Topic Title: Interesting observation of SSD's on AMD chipsets
Topic Summary:
Created On: 12/20/2012 05:42 PM
Status: Post and Reply
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 12/20/2012 05:42 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
black_zion
80 Column Mind

Posts: 12488
Joined: 04/17/2008

I was looking at the ATTO results of my SSD's the other day, and I noticed something quite interesting: Write speed was exceeding Read speed until fairly large transfer sizes, always until the 128Kb size, see example below for my D drive (512GB OCZ Vertex 4) but the same thing happens on both my older Sandforce based OCZ VertexLE and even my slow temp drive (OCZ Vertex Plus R2). Could just be an OCZ thing, doubtful since it happens on an older drive with a Sandforce controller though. Anyone else having the same results with other makes? Ignore the driver version in the screenshot, I'm using version 1.2.1.331 currently (which actually gives slightly slower performance than 1.2.1.329)



-------------------------
ASUS Sabertooth 990FX/Gen3 R2, FX-8350 w/ Corsair H60, 8 GiB G.SKILL RipjawsX DDR3-2133, XFX HD 7970 Ghz, 512GB Vertex 4, 256GB Vector, 240GB Agility 3, Creative X-Fi Titanium w/ Creative Gigaworks S750, SeaSonic X750, HP ZR2440w, Win 7 Ultimate x64
 12/30/2012 02:21 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
neo5555
Case Modder

Posts: 941
Joined: 08/13/2008

Here are my results for my Corsair 120Gig SSD using Sata 2 :

 



-------------------------

Pics of my rig
i7 4770k, custom water cooling, 8Gig Corsair Dom 2133 9-11-10-27, ASrock Z87 OC Formula, SilverStone ST-1500 PSU, Creative X-Fi Platinum, Logitech Z-5500D , 2xHIS 7970 CF, Asus VW246H Monitor, Win 7 64Bit HP, Corsair 800D Case

 01/03/2013 10:58 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Ed6698
Buffed

Posts: 76
Joined: 09/03/2012

 my results show the same thing it appears

240gb Corsair Force Gt

 



-------------------------

AMD 8350FX 4.5ghz//Asus Sabertooth 990FX R2//Zalman 9900Max//4x8gb Corsair Vengeance 1866//Corsair Force GT 90GB OS+240GB games ssd //WD 250gb Scorpio Black//PNY GTX680 sli//HP w2408h//Corsair hx1000//Antec 1200//Windows 8.1 x64



Edited: 01/03/2013 at 11:25 PM by Ed6698
 01/04/2013 08:22 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Canis-X
Forum Moderator

Posts: 719
Joined: 08/28/2012

Here's mine on an Intel for comparison....

128GB Crucial M4

256GB Samsung 840 Pro

I'm going to put my Crucial in my AMD 1090T build here shortly (like tonight/tomorrow) and I'll re-evaluate when that's done.



-------------------------

The opinions expressed above do not represent those of Advanced Micro Devices or any of their affiliates.
Requiescat In Pace AMD Processor Forums | Member since: 1/19/2009 | Post count:
4142
Please don't PM me with questions, instead create a thread so that everyone can assist and benefit from the knowledge provided. Thanks in advance!

 01/05/2013 03:54 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Canis-X
Forum Moderator

Posts: 719
Joined: 08/28/2012

Not the same case with my AMD rig with the 128GB Crucial M4 in it...

 



-------------------------

The opinions expressed above do not represent those of Advanced Micro Devices or any of their affiliates.
Requiescat In Pace AMD Processor Forums | Member since: 1/19/2009 | Post count:
4142
Please don't PM me with questions, instead create a thread so that everyone can assist and benefit from the knowledge provided. Thanks in advance!

 01/05/2013 11:13 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
black_zion
80 Column Mind

Posts: 12488
Joined: 04/17/2008

Twice the performance on AMD, that's odd...Any theories?

-------------------------
ASUS Sabertooth 990FX/Gen3 R2, FX-8350 w/ Corsair H60, 8 GiB G.SKILL RipjawsX DDR3-2133, XFX HD 7970 Ghz, 512GB Vertex 4, 256GB Vector, 240GB Agility 3, Creative X-Fi Titanium w/ Creative Gigaworks S750, SeaSonic X750, HP ZR2440w, Win 7 Ultimate x64
 01/05/2013 03:49 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Canis-X
Forum Moderator

Posts: 719
Joined: 08/28/2012

Intel's enterprize storage driver that is for the ASUS Rampage IV Extreme sucks.  That, and the Intel bench was on a drive that was in use for 6 months as an OS drive....when I ran it on the AMD system, that was immediately after a secure wipe/fresh OS install.

Here is my my Intel setup with dual 256GB Samsung 840 Pro SSD's in RAID 0:



-------------------------

The opinions expressed above do not represent those of Advanced Micro Devices or any of their affiliates.
Requiescat In Pace AMD Processor Forums | Member since: 1/19/2009 | Post count:
4142
Please don't PM me with questions, instead create a thread so that everyone can assist and benefit from the knowledge provided. Thanks in advance!

 01/09/2013 03:32 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
QB the Slayer
Master Looter

Posts: 329
Joined: 11/27/2012

As a comparison here is my 2xMushkin Chronos 60GB drives in RAID0

2xMushkin Chronos 60GB RAID0



-------------------------

The MONSTER HTPC:

CPU: AMD FX-8350.||.Cooler: Corsair H80i
MB: Gigabyte 990FXA-UD7.||.RAM: 8 GB Mushkin Blackline DDR3 2000MHz (7-10-8-27-1T)
Case: CoolerMaster HAF 932.||.PSU: Corsair HX750
GPU:Asus R9 270X DirectCU II TOP.||.Audio: Creative X-Fi Titanium Fatal1ty Pro w/ Logitech Z-5300e (5.1, 280W-RMS)
System Drive: 2xSamsung 840 Pro 128GB RAID0.||.Working Drive: 2xMushkin Chronos 60GB RAID0

 01/14/2013 03:25 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Vegan
Elite

Posts: 1232
Joined: 01/31/2010

anybody have 2 or more SSDs in RAID

 



-------------------------

 01/14/2013 04:22 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
charest2394
Grinding Levels

Posts: 159
Joined: 01/23/2010

Check on this topic you have a exemple of a RAID 0 of SSD:

http://forums.amd.com/game/messageview.cfm?catid=447&threadid=163350&enterthread=y 

or

http://forums.overclockersclub.com/index.php?showtopic=190403



-------------------------

AMD FX-8350 @ 4.4Ghz
Asus Crosshair V Formula-z
Patriot Viper 16 Go 1600Mhz (9-9-9-24)
Raid 0 SSD + Raid 0 Caviar Black WD6402AAEX Hard Drive
XFX 850W Black Edition
CrossFire Radeon XFX Core Edition R9 290
NZXT Phantom 630
Liteon Blu-Ray

 01/30/2013 04:04 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
black_zion
80 Column Mind

Posts: 12488
Joined: 04/17/2008

Reviving this thread to add this:



I got in a brand new OCZ Vector 256GB and ran ATTO on it both freshly formatted (NTFS, 4K sectors) and loaded with 150GB of data (drive was allowed to sit idle for 10 minutes after loading to compensate for page reorganization, results were effectively the same). Still getting the same anomaly of reads being lower than writes. Is interesting to be sure.

-------------------------
ASUS Sabertooth 990FX/Gen3 R2, FX-8350 w/ Corsair H60, 8 GiB G.SKILL RipjawsX DDR3-2133, XFX HD 7970 Ghz, 512GB Vertex 4, 256GB Vector, 240GB Agility 3, Creative X-Fi Titanium w/ Creative Gigaworks S750, SeaSonic X750, HP ZR2440w, Win 7 Ultimate x64
Statistics
85504 users are registered to the AMD Support and Game forum.
There are currently 2 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.