Topic Title: 990FX Chipset with Raid and single SSD
Topic Summary:
Created On: 12/07/2012 07:08 PM
Status: Post and Reply
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 12/07/2012 07:08 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
DroidXY
Peon

Posts: 6
Joined: 12/07/2012

When you try to use a single SSD with an HDD raid (or raid in general), the performance of the SSD is really bad. I have this problem and found many others with this problem.

Is there any statement if its a firmware problem or a controller problem?

 

Thanks!

 12/07/2012 07:21 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Mime
Forum Moderator

Posts: 578
Joined: 08/28/2012

I'm not sure exactly what you mean... but if you're mushing it all together in one raid... that's the only option for keeping the drives in sync.  You're not RAIDing the SSD with the rest of the RAID as a whole... but with each mechanical drive individually... and it's not like the mechanical drives can somehow speed themselves up to match the SSD.

Otherwise, maybe the traffic from the RAID and the SSD are fighting once all that gets back to your southbridge.  That would depend on the board, and probably how well your chipset drivers deal with lots of disk I/O.



-------------------------

Do not meddle in the affairs of archers, for they are subtle and quick to anger.
Post Count: +8510
Troll Hunter

The opinions expressed above do not represent those of Advanced Micro Devices or any of their affiliates.

 12/07/2012 07:31 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
DroidXY
Peon

Posts: 6
Joined: 12/07/2012

Example:

-2 HDDS in Raid 0/1 or what you want

-Single SSD also in raid mode (bios option for the sata port)

This leads to an really bad performance of the ssd

 12/07/2012 07:35 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Mime
Forum Moderator

Posts: 578
Joined: 08/28/2012

If that makes one array of three drives... then a slow SSD is just the way it's going to be.

If that makes two arrays of two drives mechanical drives, and one with just the SSD... then it's probably a driver thing.  SSD RAIDs are still fairly uncommon on the desktop, so there probably hasn't been a whole lot invested in knocking off the rough edges there.

I haven't set up a RAID in a while, but it seems odd that you wouldn't be able to run just a standalone drive in addition to the RAID.



-------------------------

Do not meddle in the affairs of archers, for they are subtle and quick to anger.
Post Count: +8510
Troll Hunter

The opinions expressed above do not represent those of Advanced Micro Devices or any of their affiliates.

 12/07/2012 07:43 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
DroidXY
Peon

Posts: 6
Joined: 12/07/2012

Originally posted by: Mime

I haven't set up a RAID in a while, but it seems odd that you wouldn't be able to run just a standalone drive in addition to the RAID.

 

 

You can run the ssd as standalone in addition to the raid, but the performance of the ssd is just bad!

 12/07/2012 08:11 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
black_zion
80 Column Mind

Posts: 12205
Joined: 04/17/2008

That's one reason why many motherboards have one (or more) extra SATA ports on a separate controller on the motherboard itself. You could also invest in a PCIe based SATAIII controller card, they're not that expensive.

-------------------------
ASUS Sabertooth 990FX/Gen3 R2, FX-8350 w/ Corsair H60, 8 GiB G.SKILL RipjawsX DDR3-2133, XFX HD 7970 Ghz, 512GB Vertex 4, 256GB Vector, 240GB Agility 3, Creative X-Fi Titanium w/ Creative Gigaworks S750, SeaSonic X750, HP ZR2440w, Win 7 Ultimate x64
 12/07/2012 08:41 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
DroidXY
Peon

Posts: 6
Joined: 12/07/2012

The question is, if its a controller problem (hardware!?) or a firmware problem

 12/07/2012 10:14 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
black_zion
80 Column Mind

Posts: 12205
Joined: 04/17/2008

Just so we're clear too, what is "bad", and are you sure it isn't the SSD itself needing a firmware update, or even something as simple as a new SATA cable?

-------------------------
ASUS Sabertooth 990FX/Gen3 R2, FX-8350 w/ Corsair H60, 8 GiB G.SKILL RipjawsX DDR3-2133, XFX HD 7970 Ghz, 512GB Vertex 4, 256GB Vector, 240GB Agility 3, Creative X-Fi Titanium w/ Creative Gigaworks S750, SeaSonic X750, HP ZR2440w, Win 7 Ultimate x64
 12/09/2012 02:34 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
DroidXY
Peon

Posts: 6
Joined: 12/07/2012

I tested it with Raid and without. Bad means ~22MB/s at the 4k 64thr test with as ssd for a Samsung 830 ssd against ~200MB/s without raid. Found couple of others with the raid+single ssd problem, but these are in german.

 12/16/2012 03:00 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
DroidXY
Peon

Posts: 6
Joined: 12/07/2012

heavy bug?

ignore: on

 12/18/2012 11:00 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
kidknicky
Peon

Posts: 3
Joined: 12/17/2012

In my "EARLY" experiance with the 990X chipset, once I set RAID, it sets ALL ports(1-4) as RAID. If your SSD is on that channel, then thats probably your problem. My ports 5&6 are set to IDE mode because of my optical drives.

Possibly, with your configuration, this may apply to your situation:

http://vip.asus.com/forum/view.aspx?id=20101224110852910&board_id=1&model=Crosshair+IV+Formula&page=1&SLanguage=en-us

Regards,



-------------------------

html code doesn't work...


M5A99X EVO R2 - FX 8350 - KHX1866C9D3K4/16GX - Corsair 500R - Corsair H100 - ...

Statistics
84159 users are registered to the AMD Support and Game forum.
There are currently 1 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.