Topic Title: AMD AHCI driver 13.1 BSOD Windows7/8 and driver renaming
Topic Summary:
Created On: 02/06/2013 06:42 AM
Status: Post and Reply
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
1 2 Next Last unread
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 02/06/2013 06:42 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
zidder
Peon

Posts: 21
Joined: 11/21/2008

Hello!

Is there any chance for fixed ahci driver soon?

I fed up with only renamed ahci drivers since 2012 april(12.4=12.5=12.6=etc... = 13.1 , and BSOD maker drivers since 2012 Jan.

And of course, I reported the problem zillion times before. You know the problem, You know the solution, why we getting only renamed drivers dear AMD?

AND You renamed only the legacy VGA drivers too (12.6=13.1)

Thank You

 

CPU

AMD phenom 2 565 BE


Graphics Card
Sapphire HD5770 1GB Vapor-X

AMD Catalyst Driver Version, and Driver History
13.1 current, and tested all before relased

Operating System
Windows 7 SP1, Windows 8 both 64Bit.

Issue Details
AMD AHCI DRIVER BSOD & Boot loop

Motherboard or System Make & Model
-Gigabyte MA790X-UDP3

Power Supply
Corsair 650 TX

 02/10/2013 09:39 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Vegan
Elite

Posts: 1150
Joined: 01/31/2010

I have not had problems with my AMD 700 series board

AHCI works as expect with Windows 7 x64

 

 



-------------------------

 02/18/2013 06:48 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
rinkol1
Peon

Posts: 9
Joined: 09/20/2008

I think he is complaining about the fact that the recent AHCI drivers don't work on certain SB7x0 chipset motherboards unless you edit amd_sata.inf such that the 0 in "HKR, "Parameters\Device","AmdSataPMDisabled",%REG_DWORD %, 0" is changed to 0xFF
 03/21/2013 01:21 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
MyMedia59
Farming Materials

Posts: 583
Joined: 10/30/2009

Never had any such issues



-------------------------











GA 990FXA-UD3v3
AMD FX-8320
Kingston 8GB 1600 HyperX
GPU Gigabyte R685OC-1GD
1x SATA3 WD Blue / 1x SSHD ST1000DX001 / 1x STBV2000300
Corsair 620W
Win7x64

 03/24/2013 11:03 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
BuzzGUN
Peon

Posts: 13
Joined: 07/18/2009

I've been having the same problem on a Gigabyte GA-MA790XT-UD4P. 

Thanks, Zidder, for keeping the issue alive!

 03/31/2013 04:06 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Psaa
Peon

Posts: 1
Joined: 03/31/2013

Same here on a Asrock A780GXE/128M
 04/07/2013 08:18 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
lfb
Peon

Posts: 1
Joined: 04/07/2013

Again "Stop 0x0000007b" after Windows update for the ahci driver. Asus M3A78-T (AMD 790GX/SB750), latest Bios.

This problem is over a year old now but still noone seems to be interested:

http://forums.amd.com/forum/messageview.cfm?catid=383&threadid=158759&enterthread=y

Changed now already graphics to Nvidia, next chipset/ processor on the desktop will probably not be AMD, first time for more than 15 years.

 04/13/2013 08:00 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
williamh120
Peon

Posts: 5
Joined: 04/13/2013

Yes, this has definitely been going on since sometime in the second half of 2011 at least.

I first encountered it on an Asus M4A78-HTPC late last year, and now today with a Gigabyte GA-MA78G-DS3H.

Both of these, as you may have surmised from the model names, are based around the AMD 780G chipset, and both use the SB700.

I see that there are still some AMD 760G boards around, brand new, which use the SB710 chipset. Are these also affected?

 04/13/2013 08:40 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
williamh120
Peon

Posts: 5
Joined: 04/13/2013

Just to confirm some other details:

  • The Asus machine above is running Windows 7 64-bit, and the Gigabyte one is running Vista 64-bit. Home Premium in both cases.
  • With both cases, the 0XFF fix in the INF file has resolved the problem.

 

Has AMD even acknowleged this problem?

 04/22/2013 03:57 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
el_arantis
Peon

Posts: 49
Joined: 05/21/2009

Yes the AHCI the problem exists for me since 12.1

I have 790GX+SB750

 

W7 solution:

x:\AMD\support\xx-x_vista_win7_32-64_sb\Packages\Drivers\SBDrv\SB7xx\AHCI\W764A

Open amd_sata.inf

HKR, "Parameters\Device","AmdSataPMDisabled",%REG_DWORD%, 0

change to

HKR, "Parameters\Device","AmdSataPMDisabled",%REG_DWORD%, 0xFF

(add xFF)

Run setup.exe

 

W8 solution:

x:\AMD\support\xx-x_vista_win7_32-64_sb\Packages\Drivers\SBDrv\SB7xx\AHCI\W864A

Open amd_sata.inf

;HKR, "Parameters\Device","AmdSataPMDisabled",%REG_DWORD%, 0xFF

change to

HKR, "Parameters\Device","AmdSataPMDisabled",%REG_DWORD%, 0xFF

(remove ; char)

Run setup.exe



-------------------------

AMD FX-8350 | SAPPHIRE Dual-X R9 280X | Gigabyte 990FXA-UD3 (rev 4.0) | 16GB DDR3 G.Skill TridentX 1866MHz CL8-9-9-24-33 | 1TB SATA3 Western Digital Caviar Black 64MB cache | Windows 8.1 Pro x64



Edited: 04/23/2013 at 08:01 AM by el_arantis
 04/22/2013 04:18 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
stumped
Wizard

Posts: 7039
Joined: 11/13/2009

Originally posted by: williamh120

Just to confirm some other details:

  • The Asus machine above is running Windows 7 64-bit, and the Gigabyte one is running Vista 64-bit. Home Premium in both cases.
  • With both cases, the 0XFF fix in the INF file has resolved the problem.
 

Has AMD even acknowleged this problem?

AMD will not even know about the problem unless it is reported to AMD technical support/catalyst crew. Report form can be found in "How To and FAQ" section. This is a user-to-user GAMING forum...no help here. Everyone with this issue should report it...if they recieve several reproducible issue reports, then there is a good chance it will be addressed. Remember, that is a report form...not a open dialog.



-------------------------

Intel I7 960 @ 3.87ghz *Intel DX58SO *HIS HD6970 2gb *Corsair TX650M *2x4gb Corsair XMS3 *WD Black 1TB *Windows 7 Home Premium 64bit ***Asus N71Jq laptop *Intel I7 720QM Processor *Mobility Radeon HD5730 1gb *8gb Ram *Windows 7 64bit ** Toshiba P75-A7200 * Intel I7-4700MQ * Windows 8.1 64bit


 * A clear conscience is usually a sign of bad memory *

 04/25/2013 06:29 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
zidder
Peon

Posts: 21
Joined: 11/21/2008

13.4 driver already relased, and just renamed again... an ancient w7 driver from 2012 october ...

;
; Copyright (c) 2008-2012 AMD
;

[Version]
Signature="$Windows NT$"
Provider=%AMD%
Class=HDC
ClassGUID={4d36e96a-e325-11ce-bfc1-08002be10318}
DriverVer=10/12/2012,1.2.001.0337
CatalogFile=amd_sata.cat

 

How could it be still WHQL certified? Who certified it? Microsoft or AMD?How to go through WHQL tests? It is still not compatible driver, and its not our job to fix it.



Edited: 04/25/2013 at 07:14 AM by zidder
 05/02/2013 09:38 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Miroglu
Peon

Posts: 1
Joined: 10/01/2011

Originally posted by: el_arantis Yes the AHCI the problem exists for me since 12.1

I have 790GX+SB750

 

W7 solution:

x:\AMD\support\xx-x_vista_win7_32-64_sb\Packages\Drivers\SBDrv\SB7xx\AHCI\W764A

Open amd_sata.inf

HKR, "Parameters\Device","AmdSataPMDisabled",%REG_DWORD%, 0

change to

HKR, "Parameters\Device","AmdSataPMDisabled",%REG_DWORD%, 0xFF

(add xFF)

Run setup.exe

 

W8 solution:

x:\AMD\support\xx-x_vista_win7_32-64_sb\Packages\Drivers\SBDrv\SB7xx\AHCI\W864A

Open amd_sata.inf

;HKR, "Parameters\Device","AmdSataPMDisabled",%REG_DWORD%, 0xFF

change to

HKR, "Parameters\Device","AmdSataPMDisabled",%REG_DWORD%, 0xFF

(remove ; char)

Run setup.exe

 05/12/2013 03:19 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
SHSPVR
Peon

Posts: 44
Joined: 02/24/2008

Originally posted by: stumped

AMD will not even know about the problem unless it is reported to AMD technical support/catalyst crew. Report form can be found in "How To and FAQ" section. This is a user-to-user GAMING forum...no help here. Everyone with this issue should report it...if they recieve several reproducible issue reports, then there is a good chance it will be addressed. Remember, that is a report form...not a open dialog.

Hate tell you this but that dosen't do any good this problem is old which I think about 2 years old now.

My Gaming system which has a Gigabyte GA-MA790X-UD4P dose that same crash ever time unless I edit the INF as other here have to do as well, So far no problem with my TV/Media Server with a Gigabyte GA-F2A85X-D3H.



-------------------------
Windows 7 Ultimate x64 - Gigabyte GA-MA790X-UD4P - AMD Phenom II X3 720 Black Edition (OC 3.2Gz) - Crucial Ballistix 4GB (PC2-8500 1066Mhz) - Diamond ATI Radeon HD5850 - Corsair CMPSU-650TX - Seagate Barracuda 500GB.
 09/19/2013 10:16 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
BuzzGUN
Peon

Posts: 13
Joined: 07/18/2009

Has anyone tried 13.9 yet?

 09/20/2013 09:33 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
stumped
Wizard

Posts: 7039
Joined: 11/13/2009

13.9  http://support.amd.com/us/gpudownload/windows/Pages/raid_windows.aspx#2



-------------------------

Intel I7 960 @ 3.87ghz *Intel DX58SO *HIS HD6970 2gb *Corsair TX650M *2x4gb Corsair XMS3 *WD Black 1TB *Windows 7 Home Premium 64bit ***Asus N71Jq laptop *Intel I7 720QM Processor *Mobility Radeon HD5730 1gb *8gb Ram *Windows 7 64bit ** Toshiba P75-A7200 * Intel I7-4700MQ * Windows 8.1 64bit


 * A clear conscience is usually a sign of bad memory *

 12/22/2013 10:32 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
BuzzGUN
Peon

Posts: 13
Joined: 07/18/2009

Has anyone tested the 13.12 AHCI driver for the BSOD?

 01/05/2014 08:40 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
The_Countess
Peon

Posts: 3
Joined: 11/18/2013

13.12 has new raid drivers as they fixed my issue (raid-0 + single driver = BSOD). new AHCI drivers therefor are likely as well.

 01/18/2014 04:41 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
BuzzGUN
Peon

Posts: 13
Joined: 07/18/2009

So I set a System Restore point and tried Catalyst 13.12 (AHCI driver 1.2.1.349).  Same old BSOD on boot, resolved by rolling back to the restore point and applying the .inf fix above.

Motherboard: GA-MA790XT-UD4P

Windows 7 64-bit

 05/21/2014 05:18 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Whiznot
Peon

Posts: 3
Joined: 09/21/2012

The 14-4 AHCI driver causes a BSOD with Windows 8.1 x64 on a SB700 series board. The INF file doesn't appear to have the same error found in the earlier INF file so the same edit isn't possible.

 

On a clean install of Win 8.1 x64 on newer AMD boards the OS installs AMD AHCI drivers. The old SB700 series boards get the slower MS drivers.

 

A web search led to the solution for Windows 8.1.Now I have the AMD AHCI driver working with the AMD SB700 chipset.

The solution was provided by linhtinh on the AMD forum and involves correcting an error in the amd_sata.inf file. The line below should not begin with a semi-colon.

;HKR, "Parameters\Device","AmdSataPMDisabled",%REG_DWORD%, 0xFF

Delete the semi-colon, save the modified INF file and install the unsigned driver from Device Manager.

For how to install an unsigned driver, see here http://www.howtogeek.com/167723/how...8.1-so-that-you-can-install-unsigned-drivers/

The modified driver must be installed from Device Manager in the following manner. Right click, update driver software, browse my computer for driver software, let me pick from a list of device drivers on my computer then browse to the correct folder and install. Reboot and done.

 



Edited: 05/22/2014 at 01:06 PM by Whiznot
Statistics
84183 users are registered to the AMD Support and Game forum.
There are currently 3 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.