Topic Title: 990FXA-UD7 + AHCI + Windows 8 + AMD Chipset Drivers = Dead PC
Topic Summary: AMD Chipset drivers + Windows 8 = No more booting
Created On: 10/31/2012 03:33 AM
Status: Post and Reply
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 10/31/2012 03:33 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
DiGiTaL_MoNkEY
n00b

Posts: 3
Joined: 10/31/2012

I'm actually quite miffed about this issue. Even with a clean install of Windows 8 and AHCI set for my drives, whenever the latest "Windows 8" compatible chipset drivers are installed is kills any chance of booting my system. It get's stuck on the Windows 8 boot screen, with the ciruclar loading animaiont going for more than an hour before i gave up.I"m running a GIGABYTE 990FXA-UD7 with the latest BIOS. WD Black hard drives and a installation of Windows 8 64-bit. The only way to get the machine to boot is the change the controller to IDE mode, and then i'll be able to boot into Windows 8. Or restore my backup image of the computers C: drive.I hope something can be done about this, or let me know how i can help solve this issue or provide some logs that can clear things up.

-------------------------
 10/31/2012 08:29 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Hardwood
Dungeon Master

Posts: 4076
Joined: 01/27/2008

I had the same problem since day 1 with my gigabyte mobo. Resolved to use ide mode, and coupled with an SSD it's still amazingly fast.

OTOH, I hope you come up with a solution as I was looking at that mobo for my next upgrade.

-------------------------

#1: FX-6350, Antec Kuhler 920, MSI 970 Gaming, Asus 5870/V2, ASUS Xonar D2X, GSkill (F3-14900cl9d-8gbxl), Antec Truepower New 750, Arc Midi, Win8.1pro x64
#2: MSI A88X-G45, AMD A10-7850K, IGP, AMD 2x4GB 2133 (R938G2130UK), Antec 750 True, 128GB Sandisk SSD, WD Black 1TB, Win8.1pro x64
#3: Athlon 64 X2 4200+, AGP 1950pro, Audigy 2, Asus A8V-D, 2gig ram, Enermax 465P, Antec900case. Now on Win8.1pro cat 10.2

 10/31/2012 11:33 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Canis-X
Forum Moderator

Posts: 720
Joined: 08/28/2012

Really odd.  You might be able to find some information on the thread I linked below.

Sean's Windows 8 Install & Optimization Guide for SSDs & HDDs

Please let us know if there is something in there that corrects the issue.

FYI, here is the Win7 link...

Sean's Windows 7 Install & Optimization Guide for SSDs & HDDs

Edit:

Also see here: http://forums.amd.com/game/messageview.cfm?catid=454&threadid=161879 



-------------------------

The opinions expressed above do not represent those of Advanced Micro Devices or any of their affiliates.
Requiescat In Pace AMD Processor Forums | Member since: 1/19/2009 | Post count:
4142
Please don't PM me with questions, instead create a thread so that everyone can assist and benefit from the knowledge provided. Thanks in advance!



Edited: 10/31/2012 at 12:14 PM by Canis-X
 11/03/2012 01:57 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
DiGiTaL_MoNkEY
n00b

Posts: 3
Joined: 10/31/2012

Thanks for the links Canis-X. Unfortunately i haven't found a solution to the problem and with a little research i've noticed a couple other people having similar issues (scattered around the net).

While I would love to use AMD’s drivers when I have AHCI enabled, in the end the Microsoft drivers to the job. when I do reinstall windows 8 in the future, i'll try pre-loading the AMD drivers before the install.



-------------------------
 11/11/2012 12:13 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Soylent
Peon

Posts: 1
Joined: 02/15/2010

Well, your PC probably isn't "dead". I am also having this same issue. The problem seems to be with the "amdsbs.sys" driver, when you have RAID+AHCI on an AMD 7xx, 8xx, or 9xx chipset.

I have an Asus motherboard with the 890 chipset. I have one SSD drive for Windows boot, and a RAID 0 array for storage drives. When I set it in the BIOS to run in RAID+AHCI mode, Windows 8 bluescreens with the "DRIVER_IRQL_NOT_EQUAL" (or something similar) message. The only way I can get it to work is by changing the BIOS to RAID+IDE combo mode, which affects the performance of the SSD drive.

And it seems to be a common issue, that has been around since Windows 8 beta:

http://answers.microsoft.com/en-us/windows/forum/windows_8-windows_install/windows-8-error-amdsbssys/d500372a-56f4-45eb-aaf2-16e8e9caa16etm=1352653331661

http://social.technet.microsoft.com/Forums/en-US/W8ITProPreRel/thread/b716774f-20c9-463b-857e-e84d2231a06d

http://social.technet.microsoft.com/Forums/nl/w8itproinstall/thread/d0ee9d94-7452-4be8-aeaa-667557b1abe4

 Even people with new PC's:
http://answers.microsoft.com/en-us/windows/forum/windows_8-hardware/driverirqlnotlessorequal-amdsbssys/14f7bf99-7791-458b-bf45-a2b58b054218?page=2

One of the odd things is that the AMD 12.10 chipset driver package is missing the "AHCI" folder in "\Drivers\SBDrv\SB8xx\". There is one in SB7xx, but Windows 8 doesn't accept that driver.

It looks to me like the 12.10 drivers are NOT compatible with Windows 8.

 



-------------------------


Edited: 11/11/2012 at 12:30 PM by Soylent
 11/14/2012 08:02 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Twohype
Peon

Posts: 8
Joined: 02/02/2008

My setup is somewhat simular (but I'm ussing SSDs in a Raid 0 array) and I have no issues at all with AHCI enabled. However on the GIGABYTE GA-990FXA-UD7 you should enable the "Raid 5" option even if you are NOT using Raid 5 because on GIGABYTE GA-990FXA-UD7 it enables full SATA/AHCI functionality on the board for some crazy reason?



-------------------------
-------------------------------------------------------------
AMD FX 8350
GIGABYTE GA-990FXA-UD7 AM3 (AMD 990FX chipset)
Crucial Ballistix 16GB (2 x 8GB) DDR3 1866 (Timings:8-8-8-24-T1)
2 x Diamond Radeon HD 7970's (CrossFire Mode)
AMD HDMI sound (via Radeon HD 7970)
Display: 73" Mitsubishi 73838 3DTV
Primary Drive: OCZ Agility 3 SSD (2*480GB) in Raid 0 (SATA 3 mode)
Secoundary Drives: 5 (SATA 3) Drives total 10 Tera Bytes Secondary Storage
 11/26/2012 03:39 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
spulci
Peon

Posts: 31
Joined: 08/29/2008

Same issue on SB750 chipset on Win8 X64 on Asus M3A79T Deluxe mthb. Bsod after installing AHCI driver. Also on a fresh install you can add inf file to the Windows 8 setup partition utility: it will recognize the driver but it will find no disk available.

Default Microsoft driver has no issue and good perfomances.

 01/09/2013 03:43 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
QB the Slayer
Master Looter

Posts: 335
Joined: 11/27/2012

Originally posted by: Twohype My setup is somewhat simular (but I'm ussing SSDs in a Raid 0 array) and I have no issues at all with AHCI enabled. However on the GIGABYTE GA-990FXA-UD7 you should enable the "Raid 5" option even if you are NOT using Raid 5 because on GIGABYTE GA-990FXA-UD7 it enables full SATA/AHCI functionality on the board for some crazy reason?

 

I can verify this...  I was baffled as to why my 2xMushkin Chronos 60GB RAID0 was being capped at 500MB/s in ATTO and it was only after I enabled the RAID5 option in the BIOS that I finally got my full speeds in ATTO...  very very odd.  BTW, I also had to do a fresh install since I could not boot into Windows after RAID5 was enabled (even though I do not use RAID5)...  but all is good now

 

QB



-------------------------

The MONSTER HTPC:

CPU: AMD FX-8350.||.Cooler: Corsair H80i
MB: Gigabyte 990FXA-UD7.||.RAM: 8 GB Mushkin Blackline DDR3 2000MHz (7-10-8-27-1T)
Case: CoolerMaster HAF 932.||.PSU: Corsair HX750
GPU:Asus R9 270X DirectCU II TOP.||.Audio: Creative X-Fi Titanium Fatal1ty Pro w/ Logitech Z-5300e (5.1, 280W-RMS)
System Drive: 2xSamsung 840 Pro 128GB RAID0.||.Working Drive: 2xMushkin Chronos 60GB RAID0

 01/23/2013 02:33 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
MadGoat
Peon

Posts: 1
Joined: 01/23/2013

Some Issues here aswell,

 

I have a 990fxa-ud3, after installing windows 8 I proceeded to install the AMD chipset drivers. After the SATA AHCI driver was installed I would get random hangs when loading anything (OS included). However the biggest problem came after resuming from sleep. The system would crash and not respond for a matter of minutes until a bluescreen with a "DRIVER_POWER_STATE_FAILURE" error and continue to reboot.

 

After a little deductive reasoning, I proceeded to role back the "Sata AHCI controller" driver the default MS used to initailly install the OS.

This has solved my problem for now and the system is fuction properly (with AHCI, which is important to me for TRIM).

 

All of this to basicly fortify the knowledge that the AMD SATA AHCI driver does not function correctly in windows 8.

 

Thank you.

 09/18/2013 04:29 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Angelcrow
Peon

Posts: 1
Joined: 09/18/2013

Hi everyone,

Recently Installed Windows 7 SP1 and I faced a similar situation with the latest ahci drivers 13.4 ...Boot HD in sata 0 port doesnt boot. The only workaround I found to boot my drive with AMD Ahci Drivers was to declare my sata0 port in bios as Esata after installing the Ahci drivers and rebooted.  It worked. Windows are booting normaly but I have the eject option for my boot drive in windows 7.

Try it you dont have something to loose.

Phenom II X6 1090t

GA-770-UD3 (rev 2.0)

4 x 2 GB DDR2800CL5,

HD4850 512MB

1 x 300GB Maxtor boot drive (Maxtor 7 v300F0) boot disk

Maybe it has something to do with the Sata protocols regarding Ahci that each HD supports

Maybe we need to change something else in Windows Registry other than Ahci Support regarding Hot Plug, Esata Multiport Support, etc....

Or AMD Drivers have a certain conflict with certain bios settings

I dont know if my system is running properly with these settings. At least My Mechanical Hard Disks are not bumping all the time and I have decent speeds.

All other disks are running properly with AMD Sata Drivers. The Esata option is enabled only in Sata0

Hope this Helps and AMD is reading or listening as I dont consider my hardware legacy as 770/SB710 chipset is a great hardware.

Kind Regards

 09/18/2013 11:25 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
MisterEd
Nerfed

Posts: 60
Joined: 10/10/2012

Originally posted by: Angelcrow Hi everyone,

Recently Installed Windows 7 SP1 and I faced a similar situation with the latest ahci drivers 13.4 ...Boot HD in sata 0 port doesnt boot. The only workaround I found to boot my drive with AMD Ahci Drivers was to declare my sata0 port in bios as Esata after installing the Ahci drivers and rebooted.  It worked. Windows are booting normaly but I have the eject option for my boot drive in windows 7.

Try it you dont have something to loose.

Phenom II X6 1090t
GA-770-UD3 (rev 2.0)
4 x 2 GB DDR2800CL5,
HD4850 512MB
1 x 300GB Maxtor boot drive (Maxtor 7 v300F0) boot disk

Maybe it has something to do with the Sata protocols regarding Ahci that each HD supports
Maybe we need to change something else in Windows Registry other than Ahci Support regarding Hot Plug, Esata Multiport Support, etc....
Or AMD Drivers have a certain conflict with certain bios settings
I dont know if my system is running properly with these settings. At least My Mechanical Hard Disks are not bumping all the time and I have decent speeds.
All other disks are running properly with AMD Sata Drivers. The Esata option is enabled only in Sata0
Hope this Helps and AMD is reading or listening as I dont consider my hardware legacy as 770/SB710 chipset is a great hardware.

Kind Regards

That is strange. The GA-770-UD3 uses a SB710 chip for the SATA ports. I have not seen anything in the specs or manual that says anything about eSATA.

My motherboard has two SATA chips the AMD SB950 and the Marvell 88SE9172. The AMD SB950 supports the 6 internal SATA ports. The Marvell 88SE9172 supports the 2 back panel eSATA ports.

It makes sense to add a separate controller for eSATA. eSATA uses a different connector than SATA. To use a SATA drive externally you need an external hard drive enclosure with an eSATA connector. A special eSATA cable is used to connect the drive in the enclosure to the computer eSATA port.



-------------------------

Gigabyte GA-990FXA-UD3 | AMD FX-8350 | Corsair H60 Cooler | GSkill RipjawsX (2x4GB) | ASUS GeForce GTX 560 | WD Caviar Blue 1TB | Seagate 750GB | ASUS 24X DVD/RW| Windows 7 Ultimate 64-bit
ASUS M4N82 Deluxe | AMD Phenom II X4 960T | Corsair XMS2(2x2GB) | PNY GeForce GTS 250 (1GB) | Seagate 300GB | Maxtor 200GB/250GB | Memorex 20X DVD/RW | Windows 7 Home Premium 32-bit

 09/19/2013 12:09 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
black_zion
80 Column Mind

Posts: 12903
Joined: 04/17/2008

Why not just use Microsoft's provided MSAHCI.sys? There is no appreciable speed difference between it and AMDAHCI.sys, only a few MB/s in benchmarks.

-------------------------
AMD FX-8350 w/ Corsair H105, ASUS Sabertooth 990FX Gen3/R2, 8GiB G.SKILL DDR3-2133, XFX HD 7970, 512GB Vertex 4, 256GB Vector, 240GB Agility 3, Creative X-Fi Titanium w/ Creative Gigaworks S750, SeaSonic X750, Corsair C70, HP ZR2440w, Win 7 Ultimate x64
 09/20/2013 09:34 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
stumped
Wizard

Posts: 7457
Joined: 11/13/2009

13.9 chipset drivers http://support.amd.com/us/gpudownload/windows/Pages/raid_windows.aspx#2



-------------------------

Intel I7 960 @ 3.87ghz *Intel DX58SO *HIS HD6970 2gb *Corsair TX650M *2x4gb Corsair XMS3 *WD Black 1TB *Windows 7 Home Premium 64bit ***Asus N71Jq laptop *Intel I7 720QM Processor *Mobility Radeon HD5730 1gb *8gb Ram *Windows 7 64bit ** Toshiba P75-A7200 * Intel I7-4700MQ * Windows 8.1 64bit


 


 


 


 *  Quando Omni Flunkus, Moritati *

Statistics
87560 users are registered to the AMD Support and Game forum.
There are currently 6 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.