM%20%28HDZ965FBGMBOX%29.html



-------------------------

#1: FX-6350, Antec Kuhler 920, MSI 970 Gaming, Asus 5870/V2, ASUS Xonar D2X, GSkill (F3-14900cl9d-8gbxl), Antec Truepower New 750, Arc Midi, Win8.1pro x64
#2: MSI A88X-G45, AMD A10-7850K, IGP, Antec900 case, AMD 2x4GB 2133 (R938G2130UK), Antec 750 True, 128GB Sandisk SSD, WD Black 1TB, Win8.1pro x64
#3: Athlon 64 X2 4200+, AGP 1950pro, Audigy 2, Asus A8V-D, 2gig ram, Enermax 465P. Now on Win8.1pro cat 10.2

 07/27/2014 01:00 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Sydneyblue
Buffed

Posts: 89
Joined: 09/11/2012

Originally posted by: Hardwood I've never seen one that isn't a BE.

Take a look here at the two part numbers for the 965 BE

http://www.cpu-world.com/CPUs/K10/AMD-Phenom%20II%20X4%20965%20Black%20Edition%20-%20HDZ965FBK4DGM%20%28HDZ965FBGMBOX%29.html

what is the diference between the box and the gm?



-------------------------

Asus Crosshair IV fomula//4.0 965 amd phenom 2//4gigram gskills ddr3//570 evga gtx//corsair gs 700//corsair h100i cooler//nzxt phantom240 white//seagate 500 gig drive//8.1 pro

 07/27/2014 01:24 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Sydneyblue
Buffed

Posts: 89
Joined: 09/11/2012

what one should i get i mostly play games im looking at a 965 x4 955 x4 975 x4 1090t x6 is the 1090t 3.2 the same as the 955 just plus 2 cores ?



-------------------------

Asus Crosshair IV fomula//4.0 965 amd phenom 2//4gigram gskills ddr3//570 evga gtx//corsair gs 700//corsair h100i cooler//nzxt phantom240 white//seagate 500 gig drive//8.1 pro

 07/28/2014 12:09 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
KillerHurdz
Overclocker

Posts: 658
Joined: 07/23/2009

X4 975 or X6 1100T will work well as long as your motherboard supports it (7XX chipset was X4 only).



-------------------------

Desktop: AMD Phenom II X4 965 @ 3.5GHz, Sapphire Vapor-X HD5870, ASUS M4A78T-E, 8GB Kingston/Mushkin DDR3-1333, 256GB OCZ Vertex 4, 2xSeagate Momentus XT 500GB Hybrid Drive (RAID0), ASUS Xonar Xense, Corsair HX750W, Antec Nine Hundred, Windows 7 Professional x64.

HP Touchsmart TM2: Intel Core i5 430UM, Hitachi 250GB 7200RPM HDD, ATI Radeon HD5450, 8GB Samsung DDR3-1333 (CL9), Windows 7 Professional x64.

 07/28/2014 08:47 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Hardwood
Dungeon Master

Posts: 4102
Joined: 01/27/2008

PIB has a fan in the box. The other is the cpu only.

As Killerhurdz alludes to, it would be REALLY helpful to know your motherboard model and gpu/PSU etc.



-------------------------

#1: FX-6350, Antec Kuhler 920, MSI 970 Gaming, Asus 5870/V2, ASUS Xonar D2X, GSkill (F3-14900cl9d-8gbxl), Antec Truepower New 750, Arc Midi, Win8.1pro x64
#2: MSI A88X-G45, AMD A10-7850K, IGP, Antec900 case, AMD 2x4GB 2133 (R938G2130UK), Antec 750 True, 128GB Sandisk SSD, WD Black 1TB, Win8.1pro x64
#3: Athlon 64 X2 4200+, AGP 1950pro, Audigy 2, Asus A8V-D, 2gig ram, Enermax 465P. Now on Win8.1pro cat 10.2

 07/28/2014 09:18 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Sydneyblue
Buffed

Posts: 89
Joined: 09/11/2012

Thanks for your help my motherboard is m4a79td Evo 

 



-------------------------

Asus Crosshair IV fomula//4.0 965 amd phenom 2//4gigram gskills ddr3//570 evga gtx//corsair gs 700//corsair h100i cooler//nzxt phantom240 white//seagate 500 gig drive//8.1 pro

 07/28/2014 09:31 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Sydneyblue
Buffed

Posts: 89
Joined: 09/11/2012

I had a 965 before but I damaged it installing my liquid cooler 100i corsair my psu is a raidmax and gpu 460 gtx



-------------------------

Asus Crosshair IV fomula//4.0 965 amd phenom 2//4gigram gskills ddr3//570 evga gtx//corsair gs 700//corsair h100i cooler//nzxt phantom240 white//seagate 500 gig drive//8.1 pro

 07/28/2014 03:11 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
black_zion
80 Column Mind

Posts: 13076
Joined: 04/17/2008

Replace that piece of crap PSU while you're at it.

-------------------------
AMD FX-8350 w/ Corsair H105, ASUS Sabertooth 990FX Gen3/R2, 8GiB G.SKILL DDR3-2133, XFX HD 7970, 512GB Vertex 4, 256GB Vector, 240GB Agility 3, Creative X-Fi Titanium w/ Creative Gigaworks S750, SeaSonic X750, Corsair C70, HP ZR2440w, Win 7 Ultimate x64
 07/28/2014 05:04 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Sydneyblue
Buffed

Posts: 89
Joined: 09/11/2012

Suggestions? Would any seasonic above 750 watts work?



-------------------------

Asus Crosshair IV fomula//4.0 965 amd phenom 2//4gigram gskills ddr3//570 evga gtx//corsair gs 700//corsair h100i cooler//nzxt phantom240 white//seagate 500 gig drive//8.1 pro

 07/28/2014 05:30 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
zipsi
Elite

Posts: 1050
Joined: 11/22/2010

Can be a Corsair PSU as well, 600w would work, 700w+ would give your system even more breathing room, good in the long term.



-------------------------
Intel I7 3770K @ 4.5ghz, Cooler Master Hyper 212 Evo, Gigabyte Z77X-UD3H, Gigabyte HD7970 ghz edition, 4x4gb Kingston HyperX Beast 2133mhz, Seasonic Platinum 860, Samsung 840 Pro 256gb, OCZ Vertex 4 128gb, WD Black 1TB, WD Green 3TB+1.5TB, ASUS Xonar Essence ST, ASUS VE278Q, Windows 3.11
 07/28/2014 05:30 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
black_zion
80 Column Mind

Posts: 13076
Joined: 04/17/2008

Yes.

-------------------------
AMD FX-8350 w/ Corsair H105, ASUS Sabertooth 990FX Gen3/R2, 8GiB G.SKILL DDR3-2133, XFX HD 7970, 512GB Vertex 4, 256GB Vector, 240GB Agility 3, Creative X-Fi Titanium w/ Creative Gigaworks S750, SeaSonic X750, Corsair C70, HP ZR2440w, Win 7 Ultimate x64
 08/01/2014 09:06 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Vegan
Alpha Geek

Posts: 1440
Joined: 01/31/2010

Originally posted by: Sydneyblue Suggestions? Would any seasonic above 750 watts work?

 

I have a TX8500V2 and I can do what I want, extreme overlcocking, dual video cards etc etc.

My old CPU runs fine at 4.1 GHZ which is now high I have been able to overclock it.

 



-------------------------

Statistics
88853 users are registered to the AMD Support and Game forum.
There are currently 1 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.