Topic Title: Need help on fine-tuning my OC [FX8320]
Topic Summary:
Created On: 08/19/2014 06:12 PM
Status: Post and Reply
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 08/19/2014 06:12 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Alkaline-AA
Peon

Posts: 5
Joined: 08/19/2014

Hello, I will start with specs.

Hardware.
AMD FX-8320
Corsair Vengeance 1600MHz XMP, 2x4GB. (Bought separetly, timings manually configured to 9-9-9-24, 41 and 2T)
Sabertooth 990FX R2.0
Cooler Master G650M 650w 80+ bronze
Hyper Evo 212

BIOS Configuration.
Multi: x23
Bus speed: 200
HT Link: 2600
NB Frequency: 2400
CPU Voltage: 1.437v
CPU/NB Voltage: 1.325v
NB HT Voltage: 1.25v 
DRAM Voltage: 1.55v

CPU LLC: High (75%)
CPU/NB LLC: High

All these is disabled:
Core C6 State, C1E, Cool n Quiet, HPC Mode, APM mode, EPU Power saver etc... Turbo core disabled aswell.

 All cores are activated in BIOS.


So, there it is, very detailed. I need some tips on finetuning my OC. CPU temperature is under 62C in load.
 With "Cpu load", I mean in Battlefield 4. More stable than that is completely unnessecary for me. So, advices?  

 

 



-------------------------
FX 8320 @ 4.6GHz
Sabertooth 990FX R2.0
 08/19/2014 06:25 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
black_zion
80 Column Mind

Posts: 12911
Joined: 04/17/2008

Yea, increase your cooling, AMD CPUs don't play nice above 60°C. And holy crap that's a high Vcore...Once you get a better cooler you can find the optimal balance between Vcore and speed. Also up your CPU VDDA to 2.75v, it counters voltage droop under load allowing a lower Vcore.



-------------------------
AMD FX-8350 w/ Corsair H105, ASUS Sabertooth 990FX Gen3/R2, 8GiB G.SKILL DDR3-2133, XFX HD 7970, 512GB Vertex 4, 256GB Vector, 240GB Agility 3, Creative X-Fi Titanium w/ Creative Gigaworks S750, SeaSonic X750, Corsair C70, HP ZR2440w, Win 7 Ultimate x64
 08/19/2014 07:16 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Alkaline-AA
Peon

Posts: 5
Joined: 08/19/2014

Originally posted by: black_zion Yea, increase your cooling, AMD CPUs don't play nice above 60°C. And holy crap that's a high Vcore...Once you get a better cooler you can find the optimal balance between Vcore and speed. Also up your CPU VDDA to 2.75v, it counters voltage droop under load allowing a lower Vcore.

Did you even read my post? My CPU ISNT above 60C, its 55C in load, and there is no issues with my cooling either.. High Vcore..? Please dont reply to my thread anymore, I highly believe that you are a big troll.. 4.6GHz with 1.356vcore is impossible.

I decreased the CPU/NB to 1.25v, as I saw 1.35 was for FX 8350... Im getting BSODs aswell.. Alot of Memory corruption that refers to pnkbstra.exe (Punkbuster), and bsods about Paged pool etc.. So help me fine tune anyone



-------------------------
FX 8320 @ 4.6GHz
Sabertooth 990FX R2.0
 08/19/2014 08:27 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
black_zion
80 Column Mind

Posts: 12911
Joined: 04/17/2008

Originally posted by: Alkaline-AA

Hello, I will start with specs.




Hardware.
AMD FX-8320
Corsair Vengeance 1600MHz XMP, 2x4GB. (Bought separetly, timings manually configured to 9-9-9-24, 41 and 2T)
Sabertooth 990FX R2.0
Cooler Master G650M 650w 80+ bronze
Hyper Evo 212




BIOS Configuration.
Multi: x23
Bus speed: 200
HT Link: 2600
NB Frequency: 2400
CPU Voltage: 1.437v
CPU/NB Voltage: 1.325v
NB HT Voltage: 1.25v 
DRAM Voltage: 1.55v

CPU LLC: High (75%)
CPU/NB LLC: High

All these is disabled:
Core C6 State, C1E, Cool n Quiet, HPC Mode, APM mode, EPU Power saver etc... Turbo core disabled aswell.




 All cores are activated in BIOS.






So, there it is, very detailed. I need some tips on finetuning my OC. CPU temperature is under 62C in load.
 With "Cpu load", I mean in Battlefield 4. More stable than that is completely unnessecary for me. So, advices?  




 




 



You said 62C. And no it is not impossible. Also, creating multiple threads about the same thing is against the terms of use.

-------------------------
AMD FX-8350 w/ Corsair H105, ASUS Sabertooth 990FX Gen3/R2, 8GiB G.SKILL DDR3-2133, XFX HD 7970, 512GB Vertex 4, 256GB Vector, 240GB Agility 3, Creative X-Fi Titanium w/ Creative Gigaworks S750, SeaSonic X750, Corsair C70, HP ZR2440w, Win 7 Ultimate x64
 08/20/2014 12:44 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Alkaline-AA
Peon

Posts: 5
Joined: 08/19/2014

I did a new thread because this was placed in the wrong section. I said that my cpu temp in load is UNDER 62C... You even quoted it..



-------------------------
FX 8320 @ 4.6GHz
Sabertooth 990FX R2.0
 08/20/2014 06:12 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
black_zion
80 Column Mind

Posts: 12911
Joined: 04/17/2008

UNDER 62°C means 61.9°C and below, which does not explicitly mean 55°C.

-------------------------
AMD FX-8350 w/ Corsair H105, ASUS Sabertooth 990FX Gen3/R2, 8GiB G.SKILL DDR3-2133, XFX HD 7970, 512GB Vertex 4, 256GB Vector, 240GB Agility 3, Creative X-Fi Titanium w/ Creative Gigaworks S750, SeaSonic X750, Corsair C70, HP ZR2440w, Win 7 Ultimate x64
 08/20/2014 07:27 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Alkaline-AA
Peon

Posts: 5
Joined: 08/19/2014

Lol, just nevermind..

I have decided to start from scratch again in BIOS. And hehe, I figured that my Vcore was ridicilous high, and that I can balance cpu/nb voltage and cpu voltage, then I dont need so high Vcore

Im gonna do it 100% now, make it stable in Prime and such.

Btw, what happends if the DRAM timings doesnt match to eachother? Like, if it like this:

CHA: 9   CHB: 9
CHA: 9   CHB: 9
CHA: 9   CHB: 9
CHA: 24 CHB: 24

CHA: 7  CHB: 8
CHA: 7  CHB: 8
CHA: 4  CHB: 6

This was just an example. Because CHA and CHB in DRAM Timings isnt the same if set to auto... 



-------------------------
FX 8320 @ 4.6GHz
Sabertooth 990FX R2.0
 08/20/2014 05:15 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
black_zion
80 Column Mind

Posts: 12911
Joined: 04/17/2008

Set them manually.

-------------------------
AMD FX-8350 w/ Corsair H105, ASUS Sabertooth 990FX Gen3/R2, 8GiB G.SKILL DDR3-2133, XFX HD 7970, 512GB Vertex 4, 256GB Vector, 240GB Agility 3, Creative X-Fi Titanium w/ Creative Gigaworks S750, SeaSonic X750, Corsair C70, HP ZR2440w, Win 7 Ultimate x64
 08/23/2014 06:19 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
chrisjames61
Peon

Posts: 9
Joined: 08/23/2014

You have a great cpu in the 8320 and about the best AM3+ overclocking board there is. The Hyper 212 is great for a 4300. Ok for a 6300. Not so good for overclocking an 8320 or 8350.

Statistics
87629 users are registered to the AMD Support and Game forum.
There are currently 4 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.